We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant staff”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant staff”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is cosy & friendly, the staff were amazingly helpful; their English was exceptional & we really didn't need to go into the tourist info centre! the reception crew knew everything about their city. We had 4 nts & the breakfasts were lovely. Very near to the sights, what a delightful place; I would recommend a visit. Prepare to be charmed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyMillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear NickyMillen,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the city. And especially glad for your comments on the staff.

I hope we can welcome you again in near future.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    459
    161
    34
    13
See reviews for
140
419
59
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Checked into a small room here today and to my horror and was put into a cupboard room that would barely meet hostel standard. There is no dressing table, the room is dreary, looking out on to a wall, a twin room with literally no room to swing a cat. The bathroom is teeny, without even a shower door. Checked out neighbouring hotel prices and this is way over priced for what we're getting. Unfortunately prepaid so can't escape.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whelanwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear WhelanWhelan,

Thank you for your review, although it is not a good one.

I am sorry that we did not meet your requirements.
Our hotel is a city hotel and all the rooms face an inner courtyard, which means that is calm and quiet through the night and day.
Yes we do have a neighbour and therefore there is a wall on the other side of the courtyard.

Even though you were not very happy with the rooms I do hope you had a good time in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepstow wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our reason for booking this hotel was it proximity to the railway station, and from the first moment we stepped into the lobby it seemed a good choice.

Despite arriving at 1300, our twin room (109) was already available for us after a long railway journey from Cologne, previous reviewers have mentioned the 6 digit access to the room and indeed it does seem a bit excessive, however it does provide the guest with added security. our room overlooked the central courtyard and offered the guest with tea and coffee making facilities an excellent sized bathroom, with good storage space and a safety deposit box (4 digits required)

The breakfast was self service and of the continental variety, plenty of cereals, pastries and fresh bread was readily available, and a fine array of teas.

My son and I stayed just the one night, though we both agreed that we would not hesitate in staying here, should we ever venture into Copenhagen again.

All the staff I spoke to were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amarokChepstowWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear AmarokChepstowWales,

Thank you for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for one night on business, arriving about 11:15pm. Maybe I was the last guest to arrive but the receptionist greeted me by name before I had chance to introduce myself. Reception was friendly and helpful - the hotel was fully booked but as I arrived the receptionist had found another hotel nearby for a woman who was trying to find a bed, and walked her there himself rather than just giving directions. He also advised me where to find a bar open for a drink. Room was small but nicely decorated, bed comfortable, bathroom clean. A couple of minor issues, one bedside light didn't work and a lampshade in the bathroom was broken, but nothing of real concern. I was at the end of a corridor so no-one walking past so can't comment on noise levels, in any case I was so tired I slept like the dead. Only disappointment was breakfast. If you're a fan of watery orange juice; breads, meats and cheeses for breakfast; or cereal with UHT milk (yuk) you're fine, but it's not my thing. They did have an excellent selection of teas though. I'd stay again but hit the 7-11 over the road for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard have no traffic noise (but no view either!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Chris M,

Thank you for your review.

We tend to go a long way for our guests, including those who could not get a room with us.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast, we try to have a high standard of bread and cheeses etc. But of course the Orange juice should not be watery.

I hope to see you again in Copenhagen,

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We choice this place as it came up as a very discounted deal on Expedia. It was a great choice. The location was great as it was 10 minutes walk from Central Station. The room was just fine albeit a bit small. We went for the medium room so I wonder what the smalls must have been like! Breakfast was good and general cleanliness and service was of no issue. It did seem very warm despite keeping windows open in November and it was easy to pick up noise from other occupants coming and going, so might be an issue for any light sleeper. Otherwise, I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuchamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Kuchamare,

thank you for taking time to write a review,and especially for your recommendations to other guests.

I hope to be able to welcome you again in near future,

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed 6 nights late September/early October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well located about a 10 minute walk to the station, downtown, Tivoli Gardens, and main tourist office. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful with good recommendations for local restaurants and advice on how to get around. We had booked a superior room and it was a good size with a nice bathroom. The wi fi was good and the beds very comfortable, although there is no top sheet as is the custom in this part of the world. There is no fridge in the room but drinks are available in the reception area and from a vending machine. There is construction going on next door which starts early on week days, but it did not worry us as we are early risers. The breakfast is very good with cereals, eggs, cold meats, fruit, beautiful crusty bread and pastries. We enjoyed our stay at the Savoy and would have no hestitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Stimmo 25,

Thank you for your review.

Thank you for your positive comments on our breakfast, the Superior room, the beds, the location etc.

The construction that our neighbour is undergoing, will stop soon, according to their plans. Most of it is now taking place inside, so no noise to disturb our sleeping guests.

I hope to be able to welcome you again some day in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a twin room with a friend for two nights. Small room, but all essentials where there. Altough, the bathroom with shower didnt seem like it was built ta handle the water running towards the drain. Suprisingly it didnt seem to have effect on anything in long term, everything still felt clean and fresch. Nice breakfast with a lot of choises, altough served in a really tired room. Nice staff.

Helpful?
Thank B52-Sa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Sara F,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, and that you noticed the high cleaning standard we work hard to keep.

I am very happy for the last two words in your review - "nice staff". Our staff is the biggest asset to the hotel.

I look forward to welcome you again some day.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,883 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,037 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
989 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,279 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing