We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I literally cant fault one thing, we had a fantastic time and cant wait to go back again, the staff were so friendly and the breakfasts were super good with a huge variety, our bedroom was very modern and well maintained. It was frezzing outside as it was january when we went but our room was never cold or the water. I would recommend anyone to stay here great hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanowens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear RyanOwens,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Savoy Hotel, and a very good one.

I look forward to welcome you back again in Copenhagen.

Best regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    442
    155
    32
    11
See reviews for
136
401
56
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the second time in December 2013. I had written a very positive review on our 2012 stay and it was a very nice touch to be allocated the same cosy room we had had on our first stay. Who says hotels don't read reviews and use them to enhance guest experiences?
Staff were charming and welcoming, breakfasts fresh and tasty with the interesting addition of Gammeldansk to the menu (fortifying on a cold morning). Really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Alan P,

Thank you very much for the second review about Savoy Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay again, and that we were able to better the second time around.

I look forward to see you the next time you are in Copenhagen.

All the best,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February. The hotel is a short walk from the main train station and in a handy location. We had a room on the 5th floor. It was very cosy and clean. The beds were really comfortable. The staff were all lovely and friendly. They were also very helpful and knowledgeable when it came to any questions we had about where to find places to eat/transport and so on. The breakfast buffet was very good, a nice selection food to choose from. I would definitely come back to stay here if ever back in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieLW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear SusieLW1987,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Savoy Hotel.

I like the comment you wrote about the helpful staff, and I look forward to welcome you back during your next stay.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I have recently got back from a babymoon to the Danish capital where we stayed at the Savoy Hotel.
I'd read that the location was excellent (usually what I look for when making a decision) and the location was not awful, given that it was just 10 minutes' walk from the Central Station and on all the maps of central Copenhagen. Personally, however, I found it to be 10 minutes' walk in the wrong direction. As a pregnant, less mobile individual I now know that all of the sights are on the Tivoli side of the station, and so would rather have stayed somewhere around there with hiindsight. From the Savoy Hotel, it took about 30 minutes to walk to the pretty Nyhavn area and an hour to get to the Little Mermaid statue.
On arrival, we were greeted by a friendly lady on the front desk. In fact, all the staff we met during our stay were friendly and polite.
Our room, however, was a bit of a letdown. We stayed on the top floor (floor 6), which has sloped ceilings and no view. These slightly smaller rooms are still quite spacious and I was happy with the size. What concerned us was walking into our room and being met by a foul musty smell throughout. I left the window open when we were out at dinner, which helped a little. But, mainly, we found that keeping the shower room door shut during the stay eliminated the stench.
I was also a little disappointed that I had requested a room with one double bed in it, but was given a twin room instead.
The room has a safe and nice flat screen telly where we could keep up to date with the Winter Olympics. Also, tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast time was always a bit of a struggle to find a table and you may have to share with others. But the breakfast itself was very nice, with cereals, fresh bread, soft and hard cheeses, hams, yoghurts and boiled eggs. Sadly, no Danish bacon!

Overall: ok room, nice breakfast and fair location. Would recommend to others, but would stay more central next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Christina2001,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am sorry to hear that you discovered a bad smell in you room. If you had mentioned it at the reception we would have done what we could to get rid of the smell, and when doing that we would have given you another room to stay in.

We cannot change the hotel address. But we do have two buslines 26 and 6A that will take you from our side of Copenhagen to the other side.

I hope you will come back to Copenhagen, and maybe you will choose Savoy Hotel again.

All the best,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent 4 nights in Hotel Savoy in February with parents and one teenager son. We reserved a family room, which turned out to be actually two rooms, one with two single beds and, accessible through the first room, a second room with a king size bed. Both had TV:s, an there was a separate toilet and a separate shower room. This was very suitable for us.
It was very peaceful. There is a construction site on the courtyard but they started only after 9 in the morning. (Instead, a nearby church bell started tolling at 8.) The heating in the room was needed - it necessarily is not put on a high temperature by default, so you should check it. Some reviewers mention about cold shower rooms and moisture in the room. There is no heating in the shower room, but we just left the door open for a while and that fixed it in addition to spending ten seconds in a warm shower. Also, you can open the room windows for a couple of minutes to get rid of the moisture - no problem. The beds were ok. There is a water cooker, tea and coffee in the room. For a longer stay, some kind of cupboard to put things would have been nice.
The breakfast was tasty, containing fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juices, cereals, milk, yoghurt, cheeses, cold meats, eggs, tomatoes and marmelades, bread, rolls and danish pastries. Oh, and a small glas of Gammel Dansk, if you want to... Some might miss the cooked items.
In the lobby there are a couple of Samsung tablets for use, and the wifi works everywhere in the hotel. From the lobby you can also pick a fruit, and there is a small lobby bar.

Room Tip: Family rooms, if you are more than 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerjaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at the savoy. We were very impressed. The staff were friendly. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was good with a great selection of cold meats etc. perfect location just a short stroll from the city and the train station.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcouple_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel is very close to the central station which is excellent after a long day travelling!
I booked an economy twin room and it was small but nothing that I didn't expect! It was clean, had coffee and tea making facilities, free wifi and a decent hair dryer!
The breakfast was lovely - cold meats, cheese, delicious fresh bread, pastries, cereal, boiled eggs, fruit and yogurts.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and say go for an economy room, small but cosy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaiTiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hebron
#17 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
Comfort Hotel Vesterbro
#28 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing