We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Copenhagen”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When you are booking a European hotel from the USA, it is a crapshoot! This place is ideal. It is in a trendy section of town and is close to public transportation, great restaurants, museums and Tivoli.
The staff, especially Sarah, were extraordinarily friendly and helpful.
The rooms are small, like a cruise ship cabin, but we didn't care, we were staying there after a transatlantic cruise!
A magnificent coffee/ expresso machine in the lobby and the downstairs breakfast room were fabulous.
The breakfast was included in the price (approx. $145 USD).
Baked goods, salami and cold cuts, bread, cheese, herring, juice, fresh fruit...what more can you ask for?
When I return to Copenhagen, I will stay at the Savoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alphredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Savoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really liked the hotel, 5 min walk from station - friendly helpful staff, attractive decor around hotel and in rooms - which were very clean and tidy. Fabulous choice of food at breakfast (buffet). Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lift to all floors (accept breakfast room).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love this hotel and have stayed there both times I traveled to Copenhagen. Very good location, within walking distance to loads of cool sights. Very comfortable, clean, low-key, good price. Great breakfast buffet, which is important because Copenhagen is very expensive. Rooms aren't that big - typical European:) Still, it's a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ABrownGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Savoy Hotel is delightful. We ended up being upgraded to a different room as per my request for a high level floor due to my anxiety issues. The bathrooms were lovely, and despite some light construction next door, I never felt bothered at all. The beds are wonderful and very comfortable, and they have a good selection of tv channels if you're like me and need to fall asleep to some light noise. Loved the key lock codes on the door - never worried about losing my key when running about! The area is nice, very safe, didn't feel at any point in time like I was in danger or anything like that. Savoy is a vintage boutique style hotel, still with it's original elevator on display, and for anyone who loves good architecture, it's a little gem.

It's about a few minutes walk to the Central Station (with direct runs to Kastrup airport) and right next to that is Tivoli gardens. Across from the Central Station is probably one of the best Tourist centers EVER, and they'll mark your map perfectly. When walking at a good pace, it's less than an hour's walk from the Little Mermaid, and even closer to the three big palaces and all the good stuff in Central Copenhagen. Not to mention, if you're bringing kids, the Planetarium is right about the corner. Down the streets are a few 24 hour shops - and a supermarket for anything you might have forgotten to pack. Basically, it's not in the center of everything, but you're close enough to see it all and back enough to not have to worry about crowds. You're also close to Lele, a great place to dine if you don't want to walk very far after a long day on your feet already.

Staff was delightfully friendly, knew their area very well. Rooms were clean, well kept. The provided breakfast is good, more Danish than continental, but let's be honest - you didn't come to Denmark to eat like an American, did you? Loved everything about Savoy!

Room Tip: It will be worth it to book a larger room, the staff will gladly assist you with that if you call in...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillaryJohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very nice hotel, with an excellent service and very well located, at a walking distance from the major attractions in Copenhagen. Excellent breakfast. The rooms, although well equipped and perfectly ok for a short stay, could be a little bit larger.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luisrnunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived to find the hotel room as described, minimalist. That was no surprise for the website stated that the Standard Double Room would be 13 sq.metres. What was disappointing was that there was no storage space at all - not a shelf, let alone a drawer - other than a coat hanger rail about 15 cm long. We are on a six week trip to Europe and have a medium sized suitcase each but do expect to be able to take out some clothing for our stay without having to fossick around everytime we needed an item. The staff were very pleasant and efficient but we could not upgrade as the hotel was full for Eurovision. We left the next morning, two days early.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monika40Fremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here 2 night during easterholiday. Savoy is easy to find, just a 5 minute walk from the train station Their lobby is nice and cozy and the staff was attentive and did their job very well.The breakfast is not warm, but fresh and healthy. I would love it if their coffee was not from a machine with powder, as I enjoy a quality cup in the morning. But there are plenty of places nearby where you can buy, if you are not into powder-coffee.The rooms was not very big but worked just fine for me and my boyfriend, we had everything we needed and the bed was soft and comfortable. Will stay here again because of location, staff and the healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LEa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,476 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Best Western Hotel Hebron
Best Western Hotel Hebron
#16 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,079 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,054 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Vesterbrogade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City) , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £104 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing