We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable budget option close to station”
Review of Saga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saga Hotel
Ranked #72 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Reasonable budget option close to station”
Reviewed 13 May 2009

The hotel itself was ok, the room was reasonable, clean, with TV, the shared shower-room wasn't too much hassle although it was quite far along the corridor. The sign only led to one bathroom, but later found another 2 bathrooms down another corridor. There didn't seem to be a lift/elevator. The staff were excellent, very helpful and spoke perfect English and the continental buffet breakfast was good. There was just one pc for internet access. The area was handy for the station and the Tivoli end of the city, however directly opposite was a corner shop which had drunks/vagrants outside at most times, although they didn't cause any problems except occasional noise. Was also offered drugs on the street just outside so some people may find this area a bit intimidating - it's on the edge of the red light district and there are some sleazy looking 'gentlemen's nightclubs' down the street and sex-shops round the corner.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    206
    152
    45
    35
See reviews for
77
172
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

2 friends and I (all age 21, female) stayed at Hotel Saga last weekend and loved it! When we arrived the woman on the front desk (didn't catch her name but she had blone hair) was very helpful, spoke perfect English and even gave us tips on where to head for bars and restaurants.

We had a triple room and shared bathroom on the floor. On our floor there were actually 2 toilets and 3 showers so we never had to wait to get in and there was always hot water. The room itself was spacious even though it contained 3 beds, a wardrobe, sink, desk, TV and all of our stuff! It was cleaned everyday and there were always clean towels.

The breakfast was a pleasant surprise as we didn't realise this was included in the price. There was a selection of juice, tea, coffee, breads, cheese, meat, cereal and pastries every morning and there was always plenty even when we didn't go particularly early.

The location is amazing literally less than a minute to the main train station and less than a five minute walk to Tivoli and many bars and restaurants. Only takes 10 minutes on the train to the airport. Other than that I would recommend walking everywhere if you can, as the metro stops are very sparse and nothing was far at all. We took one of the bus boats to Christiania (a must see). Would recommend buying the CPH card which was €60 for 3 days as this gives you free transport on buses, boats and trains and free entry and discounts on a lot of places. Even if like us you don't use the public transport much it's still worth it (unless you speak fluent Danish or have lots of patience) as it's much easier than trying to work out the zone, clip and time limit systems they have and you don't need to carry cash.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyG1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Århus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

The hotel is situated in the centre of Copenhagen, so it's perfect to move out during the day!
It's clean,cheap and with a good breakfast.
I had the bathroom shared with all the floor, (I don't know if exist a private bath in the room), anyway the bath was clean.

The only inconvenient is that the hotel is located in Istegade, the red light district of Copenhagen, so on the night there were many sex workers near the hotel and many drug men..but I didn't have problems and everything was ok.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank snatchsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. The location is wonderful, as you can walk to the central train station to catch a train directly to the airport. I would stay in this area again, but not at this hotel. The room was dingy and not air conditioned. Next time in Copenhagen, I will know better... Copenhagen can get hot in the summer and the city is super expensive. 150 USD does not buy a nice hotel room like it does in so many other cities... Live and learn

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Parithon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

booked for brothers stag weekend, this hotel is basic but clean stayed for two nights and had clean towels each day, we had 10 rooms between us, all had to share bathroom wc etc, but this was not a problem and we always had hot water whe taking a shower, breakfast was ok, good point with this hotel is that it is in a central location 2 minutes walk from central station plenty of good bars all close by hard rock cafe being one of those, carlsberg factory close by too even get two free beers

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — no lifts
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank tastyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2008

The people at the front desk are very nice and the room (we had a 2 bed-shared bathroom) was spacious and clean. The continental breakfast was very good too!

My danish friend told me that the neighbourhood is a little dingy as it is located near Central Station, but we didn't have any problems at all.

The communal bathrooms weren't that clean and the shower was not well-designed. The shower room didn't have any benches (only hooks) and it didn't have a curtain, wall or SOMETHING to keep your things dry from the shower head.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank my_perspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

The location, close to the central train station, is excellent. But because it was a busy time of year and our room was on the first floor, street side, and next to the staircase, it was noisy. We asked about the noise the next morning, and the friendly staff volunteered to move us to a quieter room that night, despite the hotel being full.

The front desk is open 24 hours. Breakfast is good. The lounge is comfortable, and the free Internet makes this hotel a great choice for the budget-conscious traveller.

  • Liked — staff, bar/lounge area
  • Disliked — first room was noisy but the rest of the stay was nice and quiet
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sailor333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#53 of 116 in Copenhagen
977 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#73 of 116 in Copenhagen
990 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
#97 of 116 in Copenhagen
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#83 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,064 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Ansgar
Hotel Ansgar
#49 of 116 in Copenhagen
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel

Property: Saga Hotel
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 18, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Saga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing