We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's everything you need”
Review of Saga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saga Hotel
Ranked #71 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There's everything you need”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The first thing which comes to my mind about Saga Hotel is the location. It's not even 50 meters away from the train station and therefore, very close to Tivoli and the town centre.
In this hotel, there is everything you need. I went with my brother and the stay went smoothly.
The breakfast was included in our bill and the selection was rather basic. We had the cereal and the usual bread with jam. Also, we had a taste of the lovely Danish pastries they had to offer.
They have free internet access in every room and if you don't have a computer, there is one designated near the reception. This internet was free for anyone to use.
One mini downfall was the fact that the bedroom didn't have an en-suite and the toilet and shower rooms were one each per floor. However in the room, there is a water basin so people could help themselves to a glass of water.
All in all, a very good hotel, very basic and I personally enjoyed my experience there.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jspworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    204
    149
    45
    34
See reviews for
74
170
57
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Nice hotel, great breakfast buffet and you can see it from the Kobehavn Central Station. I stayed with 2 friends ina triple room and if was great - cleaned every day, sink in the room. Was a bit small, but not small at all for the price.

I never had to wait for the shared bathrooms, and on two of the nights we were there the hotel was full, so I think that's pretty good.

It is near some strip clubs (you may count that as a plus!) so do beware if you're making a family booking. This never bothered us one bit though - we had no problems with the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

good price. very good location, less than 5 min walk from to the central train station. nice and filling breakfast buffet (no fresh fruit/ vegetables). friendly and extremely helpful/ servideminded staff. smelly rooms, wall to wall carpets, our room (on the bottom floor) was very warm, when we tried to open the window to get some fresh air the room was filled with cigarette smoke -nasty. A lot of noise from people in the street at night time...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

pros: good breakfast, clean room, central location (near train station, tivoli), nice staff
cons: no elevator (we lived on the 4th floor!), small rooms, attracts young/noisy crowds (had trouble sleeping the first night as our next door neighbors downed beers & had loud conversations with their doors open!!!)
overall: it's a yes - but take a look at Ansgar hotel (***) on the same street. bit more pricey but looks a bit more decent...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Struggled to find a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location as we were arriving by train and wanted to be able to walk around the main sights. Ended up paying £80 for a double in the Saga with shared toilet/shower facilities. Room was drab and a bit noisey. Obviously sharing facilities was a major pain. But the staff were nice and the breakfast lasted us all day.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MardyLardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Stayed at the Saga Hotel for 5 nights. Where quite satisfied with our choice: location (near the main station, near the city center), room (big bathroom en suite, comfy bed, quite big room), breakfast (buffet with a great variety of food, typical danish I would say). The only negative aspect: Had a room near the staircase, every one passed our room. The door had no sound-proof quality at all. We hadn't had any negative experience with the surrounding area of the hotel.
I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lycheeinsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Family room ENSUITE for 5 are not easy to find and Saga hotel has this sort of accomodation. Not brand new but clean. No toiletries in the bathroom, only small Lux soap bars. Towels provided for every family member. Flat screen tv with pay TV with cartoons movie for kids. Good rate, too. Good Breakfast (included). Free internet in the lobby with a shared pc.
Close to Tivoli.
A good choice for a family.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewsItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
Zleep Hotel Copenhagen City
#97 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Amager
Hotel CopenHagen
Hotel CopenHagen
#94 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saga Hotel

Property: Saga Hotel
Address: Colbjoernsensgade 18, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Saga Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Saga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saga Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing