We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget not boutique- but other prices are a Scandi-Crime.”
Review of Hotel Sct. Thomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Copenhagen on the cheap? Good luck with that one-even hostels are pricey. Chains that don't look all that expensive quite frankly are. And the price of paying extra for breakfast is yet another drain on your finances, Danish-style.
Hotel Sct. Thomas is popular with a budget-conscious international clientele. A lot of Danes seem to like it too, and no wonder. It must seem like an absolute steal to them.
Hotel Sct. Thomas is located between Copenhagen's Central Station and Frederiksberg Gardens within the two great neighbourhoods of Vesterbro and Frederiksberg itself.
The station is a straight 20 minute walk and you could make it up the road to the park in 10.
Breakfast is included in the price and it strikes me as one of the key elements to praise.
This features an excellent selection of gourmet breads from the bakery down the road, freshly cut melon, pineapple, yoghurt, cereals, cheese, cold meats etc. Despite there being no cooked breakfast apart from boiled eggs, I thought this was pretty unbeatable.
I also want to praise hotel staff who were helpful when BMI Regional changed our flight dates a fortnight before our trip. They were thankfully able to accommodate us and took pains to issue us with new paperwork online. The reception is friendly and welcoming. There is free internet access also.
However, in the interests of fairness I should stress that the the Hotel Sct. Thomas might not be absolutely ideal for all.
This is a three star hotel but I though there were aspects of the experience that needed a bit more work to live up to that especially if you were visiting for say, that special occasion.
Despite its impressive looks -and the giant wooden lights created in the design studio next door, this is more budget that boutique.
The room wasn't any bigger than some private facilities in hostels I've booked and although functional, the bathroom in the twin room was a squeeze for one.
I was offered a reduced upgrade online several days before my stay but opted not to take it as I feel a trip to Scandinavia has to stick to a tighter budget than holidays to cheaper destinations.
However, if you prize a little more space, you may be well advised to avail of this at the reduced rate they're offering.
I also did not find the maid service as thorough as it should have been either.
There's someone on that clean team that isn't very talented at making beds.
Another complaint I have refers to a lack of safety deposit boxes in rooms which again, seems like an oversight for a hotel that claims to be three star.
The truth is that guests need plenty of cash with them in a place like this and I feel that they should be able to lock this in a safe place within their room. I cannot remember the last time I stayed in a hotel of this grading which did not have a safety deposit box.
However I would recommend this option as this was an 'extra' holiday where we spent a lot of time outwith the premises. We did not particularly want to stay in a hostel and I feel that by chosing the Hotel Sct Thomas, we were able to stay on budget while enjoying a superb location into the bargain.

Room Tip: High up at the back worked for us.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrantGroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sct. Thomas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

With the breakfast included this hotel was an good price. The hotel was about ten minutes walk from the train station and very easy to find. The room was very clean but quite small, had everything we needed( bathroom,tv,hairdryer,bed ) and as it was just the two of us and we were only staying for three nights that was enough for us. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok could have done with some more options though. Overall the hotel was good and for somewhere to stay in Copenhagen at a good price I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was a resident nearby for several years and spent the last two nights before moving out of Denmark.
In general postive feedback: good location and service, Clean room, though bathroom was a bit tight.
My room was on the back and therefore quiet, I wonder if it the same for rooms on the front as the avenue is quite busy.
Breakfast very poor, there was not even yoghurt or a bit more choice of warm food except boiled eggs woild be very welcome.
Lift and a lot of doors and steps make it inconvenient to handle a lot of luggage as I had, especyally on my way out.
All in all quite satisfactory as price for a single room at 695 DKK is good for Copenhagen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Sct Thoma... H, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Sct. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guido,

We appreciate you took the time to provide us with constructive feed back.
If you ever stop by Copenhagen again, you are always welcome at Hotel Sct Thomas.

Warm regards
The Team at Hotel Sct Thomas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It is a nice familiar hotel with a good localization.
The room were quit small for the whole family - but we only stayed in the room to sleep.
The beds were good and we slept well.
We heard some noises from the cooridors, but it was ok.
The breakfast was good.
We got a good parking lot just outside the hotel - 150DKr.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmocken123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I booked this hotel via Laterooms and needed a budget hotel in walking distance to the city centre. We found it just right for our needs. Copenhagen is a very expensive city- so in the light of that fact- this was a good deal. Bus 26 takes you into the city or a 15 mins walk. Hotel staff were friendly, Room was clean and small but fine for us ( 2 boys 10 and 13) Bathroom had a slight bad 'drains' smell. Breakfast was simple but fine. Beds very comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizbyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Located in a convenient area for both nightlife and the tourist parts of Copenhagen, rooms comfortable but very small. Wifi in the rooms is an extra cost which is annoying, though there are computers that are free to use in reception. We also had some difficulty with our check in, which was a shame as we just wanted to get to our room as soon as possible, rather than wait around for ages. Breakfast is decent, and was included in our rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good value for money. Room was reasonable size, bathroom small but contained everything needed! Reasonable location, approx 20 mins walk to metro, or to centre. Far enough out to be quiet. Free coffee and wi fi at reception area. If driving, advise reserving car park space. Bikes or walking is best idea. Some shops and eateries nearby. Staff friendly and very helpful. Would stay again happily.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teamjake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Sct Thoma... H, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Sct. Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.
We always appreciate hearing how our guests experienced their stay,

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Sct Thomas.

Kind regards
Mette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
922 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,108 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#38 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,620 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#58 of 118 in Copenhagen
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sct. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sct. Thomas

Address: Frederiksberg Alle 7, Copenhagen 1621, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £76 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sct. Thomas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy Hotel Sct. Thomas is in the perfect location to see the best of Copenhagen, whether it is your first visit or your hundredth. Close to the city center, the hotel is located in the heart of the Theatre District, right on Frederiksberg Alle. This is one of the oldest and most idyllic parts of the city. From the hotel, it is quick and easy to get to the famous Tivoli Gardens, as well as many great Danish restaurants, shops and other attractions. The central station is also nearby, so you can visit the rest of the city and points beyond. In the hotel you can enjoy both Danish and international channels on the TV or use the wireless Internet access. There's a small desk on which to do work, and the beds are comfy and new. Business travelers can book meeting rooms as well. When booking through the hotels website wireless internet is complimentary. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. We look forward to welcome you to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sct. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing