We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, great location and nice breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Sct. Thomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Ranked #42 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great location and nice breakfast!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very accesible location close to the train station where you can get anywhere in the country, the attention was nice and the breakfast was great before a trip to the attractions, I also rented a bicycle in the reception and was really easy to move in the city. The one bed rooms are very small, its an old fashioned danish house so I was happy just to have elevator and get a clean room with breakfast at that price. The hotel is not in the center of the city but very close to everything by bicycle, takes more time walking if you are short of time.

Room Tip: Check for room size before you get there, if you are a big person you'll have problems in an all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    216
    109
    23
    5
See reviews for
79
149
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If it wasn't for the long hair on the shower wall, I would have rated Hotel Sct. Thomas "excellent".

The reception staff was incredibly helpful and attentive. The room was small, but very functional.

I was surprised how quiet the hotel was, in the middle of Copenhagen: no traffic outside, no drunk people!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlausAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Best choice if you're looking for a nice, pricey hotel in a great area of Copenhagen. Lots of busy restaurants with mostly locals just around the corner for a great start of a night out! In the morning, you'll find just as many coffee bars and cafés in the same street. Very nice!
Rooms are clean and the beds are nice and comfy, but if you're looking for spacey bathrooms - book elsewhere :) Breakfast is ok. Fantastic bread!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosestitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

About a 10-15 minute walk from the heart of Copenhagen (and the train station/nearest metro). The staff of reception are helpful and friendly.

The rooms have everything you need, except tea/coffee making facilities (there is a machine in reception), the en-suite we had was a wet room, so did lead to a rather wet bathroom floor as it's quite compact.

Standard continental breakfast is perfectly fine and included in the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice reception, good help, when its open.
Hotel works like "just a place to sleep", .... own key to front door (when reception is closed), - lock your door, a go to sleep....quick shower nxt morning, suit up, and leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Balling_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very friendly staff in reception, nice and clean, good location. We were upgraded to the suite at no extra cost. Breakfast a bit simple, but very good quality. We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Copenhagen on the cheap? Good luck with that one-even hostels are pricey. Chains that don't look all that expensive quite frankly are. And the price of paying extra for breakfast is yet another drain on your finances, Danish-style.
Hotel Sct. Thomas is popular with a budget-conscious international clientele. A lot of Danes seem to like it too, and no wonder. It must seem like an absolute steal to them.
Hotel Sct. Thomas is located between Copenhagen's Central Station and Frederiksberg Gardens within the two great neighbourhoods of Vesterbro and Frederiksberg itself.
The station is a straight 20 minute walk and you could make it up the road to the park in 10.
Breakfast is included in the price and it strikes me as one of the key elements to praise.
This features an excellent selection of gourmet breads from the bakery down the road, freshly cut melon, pineapple, yoghurt, cereals, cheese, cold meats etc. Despite there being no cooked breakfast apart from boiled eggs, I thought this was pretty unbeatable.
I also want to praise hotel staff who were helpful when BMI Regional changed our flight dates a fortnight before our trip. They were thankfully able to accommodate us and took pains to issue us with new paperwork online. The reception is friendly and welcoming. There is free internet access also.
However, in the interests of fairness I should stress that the the Hotel Sct. Thomas might not be absolutely ideal for all.
This is a three star hotel but I though there were aspects of the experience that needed a bit more work to live up to that especially if you were visiting for say, that special occasion.
Despite its impressive looks -and the giant wooden lights created in the design studio next door, this is more budget that boutique.
The room wasn't any bigger than some private facilities in hostels I've booked and although functional, the bathroom in the twin room was a squeeze for one.
I was offered a reduced upgrade online several days before my stay but opted not to take it as I feel a trip to Scandinavia has to stick to a tighter budget than holidays to cheaper destinations.
However, if you prize a little more space, you may be well advised to avail of this at the reduced rate they're offering.
I also did not find the maid service as thorough as it should have been either.
There's someone on that clean team that isn't very talented at making beds.
Another complaint I have refers to a lack of safety deposit boxes in rooms which again, seems like an oversight for a hotel that claims to be three star.
The truth is that guests need plenty of cash with them in a place like this and I feel that they should be able to lock this in a safe place within their room. I cannot remember the last time I stayed in a hotel of this grading which did not have a safety deposit box.
However I would recommend this option as this was an 'extra' holiday where we spent a lot of time outwith the premises. We did not particularly want to stay in a hostel and I feel that by chosing the Hotel Sct Thomas, we were able to stay on budget while enjoying a superb location into the bargain.

Room Tip: High up at the back worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrantGroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
954 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#55 of 116 in Copenhagen
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
890 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,078 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sct. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sct. Thomas

Property: Hotel Sct. Thomas
Address: Frederiksberg Alle 7, Copenhagen 1621, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Frederiksberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sct. Thomas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy Hotel Sct. Thomas is in the perfect location to see the best of Copenhagen, whether it is your first visit or your hundredth. Close to the city center, the hotel is located in the heart of the Theatre District, right on Frederiksberg Alle. This is one of the oldest and most idyllic parts of the city. From the hotel, it is quick and easy to get to the famous Tivoli Gardens, as well as many great Danish restaurants, shops and other attractions. The central station is also nearby, so you can visit the rest of the city and points beyond. In the hotel you can enjoy both Danish and international channels on the TV or use the wireless Internet access. There's a small desk on which to do work, and the beds are comfy and new. Business travelers can book meeting rooms as well. When booking through the hotels website wireless internet is complimentary. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. We look forward to welcome you to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sct. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing