We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not staying there again!”
Review of Hotel Ansgar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ansgar
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel was the worst I ever stayed at!
The room was the size of a shoebox, the bathroom smelly, beds uncomfortable, the room got unbearably hot when the radiator was on, or very cold when we opened the window. It got very stuffy at night with 2 people sleeping in a shoebox. The room service kept cleaning the room and changing towels even though we did not want them to do it, but there was no "don't disturb" sign to hang on the knob.
There was no kettle, or fridge in the room. Even the elevator was freezing cold.
Overly expensive for the quality of service offered.
Pluses: location near the railway station, quite good breakfast and free wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only and chose it because it was close to the center and had wifi. The room smelled sewage and we had to keep the window open to breath in there. There were no toiletries, towel was thin and over washed. The double bed was in reality two single narrow beds that looked like sofas. The mattress was terribly uncomfortable.
The carpet of the hotel was stained and smelled vomit.
There are many choices around the station.
Pros: location, wifi, breakfast
Cos: bad smell, uncomfortable bed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here in November 2013 in a single room. It was an excellent, well located little place, although a little hard to find because of the metro construction close by if you exit out the front of central station. Once I realised you can walk to the opposite end of the central station platform, up the stairs, turn right and walk 100 metres, it was "easy as". The hotel was clean, quiet and the breakfasts were excellent. WiFi never missed a beat. I was told it was not in a nice part of town, but I think that is changing. I never had any problems. Hotel staff were excellent and found me a room early after a long haul flight. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We weren't expecting luxury having read the recent reviews. The room was small but adequate, bathroom small but a decent shower. The one minor complaint would be the wafting of cigarette smoke into our open window from the courtyard two floors below our room where smokers would gather. I agree with other comments regarding breakfast, best to be there early to avoid the rush because of limited room. Breakfast was good if you like continental and did include a choice of soft or hard boiled eggs.The location of the hotel is ideal for the centre of town and train station. Most Danes appear to speak English too and, although my partner is Danish, the conversations in reception were in English!
Overall it's an average, basic hotel in a useful location.

Room Tip: try to go higher if you are above the courtyard, the smoke may not reach you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ememcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We had a family room facing the backyard. The room was nice and quiet. Breakfast (Scandinavian type) was included in the price. Make sure you're early, cause the restaurant got quite busy. The main bed was comfortable but the sofa bed was kind of hard.

1  Thank Baesk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Located just behind Central Station. My room was small, but clean with a good shower. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was limited, but included in the price. There is a courtyard which would be lovely in warmer weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is clean and has a dorm-like feel to it (indeed, when we checked in, a big class of high school students were checking out). We found our room to be quite big, with 2 twin beds, 1 sofa bed plus another foldable bed.

On our first day, we were a little disappointed with the location. While close to Copenhagen Central, it's on the other side of the station, instead of the side where the sights are. To get to the city centre, it's about a 15-minute walk. However, we soon discovered that this side of the city had an emerging neighbourhood (some gentrification going on?) with some nice restaurants and cafes. Later, it didn't seem so bad, as there was a nice quiet, creative feel to the area. For the adventurous, there is a strip club close by, just a 5 minute walk away, on the next street!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sychim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Star Hotel
Copenhagen Star Hotel
#68 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,051 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
Copenhagen Mercur Hotel
#57 of 118 in Copenhagen
949 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#70 of 118 in Copenhagen
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
Hotel Copenhagen Crown
#59 of 118 in Copenhagen
732 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#90 of 118 in Copenhagen
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ansgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ansgar

Address: Colbjoernsensgade 29, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £92 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ansgar 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ansgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansgar Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing