We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Sleep in Heaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep in Heaven
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great hostel. The location is a bit out of the city centre about min walk but is in a great area with a lot going on. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were good with secure lockers big enough for all your belongings. The common room is comfortable and a good place to meet other travellers. The bar has a great happy hour so we sat outside every evening and talked to the other guests. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The only downside was not many toilets/showers for the amount of people staying in the hostel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    260
    78
    32
    21
See reviews for
7
72
186
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms are very small, and it's dificult to sleep
the people that managed the hostel is not kind
The position is quite and calm but is far from the centre
Copenhagen is a nice city ..so go to visit it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueGuitar413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in the private room (called Mars) next to the reception area. Room was very minimal, typical of hostels. It was noisy too - again typical of hostels, so if you want a good night sleep take your ear plugs because people sit outside of the window chatting and drinking. Staff were friendly. Area around the hostel is a hipster's dream - lots of grungy places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hostel, it's in an up and coming neighbourhood (Norrebro) with lots of bars, cafes and restaurants within walking distance. You can also walk to the hostel from central station as long as you don't have heavy luggage (about 20 mins) and into town in about 30 minutes.

Considering the prices in central Copenhagen this hostel is good value, however my one gripe is that it is very echoey and consequently very noisy. We stayed in the annex area a few doors down from the main hostel, and every time someone opens or closes a door, goes up the stairs, talks etc, you can hear it as all the floors are wooden, the walls are cement, and there is no sound-proofing.

The first night there seemed to be people coming and going all night, Friday night there was a v loud party close by, and Saturday we slept well.

The floor to our room, despite being wooden, seemed to be a bit gritty, although I would not say the hostel was unclean. The showers and toilets were fine (although there is no natural light in the showers so in daylight it could have been a different story)!

Security wise, there are large lockers in each room which open and close with your keycard, which was a bonus, and the wifi also worked all the time in the rooms, and well enough to watch streaming online.

Overall, this hostel was good, but I did not really detect much atmosphere, and if I had cause to return to Copenhagen, I would probably try somewhere else due to the issues with disturbed sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hostel is just so welcome with a really good vibe. Staff is so nice and Copenhagen is really an amazing city.
I travelled by myself and I really felt so comfortable at the hostel since the first moment. They provide you everything you need to have a great experience at the city.

Room Tip: 6 people bed rooms are better than the 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Got there easily from the train station. Good people, nice facilities, good beer on tap haha. Social but relaxing atmosphere. Also located in the best neighborhood in Copenhagen. Bikes for rent to get everywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I went to this hostel after a expedition in Greenland. I was really tired, but the hostel was good. I rested a lot :D inside there is a very good bar. the rooms are not so big, but good. Toilets are clean and big. The common spaces are huge! Not so close but not so far from the citycentre (I walked "dressing" my big big rucksack with all my expedition stuffs inside from the citycentre to to hostel... and I was really tired)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diegoaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,078 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
#2 of 40 in Copenhagen
1,302 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Annex Copenhagen
Annex Copenhagen
#6 of 40 in Copenhagen
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep in Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep in Heaven

Property: Sleep in Heaven
Address: Struenseegade 7, Copenhagen 2200, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Noerrebro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Facilities:Free Wi-FiFree bedlinenFree lockersFree luggage storageFree computers in common room24 hour receptionCheap breakfastSunny gardenHappy hour everydayFree walking toursBike rental from hostelSleep in Heaven is a modern youth hostel located in lively Nørrebro area- the part of the city where you can feel the real Copenhagen atmosphere- as it is full of great places, shops and cafés where young locals hang out. Nørrebro is also known for city’s best bars and clubs in town. Doesn‘t matter what your taste is, you will for sure find something for yourself- from dark indie clubs to the most hip electro, from old smoky bars to artsy cafés, from top rated restaurants to cheap take away places and Turkish delis - Nørrebro has it all. The hostel has a perfect location for those wanting to check out the tourist sites during day and hang out in the best part of the town at night. It’s an easy walk to the city centre and the nearby busses and metro makes it easy to get around the city. Hostel also offers bike rental, as we believe that bikes are the best solution how to transport yourself around the city and see all interesting stuff.The hostel has newly renovated rooms, key card access and free lockers. Bed linen and free Wi-Fi is included. The hostel’s spacious common area offers plenty of chances to meet other travelers. You can play board games while sitting on comfy couches, or socialize with others while playing table soccer or pool. The bar at the reception has daily happy hour from 19 till 20, where you can get 2 beers for the price of one! There is always great music, cheap snacks and drinks and free guest computers in common room. During the warm months, our cozy beer garden in the backyard is the right place to chill out on the sun.The hostel’s friendly staff will gladly give you tips how you can make the most of your trip, by visiting not only main attractions but also hidden gems of Copenhagen.There’s a reason why Copenhageners prefer the diverse and lively Nørrebro to the touristy city centre. Come stay with us and find out why.Accommodation InformationAge restriction in dorms: 16 - 35.Age restriction in private rooms: 16 - 45.Bookings for more than 9 people are not accepted and will be cancelled (without a refund of the deposit and the booking fee).Maximum stay is 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Sleep in Heaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep-In Heaven Hotel Copenhagen
Sleep In Heaven Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing