We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still as good as ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somandshjemmet Bethel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #3 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Bude
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is my second review of this hotel! The last time I wrote, I said it was 'Damned good value for money' and this still stands. Copenhagen is my favourite city so it made sense for me to return to this hotel again, however, I was a little apprehensive this time, when I discovered there had been a recent change in management. Time will tell whether this will make any significant difference, but I for one hope that things will continue here as before, because I intend coming back!

This time we paid a bit extra to have a room facing the canal, and if a room with a view is important to you, then I would advise that you consider this when booking.

As before, all rooms were clean, the staff were both helpful and cheerful, (thank you Jensia) but then one comes to expect this from Copenhagen, which I am told has been singled out at the second most friendliest place in the world!

Oh, and the breakfasts were good too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal, it's a bit more expensive, but worth it for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank specialK1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    309
    75
    12
    4
See reviews for
158
353
64
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Copenhagen and the Bethel is definitely the best. It is well located in popular Nyhavn with many restaurants opposite. It is close to the Metro. It is unpretentious - the rooms are quite large and functional, the breakfast is good and WiFi is free. Staff are very helpful. Getting to and from the railway station can be a hassle as a result of construction and heavy traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a large double overlooking Nyhavn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuching1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My 16-year-old son and I are still here and am already compelled to say great things about the Bethel. First, about the accommodations. I've had dorm rooms that are more lavishly decked out. Our room was basically a small rectangle with enough room for two twin beds, a small desk, and a bench with a drawer. The closet consisted of a hanger on the wall. The bathroom was about 16' x 16' with the shower simply a head on the wall surrounded by a curtain.

Sounds awful, right? Well sure, if you were expecting the Ritz, or a romantic spa. But if you were expecting a clean hotel in a great location, a simple, comfortable place to sleep and clean up, and not pay an arm and a leg for it, the Hotel Bethel is the place for you.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They speak better English than many people I know in the States. We were lacking for nothing the day and night we were there.

The breakfast, what us American's would call continental, was great. The buns were freshly baked and still warm. I will probably eat ten of them. Everything else I've tried is great, too.

The free wireless was faultless, I always had a great connection anywhere in the hotel, even here in the dining room where I'm on my fourth warm burn.

Great job, Bethel!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor on the side of the building. It was a little noisy but we got home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunburnt_curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Arrived later in the evening and found our room to be very nice and clean with a great view on the Nyhavn. The staff was helpful and courteous, helping us get the most out of our too short stopover in Copenhagen. The breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection and the rate was quite agreeable for the location. Certainly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Nyhavn. It's worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBEadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were 2 couples who stayed at Bethel 3 night in May 12. We had got recommendations from friends. The location is very good. All the staff were very helpful and kind, and the breakfast was of very good quality and tasteful. The building is old and needs an update. We missed a lounge or a salon to relax in. The breakfast room was not very nice for relaxing. The rooms were very small and there were some noise from the backyard early in the morning. Definitely no luxury but excellent service and good food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I found this hotel from Tripadvisor and for me the best one to stay at CHG. Specially the smiling faced of all workers make it worth to stay again and again... Thanks to them and tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevsem69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a clean and comfortable hotel on the New Harbour in Copenhagen. We spent two nights here and found it quite adequate for our purposes. Right on the canal, it gave beautiful views and easy access to the canal cruises. Within easy walks of the shopping malls, restaurant strips, the Palace and Little Mermaid sculpture. The breakfast was healthy and plentiful, with tea and coffee available all day. The beds were soft and comfy, ensuring a good night's sleep. We would recommend this hotel for a good value, good location in expensive Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#6 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Property: Somandshjemmet Bethel
Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing