We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spot, brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #4 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a spot, brilliant”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife and daughter, August 2013. Great location, centre of Nyhavn. Close to royal palace. Our room was excellent, breakfast very good, courteous staff. Bike hire nearby, nice bars and restaurants just across the road

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    320
    76
    12
    4
See reviews for
164
370
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel was a joy to stay in throughout our holiday. The location is fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is great. There is also free tea and coffee throughout the day and evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyattheloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

You pretty much get what you pay for in this very central hotel on Nyhavn. The single rooms (in one of which I stayed in) are small, clean and basic with no frills - just a room with a bed, a table, a chair and a TV. That's it. Nothing wrong with that and the price is right. Shower and toilet provide the essentials. Breakfast is OK, nothing fancy. I really liked the breakfast room, it has a welcoming feeling. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OliverJavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my boyfriend for 2 nights for Xmas trip. We booked the hotel after discovering it on tripadvisor and reading the reviews. We booked a corner room and were lucky enough to get the only room with a balcony, looking over nyhavn. We arrived early in the morning hoping to leave our bags at the hotel whilst we went out exploring but was pleasantly surprised to find our room was ready.
Our room was clean and comfortable, simple and modern and had everything you would need. Could not fault it.
The staff on the desk were very friendly and helpful and gave us names of places to eat at etc.
The breakfast was very good with a good selection of meats, cheeses, breads and danishes and was enough to fill you up for the day.
Location, well what can I say amazing.
Walking distance to just about everything. We walked to calsberg brewery (30mins walk), the mermaid (lovely walk about 15 mins or so) and Tivoli (15 mins). Get a good map from reception and you can walk all the sights of Copenhagen easily. We loved that.
The metro to the airport is just round the corner too.
I would highly recommend this hotel for value and location, definately book a corner room and would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicknak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with my teenage daughter. We loved the place. It was clean, comfy beds, lovely breakfast. Our room was set out as a twin as requested. It faced the inner courtyard and so we could not hear street noise. The decor is basic and traditional. Staff were all very nice and helpful. I like their method for booking. You send an e mail and pay on arrival. Nyhavn is a lively street but this hotel is on the quiet side.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavidL187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

When we got there the hotel had just reopened after Christmas and it was pretty quiet. But the staff were super friendly and helpful with everything. They also explained that this spot is really bustling in the summer at peak season, but that in winter things are a bit quiet. There didn't even seem to be a lot of red light action going on, too cold maybe! So therefore noise mentioned by other reviewers was not a problem. Nonetheless it was warm and cosy and had everything we needed. Tour bus stops right outside and the gourmet pizza place just down the dock was delicious, plus it was super close to the central shopping area...we were able to walk everywhere and it was lovely to stay right on the canal, even though the boats seemed mainly covered for the winter. I'd love to see this area in the snow...would be so pretty!
The hotel rooms definitely also had a kind of youth hostel vibe (something reviewers have mentioned before) and there were things that were a little weathered looking (bathroom is pretty 70s, for instance). For the same amount of money (in the off season, early January) we did wonder if we should have upgraded to more of a fancy hotel setting, if you know what I mean!
But the room was big enough for two friends traveling together and the separate bed we had requested (twin room) was there, as booked. All in all, the experience was lovely and certainly very personal, thanks to the staff.
This hotel is highly rated because of the wonderful staff, the care taken and the gorgeous location. The fact that it is an old seamen's hostel - we loved this idea - is really cute and the exteriors are characterful. There are touches (porthole in the elevator, brass plaques on the doors) but not much of the naval aspect really remains in the interior though, unless you count the piano in the dining room. If you're looking for more of "hotel" vibe, you may be better off elsewhere in the winter. If you're coming for the summer though, I imagine this place would be bustling and exciting and couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KaVee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here in July and had a great week exploring Copenhagen. The hotel is located by the canal and is within walking distance of all the major sights. We had a room facing the canal and although we were there during the jazz festival we did not find the room at all noisy. The room was clean with a comfy bed and a decent sized bathroom. Breakfast was the usual continental style, nothing fancy but plenty available. Staff were pleasant and helpful and there was a computer available for guest use in the reception area. Hot drinks were also available throughout the day, free of charge for guests. If we were to return to Copenhagen we would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
198 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,810 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,264 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,850 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Property: Somandshjemmet Bethel
Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing