We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great services”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My sister and I were traveling Europe, and our first time in Copenhagen was wonderful. The hotel is at a really excellent location along the Nyhavn, and the metro stop is close by (about 10 minute walk, will take less time once you know your surroundings). Copenhagen is an expensive city, and the value in comparison to other hotels, and the location made it a great value. Additionally, breakfast is free, and if you are not staying at the hotel it would cost 89DKK. Would recommend this place to everyone, although you must book quite early. Since are you there, you might as well go for the good view (we requested good view).

Room Tip: You have 3 options for rooms (depending how many you are). There is normal view, good view, best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamlarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    328
    78
    13
    4
See reviews for
168
384
66
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We came across this hotel after looking at several other hotels in Copenhagen. They were extremely friendly from our first encounter online, and their service in person was outstanding! The hotel is located right on one of the main canals in Copenhagen, near many restaurants and sites. Ask for a room on the third floor, overlooking the canal. The breakfast room is large, but cozy, and the breakfast is very extensive. The Wi-Fi, included in the price of the room, is very fast. The staff were courteous, helpful and very knowledgeable; I cannot say enough good things about how helpful they ALL were. I highly recommend this hotel! Be sure to ask about the small (still active) Lutheran church in the courtyard to view; it's very pretty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor, overlooking the canal - best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were recommended this hotel by someone we met in Mykonos last summer they stayed here, and being a great Trip advisor reviewer we accepted his recommendation, it took a while to find as the metro system in the centre of Copenhagen is having major rebuilding work done so signage was not too good, after asking in a shop we were back on track to find the hotel, which if we were not tired at the time it would have been easy. On arrival at the hotel we had a good welcome and was given the run through of the city and the hotel which was great, the room as excellent with a great view over Nyhavn area, the only down side was the bathroom although functional it was a bit dark and the shower did spray water everywhere, but this is only a very minor point. The bed was very comfy and we both had a good night sleep each night. The reception desk was manned all the time and they were all very helpful with directions etc. Free tea and coffee is available all day from the breakfast area which is a nice touch. We could not fault the hotel and we easily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stumbled across this on the internet after exploring many other hotel options in Copenhagen, and we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in an old building that use to house Danish fishermen - alas only the outer facade, some old photos and the location remind us of that time. Nyhavn is a gentrified tourist spot now which is very close to the metro stop from the airport, the various museums, excellent restaurants (would definitely recommend Tony's and Madklubben Admiralgade), and the other palaces. A nearby bicycle rental shop closer tot he waterfront were very good value and quality too.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and neat. The rooms are practical with simple finishings, a soft double bed (perhaps the pillows were too soft), warm blankets, and super warm radiators for those cold nights. The bathrooms were small and probably needed some adjustment for the ventilation, but otherwise there was plenty of hot water. In addition, there was fast and free WIFI, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful (I was surprised that we only had to make a booking online and pay when we arrived - nice one), the breakfast was filling and tasty, and there was plenty of free coffee and tea during the day too.

All things considered, it was very good value for money for a not so cheap city. A great place to launch a Danish exploration indeed.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the inner courtyard if you don't want to hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aikiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife and daughter, August 2013. Great location, centre of Nyhavn. Close to royal palace. Our room was excellent, breakfast very good, courteous staff. Bike hire nearby, nice bars and restaurants just across the road

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel was a joy to stay in throughout our holiday. The location is fantastic, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is great. There is also free tea and coffee throughout the day and evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyattheloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

You pretty much get what you pay for in this very central hotel on Nyhavn. The single rooms (in one of which I stayed in) are small, clean and basic with no frills - just a room with a bed, a table, a chair and a TV. That's it. Nothing wrong with that and the price is right. Shower and toilet provide the essentials. Breakfast is OK, nothing fancy. I really liked the breakfast room, it has a welcoming feeling. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OliverJavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
256 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 117 in Copenhagen
757 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,401 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,293 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Property: Somandshjemmet Bethel
Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing