We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The staff of the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. After an overnight flight from the USA, we arrived at 9:00 AM and they invited us to have breakfast without charge. Also, our room was ready early and we were able to unpack by 10:30 AM. The room was large compared to most European hotels that we have stayed in and quite comfortable including the bed and pillows.It is located in a central location and you can easily walk to most key attractions easily. It was also close to the Hop On Hop Off stop as well as the 11a bus stop and we had a view of the canal as well as the outdoor restaurants from our window. The only reason it is not a 5 is because of the noise from the restaurants and delivery trucks. If Tripadvisor had a 4.5 rating would have given the hotel that many stars. Most likely, if your room is not on the canal side, you will not have the noise issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    320
    76
    12
    4
See reviews for
164
372
65
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

After reading other reviews on Trip Advisor I suggested to the group I was traveling with that this is the place to stay. It did not disappoint. I booked room 122 and it was probably the best room in the city. The only room with a porch, we watched people all day coming to the area to photograph the canal that we had a much better view of. I can not say enough about the staff. The breakfast was excellent and with coffee and tea served all day it was a great place to gather before and after our excursions. Don't even think about booking anywhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The Bethel couldn't be better located- on Nyhavn, the prettiest area of Copenhagen, and smack bang in the middle of all the activity- the boarding point for harbour cruises, the open deck hop on hop off buses outside the door, and the airport metro 500 metres away. Sure it's touristy, but it's fun and pretty. The hotel rooms are small, and pretty basic-- not much room to store your gear, no fancy bathroom, tiny television--but the bed is comfortable, the double glazing keeps the noise out, and the dining room downstairs is perfect for all day free coffee and chatting with other guests. Breakfast selection is limited, but the fresh bread is great, and the cold meat and cheese makes a tasty start to the day. The staff are all friendly and willing to help. If you want a 5 star chain hotel don't come here--but if you want location, atmosphere and great value, this is a top choice. The rooms facing the canal are the best, with a window onto all the action

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

a highly recommended hotel! the combination of friendly staf (!), nice and clean rooms, free wifi (available everywhere), complimentary coffee and tea all day and a good night rest (quit rooms, good beds) made my stay in Copenhagen a good one. Besides this the hotel is located very central at the Nyhavn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 3 other people. the hotel made sure we all had single beds. All was very clean. The service was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.the nyhavn location was convenient to buses (at side of hotel), subway and the canal cruise.the price was reasonable for copenhagen.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paristx49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bethel for 3 nights prior to a Baltic Cruise. The hotel is easily reached from the airport via the subway. I had asked for a corner room when I booked and we were extremely pleased. It was bright and airy and was located facing the the canal. The room was clean and the breakfast was a bonus. The front desk were extremely kind and helpful with dinner suggestions.
An added bonus is that coffee and hot water are available all day if you wish to have a tea.
The only disadvantage is that the shower did not drain properly so the bathroom floor was wet for quite a while.
But considering that Copenhagen is a very expensive city, this is a minor irritation.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. It may be noisy with evening revellers but the view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwestern Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights post cruise and enjoyed it very much. The location is perfect and better yet, the staff were exceptional. So friendly, welcoming and helpful. Love the breakfast in the morning. For Copenhagen, the value is very good! The perfect place to end our cruise.
Would recommend to anyone and would love to go back! We reserved a corner room -- big, bright, comfortable and clean. Thank you Hotel Bethel for a wonderful Copenhagen experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiemarie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
200 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,814 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel D'Angleterre
Hotel D'Angleterre
#1 of 116 in Copenhagen
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,270 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,857 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Property: Somandshjemmet Bethel
Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing