We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Ranked #5 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed for 3 nights Oct/Nov & can only concur with all the comments already made.
You won't be disappointed. Easy to find, helpful staff, more than adequate breakfast, coffee on the go all day, pleasant room (ask for a canal view), great value for money and above all the location is excellent.

You can see almost all there is to see in Copenhagen in 2 full days. Enjoyed the recommended walk laid out in the free maps available & saw everything - except The Little Mermaid who was at the Shanghai expo (probably back by now). Nice canal boat trip, the only thing not extortionate in the city. Unless on expenses, food is extremely expensive (£6 for an ice cream cornet!!) but on the whole, very good.

Took the 999 bus (bus-stop in front of the subway) to Malmo, Sweden (£12) which was a welcome & unexpected addition to our weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saxondean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2010

I spent two days at the Bethel on business. What has been said before about the service is spot on - staff extremely helpful (and able to summon a taxi in less than 5mins every time!)
Spotless rooms with great view of the canal. 24 hr cofee and tea service downstairs also a plus.
My "double " was two singles put together however as I was alone this was not a bother. Light sleepers might also be bothered by the thin curtains (quite bright in the morning) but otherwise all good. I will certainly return and confirm that this hotel deserves it's position in the "top 5"

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2010. Great location in Nyhavn, convenient for Metro, sightseeing, canal cruise, Rooms are very basic and in need of updating, but are sufficient. Copenhagen is super-expensive.....this hotel was the most expensive by far during our tour of Copenhagen, Berlin, Venice and Paris and was the most basic and dated of all. Staff was helpful and the included breakfast was fine.....fill up at breakfast since everywhere else will set you back quite a bit for a meal. Shower was just a corner of the bathroom so the floor got very wet. There was a squeegee in there for the floor, but it didn't really do the job so we had to watch out for wet floor. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sneezytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel back in May and I am sorry it took so long to share my experience. Fantastic staff, great breakfast, clean rooms and affordable...what else could we want? We were so pleased and thankful with our experience at Hotel Bethel we toyed with keeping it a secret so that it wouldn't change...but then again why would they mess with a good thing? Thank you for everything. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewfieIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We've just spent a lovely weekend in Copenhagen, staying one night at Hotel Bethel, The location could not be better, located on Nyhavn with it's lovely boats and waterside restaurants. It's more of a hostel than a hotel, so very basic but the rooms were large, warm, very clean and although the beds didn't look very welcoming they were extremely comfortable. The bathroom is adequate and a flat screen TV was the one luxury. Breakfast is fresh and plentiful and you are free to help yourself to complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day which is a nice touch. It's the perfect place if you just need a decent place to sleep while you explore the city, they are not the kind of rooms you want to hole up in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scoutypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and were a bit nervous initially because the hotel is quite a bit cheaper than others in Copenhagen but were absolutely delighted. Staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast included all one could need. Free internet.
The position right on the canal can not be bettered and we were very very fortunate to have the room with the balcony on two sides thereby enabling us to take wonderful photos.
Bathrooms were a bit tired and please do not expect those added extras like shower caps or expensive toilettries. Our room was big, airy and clean which is what most people desire I would imagine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three days before a cruise in August. I just want to reinforce most of what’s already been said about this hotel. I believe the hotel is a great value for the price. The staff is helpful, the rooms are basic but clean and ours was well maintained, the breakfast is a welcome treat and the hotel is, in my opinion, in one of the best spots in Copenhagen. We had a corner room (reserve way in advance!) and had the classic tourist picture shot of the Nyhavn Canal right outside our window. You can take the metro from the airport and get within a couple of blocks of the hotel (Kongens Nytorv). There is a bus stop just outside the door (consider taking the little electric CityCirkel bus for a neat and cheap one hour trip by many of the top spots). If you’re overloaded on expensive Copenhagen food, there’s a market for beer/snacks and a nice pizza joint right outside the door. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks to the staff for our great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vadraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
319 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,552 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#25 of 118 in Copenhagen
4,081 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,325 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £95 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing