We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel on a small budget”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #79 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel on a small budget”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel was fantastic. We arrived at 9pm so had to pick up the keys from a hotel nearby- the hotel was so easy to find. It is near the metro and near a supermarket. I was so surprised by how nice the room was- huge and nicely furnished. The view was amazing-we had a corner room that overlooked the street. The breakfast was simple but sufficient and the room had a sink which was a big bonus when you are sharing the bathroom. Everything was clean and there was never a queue for the bathroom. The room would benefit from a small fridge. I couldn't recommend it more- if you are on a tighter budget it is well worth the money. Copenhagen was fantastic and we managed to do it cheaply.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    69
    48
    29
    9
See reviews for
12
69
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Windsor for 3 nights in January. We had a really big room with views out onto the street, a large sink and mirror area, double bed, 2 chairs and table and a flat screen TV. Towels are provided. The room was comfortable, clean and warm, as was everything in the whole hotel. I was very impressed.

Only slight negatives to note: the shared toilet was tiny and because of that not a comfortable room to be in. There was not much variety with the breakfast, but it was absolutely fine for keeping you going until lunch.

Great hotel and staff, and great prices for Copenhagen. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank spheric01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent two nights in the windsor in october. we caught a taxi from the airport (£35) but you can catch the train as a metro station is just across the road. on arriving late at night we had to pick the keys up from the hotel across the road. the hotel has a few stairs so if your hard of walking i'd stop somewhere else. there are many bars ect all on the doorstep with the main town only 5 minute walk away. the breakfast was nice and the hotel staff very helpful. theres a lovely market across the road and the room was really nice to say it was one of the cheapest we priced up. i'd come back here again without hesitation. a lovely city as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

+ proximity to Torvehallerne, an exellent market halls, even for the evening
+ location; metro and trainstation are close (airport) and we walked everywhere
+kind staff
+ no elevator, some exercising with stairs
+ price ratio

- we did not feel cleanliness; wall-to-wall carpet, kind of moldy shared showers, dirty shared toilet, untidy towels etc
- clumpy pillows
- very unstabile wifi
- lack of toiletries (one shampoo/person for 4 days!)
- dark lightning

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a budget hotel and as many previous reviewers have mentioned, there are a lot of stairs as the lower rooms are on the second floor, the highest ones on the fourth. Still it is something that is made clear when you do your booking and honestly anybody reasonably fit would not have any problem negotiating these stairs as long as you don't have to carry extremely heavy suitcases. It is ideally located, close to the centre of the city and right next to both a metro station and S tog (the local trains). The single room I had was simple but spacious, with a desk and an armchair. One of the toilet on the 4th floor is indeed minuscule, but unless you need to go there in the middle of the night, the one at the other end of the floor is slightly larger. The showers were perfectly fine, but depending where your room is, may be at the other end of the floor, so having a pair of flipflop or something similar is very handy.
The buffet breakfast is served in a very nice room full of natural light. There are some occasional problems with the wifi, which tends to become slow when a lot of guests are connected. You may also find that you need to log out and log in again when you come back to the hotel, as while your device may properly identify the wifi network, due to the slowness it fails to connect properly.
And a tip to find the door, which is indeed easily missed: it is between the windows of an outdoor shop. So when you see this shop, look for a black door between two windows.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaCatriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is located less than two blocks from the Norreport station, which makes it easy not only to get from and to the airport via the Metro but the underground and S-bahn as well. In other words, you can get anywhere in the city fast. There is also a market across the street with all kinds of restaurants next door to it. From the breakfast room you can see dozens of Danes on their bicycles heading to work. The management was great; when I got there he went over the city map and main attractions, told me what to do if I lost my key, etc. and even offered me a beer. The negatives: there are forty-two steps to the second floor (yes, I counted) and you share a bathroom and shower.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, tell them you have a heart condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I just returned from a whirlwind trip to Denmark. While in Copenhagen we stayed at the Hotel Windsor. We were assigned room 406, a corner room with two twin beds, a sink, two comfy chairs, a TV, and best of all, two walls of windows overlooking the city and the neighborhood open-air market. The location was perfect. An easy walk from the metro (subway) and a block away from an awesome (and affordable) restaurant as well as the dining in the market.

The room was large, clean, and comfortable. Service was friendly and very helpful, the helpfulness included hauling two carry-on size suitcases up the narrow flight of stairs. Breakfast was served on the third floor and was utterly perfect by my standards. Fresh bread, a wonderful selection of cheeses, meats, fruit preserves, juice, and of course, coffee. The manager made sure that our buffet was always well-stocked and had a great attitude. Bathroom accommodations were exactly what I would expect in an old, but well-maintained European hotel. Separate (shared toilets), separate showers. All were clean and well maintained. The only criticism that I have is the one communal towel by the sink in each toilet. Next time I'll be sure to bring hand sanitizer for the bathrooms and flip flops for the showers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#51 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#71 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#32 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#80 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Property: Hotel Windsor
Address: Frederiksborggade 30, Copenhagen 1360, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing