We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in the center of the city”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 2 April 2014

hotel in a great location, very central, close to the main subway station. Modest rooms and shared toilets and showers. Good breakfast and good price in relation to the services. This hotel is great for short stays, just arrived in Denmark.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossi8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having returned from a 5 night stay in this lovely little hotel its a wonder why people are writing such negative reviews for it. Its a low cost hotel right in the center of Copenhagen and suited us perfectly. Visiting Copenhagen as tourists we didn't want to spend hundreds on a hotel that we'd barely spend time in due to travelling around doing typical tourist activities - this hotel was therefore ideal for this!

The hotel is situated a short walk from the Norreport metro station (which is about 15 minutes from the airport) so getting around Copenhagen was quite simple and easy to do. Make sure you look for the big black door of the hotel other wise it could be quite easily missed, its opposite the market that is on every day!

The staff on arrival were very welcoming, offering us maps of Copenhagen etc! The gentleman who worked there for the majority of our stay (the Liverpool fan) was great to talk too, offering us suggestions on where to go etc and he was just a genuinely pleasant person to talk too!

We had a lovely big corner room on the 2nd floor which had great views onto the busy streets below! The bed was big and comfortable, there was a large sink (quite handy as facilities are shared) and it was clean! We had towels provided and these could be changed daily if required. The only thing that could have made this room even better would be tea/coffee facilities in the room! Breakfast was great too (served from 08:00-10:00), a selection of rolls/breads, cheeses, meats, jams and tea/coffee/juice! It was all very delicious & was constantly topped up through breakfast to keep everything nice and fresh.

The shared facilities were nothing to worry about either, there was barely a queue for them and they were kept nice and clean!

In summary this hotel was ideal for what we needed - a clean, comfortable and central hotel to sleep in whilst visiting the sights of Copenhagen!

* If you have the time make sure you make a trip to Malmo, Sweden - its only a 30 minute train journey from Copenhagen central station and was well worth the trip!
* The Copenhagen card was a great find for us and we would recommend it - it included travel on the metro/trains/buses and included entry to 75 attractions!
* Make sure you visit Nyhavn 17 in Nyhavn - the food was amazing!

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you struggle with stairs ask for a lower floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 232,423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel was fantastic. We arrived at 9pm so had to pick up the keys from a hotel nearby- the hotel was so easy to find. It is near the metro and near a supermarket. I was so surprised by how nice the room was- huge and nicely furnished. The view was amazing-we had a corner room that overlooked the street. The breakfast was simple but sufficient and the room had a sink which was a big bonus when you are sharing the bathroom. Everything was clean and there was never a queue for the bathroom. The room would benefit from a small fridge. I couldn't recommend it more- if you are on a tighter budget it is well worth the money. Copenhagen was fantastic and we managed to do it cheaply.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Windsor for 3 nights in January. We had a really big room with views out onto the street, a large sink and mirror area, double bed, 2 chairs and table and a flat screen TV. Towels are provided. The room was comfortable, clean and warm, as was everything in the whole hotel. I was very impressed.

Only slight negatives to note: the shared toilet was tiny and because of that not a comfortable room to be in. There was not much variety with the breakfast, but it was absolutely fine for keeping you going until lunch.

Great hotel and staff, and great prices for Copenhagen. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank spheric01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent two nights in the windsor in october. we caught a taxi from the airport (£35) but you can catch the train as a metro station is just across the road. on arriving late at night we had to pick the keys up from the hotel across the road. the hotel has a few stairs so if your hard of walking i'd stop somewhere else. there are many bars ect all on the doorstep with the main town only 5 minute walk away. the breakfast was nice and the hotel staff very helpful. theres a lovely market across the road and the room was really nice to say it was one of the cheapest we priced up. i'd come back here again without hesitation. a lovely city as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

+ proximity to Torvehallerne, an exellent market halls, even for the evening
+ location; metro and trainstation are close (airport) and we walked everywhere
+kind staff
+ no elevator, some exercising with stairs
+ price ratio

- we did not feel cleanliness; wall-to-wall carpet, kind of moldy shared showers, dirty shared toilet, untidy towels etc
- clumpy pillows
- very unstabile wifi
- lack of toiletries (one shampoo/person for 4 days!)
- dark lightning

Stayed: October 2013
6  Thank File101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a budget hotel and as many previous reviewers have mentioned, there are a lot of stairs as the lower rooms are on the second floor, the highest ones on the fourth. Still it is something that is made clear when you do your booking and honestly anybody reasonably fit would not have any problem negotiating these stairs as long as you don't have to carry extremely heavy suitcases. It is ideally located, close to the centre of the city and right next to both a metro station and S tog (the local trains). The single room I had was simple but spacious, with a desk and an armchair. One of the toilet on the 4th floor is indeed minuscule, but unless you need to go there in the middle of the night, the one at the other end of the floor is slightly larger. The showers were perfectly fine, but depending where your room is, may be at the other end of the floor, so having a pair of flipflop or something similar is very handy.
The buffet breakfast is served in a very nice room full of natural light. There are some occasional problems with the wifi, which tends to become slow when a lot of guests are connected. You may also find that you need to log out and log in again when you come back to the hotel, as while your device may properly identify the wifi network, due to the slowness it fails to connect properly.
And a tip to find the door, which is indeed easily missed: it is between the windows of an outdoor shop. So when you see this shop, look for a black door between two windows.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaCatriona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#59 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,037 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#71 of 118 in Copenhagen
525 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#51 of 118 in Copenhagen
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#89 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,237 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Cabinn City Hotel
Cabinn City Hotel
#48 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,969 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#37 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Address: Frederiksborggade 30, Copenhagen 1360, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing