We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local Thai ”
Review of Poon Chai

Poon Chai
Ranked #453 of 2,350 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Inner Vesterbro
Description: Reliable, middle-level Thai restaurant near the station - seems popular with business people
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good local Thai ”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised. Good portions, plenty of veg and meat in the main course dishes. Overall a lovely meal and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Stus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    60
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, shame about the food”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Cosy restaurant, friendly staff but disappointing food. Both mains were very (very) salty and not very pleasant. prawns seemed tough and didn't seem fresh. Price felt expensive for two mains, 1 soft drink and 1 beer was 450 dkk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced thai”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We ate at the Poon Chai on a wednesday evening,the place wasn't that busy.The service was prompt,friendly and helpful.They provided glasses of water with out being asked.The menu was in 3 languages including english. The dishes we ordered arrived hot and were tasty (all or most dishes come with rice included in the price).There was draught beer as well as bottled. All in all a very reasonable priced meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank powerplasticsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
379 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“Great place in a storm”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were caught out in a down pour on arrival in at our hotel in Copenhagen. We dashed into this place nearby which was really busy - we got the last table. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was nice, hot and freshly cooked. Together with a bottle of house wine, we had a tasty and reasonably priced meal. We paid in cash and no one chased after us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beware of crooked and rude staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Avoid this place like the plague - the nice food is not worth the hassle. We had nice food, paid our bill, chatted a while and then left. Then the waitress and chef ran down the road after us telling us we hadn't paid. They forced us to return and we had to call the police to help us. It took half an hour and camera surveillance footage to convince the very rude Thai owners that we had indeed paid (despite having a receipt and showing the change they had given us). Rather than apologize and offer compensation, the Thai owners shrugged their shoulders and said half of their customers cheat them. If you go here, make sure you have witnesses that will testify you have paid. The staff can turn from smiley people to very nasty people very quickly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FinlandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poon Chai also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Poon Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing