We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food!”
Review of Poon Chai

Poon Chai
Ranked #467 of 2,460 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Inner Vesterbro
Description: Reliable, middle-level Thai restaurant near the station - seems popular with business people
N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We ate here for convenience as we were staying in the hotel opposite and it was our last night. As far as Copenhagen prices go, the restaurant was reasonably priced and with a good selection of dishes - lovely and spicy!

Service was good and prompt and the food tasty

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank colinsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    64
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good local Thai ”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised. Good portions, plenty of veg and meat in the main course dishes. Overall a lovely meal and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Stus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, shame about the food”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Cosy restaurant, friendly staff but disappointing food. Both mains were very (very) salty and not very pleasant. prawns seemed tough and didn't seem fresh. Price felt expensive for two mains, 1 soft drink and 1 beer was 450 dkk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced thai”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We ate at the Poon Chai on a wednesday evening,the place wasn't that busy.The service was prompt,friendly and helpful.They provided glasses of water with out being asked.The menu was in 3 languages including english. The dishes we ordered arrived hot and were tasty (all or most dishes come with rice included in the price).There was draught beer as well as bottled. All in all a very reasonable priced meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank powerplasticsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 683 helpful votes
“Great place in a storm”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were caught out in a down pour on arrival in at our hotel in Copenhagen. We dashed into this place nearby which was really busy - we got the last table. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was nice, hot and freshly cooked. Together with a bottle of house wine, we had a tasty and reasonably priced meal. We paid in cash and no one chased after us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poon Chai also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Poon Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing