We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and can one say "relaxing" about a cemetery?”
Review of Assistens Cemetery

Assistens Cemetery
Ranked #22 of 352 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and can one say "relaxing" about a cemetery?”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I happened to stay close by and one day just decided to look around my neighborhood and see whether there are nice thing too see. I discovered the cemetery which one might think isn't a place for strolling around. I went to see H.C. Andersen's grave and Soren Kierggaard's and unintentionally strolled around almost two hours. It's a beautiful cemetery, strange to say with relaxed atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheratzkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    184
    33
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Is cozy the right word?”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have a strole at this cemetary, it is well kept and the locals also enjoy it on a sunny day. I guess I wouldn't go during dark...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pipaluk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful surprise”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We biked through this cemetary while checking out Norrebro. It was like suddenly being in Italy, with the tall trees. So lovely and peaceful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Niels Bohr”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We went to the cemetery to see Niels Bohr's grave (and we did eventually find it!). We also saw a family of red squirrels which made the day for us. Lovely scenery and it felt more like a garden than a cemetery really. The only slight issue is that it's not easy to locate the graves, despite the map. A few more signposts would have been useful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Durrance_Bagale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best in summertime”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

There is something haunting about this cemetery. Big in an urban sort of way. Beautifully scary covered in snow.
You will find the Tombstones of a lot of famous Danes here.
During the summer, you will also find a lot of living Danes lying on the lawns, soaking up the sun, and having picnics.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matmorfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assistens Cemetery also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Assistens Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing