We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Danhostel CopenHagen Amager
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A good place to stay. Clean rooms, beds and bath rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet, with home made marmelade, different kind of breds and rolls, butter, cheese, sausages, muesli, milk, honey, and tea varieties. For a hostel an extraordinary breakfast. Very nice surroundings in nature but a bit outlying from public transport. Excellent to go by bike to the city centre. It's only 5 km away and a nice trip through the large park and Copenhagen's bike lanes are in very well developed. But with heavy luggage a bit far from the metro station Bella Center.

However, on two successive days we had two different school classes in our trakt B and they were very loud. Went to bed at about 11 p.m. and got up at 5 a.m. and the other class on the next day got up at 6 a.m. This made the stay a bit unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed here just for a night and i found the hostel optimal, they have free parking ( one of the few in the city) probably helped by the outdoor location, extremly tidy and quiet.
Not my first hostel in Denmark but defenitly the most silent :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eroenegativo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in a two-bed-room for two nights. The room was recently renovated, everything was fresh and clean. Two separate beds, that could be placed together if one wishes. Bathroom was great - floor heating does make a difference! (Maybe I should add that I'm very picky about cleaning and smells :-) ...)

It is NOT TRUE that you have to bring or rent plates, cutlery etc, as other reviewers have written. You can borrow everything you need, but you do have to leave a deposit (which you of course get back when returning the stuff).

We didn't try the breakfast offered by the hostel, but the kitchen was very well equipped for making your own.

Free and fast wi-fi. Friendly and service-minded staff.

Only downside with the place is that it is located an 8-minute-walk from the metro, between the city centre and the airport. So maybe not the best option if you have a lot of luggage to carry or want to have walking distance to attractions. Metro runs frequently, also at night, so using it for transport is not a problem.

It is very cheap for Copenhagen accommodation, but as you can see when booking through their website, you need to be a member of Hostelling International (which you can become at the hostel as well).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

It's quite a nice place with lots of facilities. Location is also OK, with reasonable distance to either Copenhagen center or the airport (public transport in both directions is rather close).
The prices seems slightly high for a hostel. 
The room we got was as expected - which is to say it was just a place to spend the night in. There was 2 things that struck me as odd. First it would have been nice with some black-out roll down curtain to darken the room. Our window faced East and the morning sun was of course great, but it also meant the room was bright as day at 6AM.
The second thing was that when we wanted a cup of tea in the evening, we found out that you need to either rent cups or buy a disposable cup for 2,-kr. When we asked, the reasoning was that too much equipment was otherwise getting stolen.
It looks like their homepage could use an update, because this with the renting of plate/cutlery is not mentioned anywhere. When we arrived we could see they have rental bikes - which is also not mentioned on their homepage. 
But I'll give them thumps up for the fast and free available wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krulletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here in February for a few days whilst attending LegoWorld in the nearby conference centre. As accommodation is expensive in Denmark this is a lower-cost alternative although the hostel system takes a bit of getting used to if you're not from Scandinavia. As our accommodation was paid for this time it wasn't an issue for us but the extras for linen etc. can add to the price.

I'd driven to Copenhagen in my own car and felt it was beneficial as this Danhostel is located outside the city centre near the huge Bella Centre conference centre. Its a very easy place to get to if driving from Germany as its just off the motorway. its also near the airport. Another benefit is that it is a short walk to the Bella Centre metro station and from there the metro can take you into central Copenhagen or with one connection to the airport. Multiple (10 journey ) ride tickets can be purchased more cheaply at the Danhostel.

The accommodation is more than I'd expect from a hostel but the standard of Danish hostels seems particularly high. Then again, given that you'd probably be able to stay in a hotel in any other country for the same price I'd expect decent quality. We stayed in a two person room which was quite small but had the basics right. The (en-suite) bathroom was tiny but at least it was private. It was warm and felt secure although those magnetic fob keycards had me scratching my head. The accommodation consists of interconnected blocks that take a bit of getting used to - they are connected to a 24hr reception where you can acquire a beer or two at not too unreasonable (for Denmark) prices. We found the upstairs attic section ideal for socialising.

Breakfast is very basic in my view but this may be the norm. There was little variation and choices were limited especially if you arrive a bit later than the bulk of the guests. Coffee was fine though.

Staff were friendly and check-out and check-in was efficient for me - although you may have to wait as there is only one reception position.

I'm not normally a fan of hostels but I'd definitely stay in the Danhostel again if the room had its own bathroom facilties, if only because its a good value alternative to expensive Copenhagen hotels and accessible to the metro after a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dfenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Since we arrived by metro with plenty of luggage, we had to take the bus just for 2 stops and drag bags too the hotel !
Not much around there except if you want to do some jogging. Any markets/shops are 2 km away at least and that is why the Hostel has some snacks (and a good kitchen also).
Breakfast was good. Rooms were tiny. Prices were quite high, thinking that we had to pay a considerable amount to have late check-out.
The experience was very different and practical with some enjoyment.

Room Tip: Be careful with windows, specially in Summer as someone can enter easily the room if the windows is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

i stayed here for a night on a short visit of Copenhagen with friends. This Danhostel is a bit out of the city center, and the area it's in didn't seem to have much going on, so i was glad we had a car.

All 4 of us knew about Scandinavian hostels, so had brought our own bedlinens/towels. We had booked a private room for the 4 of us, and i recommend this if it's possible with your party: the privates seem to be housed in a different area than the dorms, and we had no problems with noise in our room. The room itself was as expected, average, nothing special, with ensuite facilities.

As far as i recall, there was plenty of common space with seating possibilities. i think there was also a kitchen type of area which guests could use to prep their own meals, but we didn't use this. In the morning, we enjoyed a reasonable breakfast buffet in the large, sunny cafetaria.

A friend left with the car after breakfast to attend to his business, so at the checkout, the reception ordered a taxi for us to go meet up with him.

If you're traveling without a car, you might be better off with the Danhostel more centrally located in town, 10 minutes' walk from Tivoli.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Inner Vesterbro
Danhostel Copenhagen City
Danhostel Copenhagen City
#5 of 43 in Copenhagen
822 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Hostel Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
#3 of 43 in Copenhagen
1,392 reviews
Inner Noerrebro
Sleep in Heaven
Sleep in Heaven
#2 of 43 in Copenhagen
646 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Bedwood Hostel
Bedwood Hostel
#7 of 43 in Copenhagen
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danhostel CopenHagen Amager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danhostel CopenHagen Amager

Address: Vejlands Alle 200, Copenhagen 2300, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Amager
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £24 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Danhostel CopenHagen Amager 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Danhostel CopenHagen Amager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danhostel Copenhagen Amager Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing