We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not wonderful, but good value for money in Copenhagen” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Public Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Public Hostel
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Not wonderful, but good value for money in Copenhagen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

This hostel is extremely well located, a 10 minute walk from the central train station.
The staff are all nice and friendly. Bed linen is not provided, but you can rent it from reception. There is no laundry on-site, but there is one a 5 minute walk away that I used and found good. There is a kitchen which I didn't use very much, it seemed adequate but not particularly well provisioned. WiFi is available in the common area beside reception, but not in the dorms.

I stayed in a six bed female dorm - overall the atmosphere was nice and friendly. In my case, everyone was in bed by between 11 and 1, depending on the night, which suited me just fine - had three great night's sleep. If you wanted to stay up socialising there were plenty of common areas where you could talk to people.

The only issue I had was with cleanliness. One of the sofas in the upstairs common area had bits of food in it, and there was what looked like blood on the floor in the female toilet beside my dorm.

Overall a fine place to stay - not wonderful, but good value for money in Copenhagen, which is possibly the most expensive place I've ever visited.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    35
    35
    21
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
15
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We had a 3-bed-room, with ensuite bathroom. The hallway was under construction, so kinda dusty and messy out there. But our room was very clean, and nice, but SMALL! Bathroom was also small, but new, light and very good. As a hotel; not to good, but as a hostel, as it is; ok.
We didn't stay long, so have no opinion about staff, breakfast (expensive!) and bar

Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kjersti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

I have been there three times in three different trips I've made to Copenhagen, so you can imagine that I've actually liked it very much. The staff is very kind and the rooms are quite good. They're comfortable, roomy, clean and cozy. The location is excellent and the value perfect!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

The plus points were the location, helpful staff and free BBQ!
The downsides were uncomfortable beds and communal showers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas3Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

That's the cheapest Hostel in Copenhagen, very close to the center (10 minutes walking), you can meet a lot of people. But if you don't like sharing room with a lot of unknown people, if you are a maniac of cleanness, if you would have a good breakfast... change place!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bertolugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

if you are used to 5 star hotel this is not the place for you, but if you are easy going and you wish to meet people, have fun and be yourself.... don´t doubt: this is the right place!!!

i enjoed so much to have barbeque in the backyard and, after many beers, take a rest in the garden

it´s cip and easy to reach:
5 minuts walk from the central railway station and 10 mints from the center.
I REALLY SUGGEST IT to everyone wish an unforgetteble "open mind" and no frills holiday

  • Liked — staff, location and atmpsphere
  • Disliked — only dorms with many beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank blozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

First time in Copenhagen, first time in a dorm ... and everything was cool. The staff is very kind and funny and we enjoyed our stay so much. Baths and showers are clean, there's a huge kitchen and there's a beautiful garden in the front and in the backyard there's also the possibility to light up a warm fire place.

  • Liked — The young and lively atmosphere
  • Disliked — For me it was ok
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pinkleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Loeven
Hotel Loeven
#90 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Woodah-Hostel
Woodah-Hostel
#12 of 36 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
The Pea Blossom
The Pea Blossom
#27 of 46 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
#2 of 36 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Public Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Public Hostel

Property: City Public Hostel
Address: Absalonsgade 8 | Vesterbro, Copenhagen, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your City Public Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Public Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing