We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #33 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Morristown, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Completely Satisfied”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We selected this hotel for its location, and based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. We requested a quiet room and were assigned one on the top (6th) floor in the front, with a balcony, that had a spectacular view. Yes, there is construction going on in the main square below, but there are construction sites now all over the city for the metro expansion, so it would be hard to avoid having one nearby any hotel in the city center. There was typical city traffic noise, but not enough to interfere with our sleep. The bed was very comfortable. The room was similar in size to what we had elsewhere in Scandinavia. The only negative was that there was no rack or table on which you could open your suitcase, but there were clothing shelves and sufficient hanging space in a wardrobe, so we unpacked our suitcases and stored them in the wardrobe where they were out of the way for the three nights that we were there. The bathroom was clean with good counter space, and had a tiled walk-in shower. Toiletries and sufficient towels were supplied. There was a water heater pot, but an inconsistent supply of coffee, etc. -- but it didn't matter because I had brought my own instant decaf coffee and creamer packs. We saved money on the rate by not signing up for breakfast, and it was easy to get breakfast at nearby cafes. We were able to walk to all of the sights that we wanted to see. We bought a 3-day Copenhagen Pass that worked for all of the museums and sights, including admission to Tivoli. It also worked on the train for our day trip to Roskilde to see the 12th century Cathedral and the Viking Ship Museum (highly recommended -- walk 1-1/2 blocks to central station for 30 minute train ride departing several times per hour), and for the train to the airport on our last morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    1,120
    526
    182
    79
See reviews for
466
827
157
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Considering its location it should come as no surprise that the noise level is somewhat high during the night, but as long as the windows stay shut it's bearable. Other reviews on Tripadvisor complain about beds being soft, but we did not find this to be a problem. BUT! We booked a couples retreat package, and to be designated to separate beds that slide apart is not very romantic.. Breakfast was very good, and location perfect! Staff were friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sykkelthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSquare, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear ‘sykkelthor’
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
Our windows should shelter for any noise from the surrounding area and I am glad to hear that this was your experience.
Although you liked the beds I agree that two separate beds perhaps are not the most convenient for a couples retreat package. Next time please feel free to contact the front desk in order to assign you a double bedded room.
Last but not least thank you for your kind words on our breakfast, location and staff!

Yours Sincerely, Jens Wittendorff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

With a location that could not be more in the city centre then it is, the location is absolutely the best.

The lobby have wireless internet, but the rooms are still only on wired internet, although really long cables are available to lend in the reception. The beds are a bit soft, but I gues that is a matter of taste.

They have a really nice breakfast and overall really friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Copenhagen is an expensive city, you can drop a wad of cash just going out in the evening for a meal. I was very happy to have found this hotel, it is European 4*, it is clean and very reasonable in price.

The location of the hotel is pretty much perfect since it overlooks the main square in Copenhagen. My only gripe would have been the building works in the main square which means you overlook a building site. This of course is not the fault of the hotel.

From check in through to check out service was pretty much faultless. There is wifi in reception which is complimentary and one computer for you to use just in case you need to print boarding passes etc.

I think overall the rates on this hotel are very reasonable. Every morning there was a group of around 30 tourists in reception since the hotel must have a tie up with one of the larger travel agencies. They had tour representatives assisting these guests which shows that it must be good value.

I would return here, hopefully once the building work in the square is completed.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank avelautham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains,NY
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at The Square both before and after our cruise and found the hotel to be first rate. The location is a block from the main entrance to Tivoli Park and another half a block to the main train station. The hotel is clean and comfortable.
We can't say enough good things about the staff. On our first night our clogged shower drain created a small pool of water in the bathroom. A staff person came up quickly and repaired it and we were given a discount and an upgrade to an executive suite on our return the following week.
Imagine our surprise to find a bottle of champagne and a fruit basket as well. The staff of The Square wanted us to return and we will!

Room Tip: Ask for Tivoli package which includes Park admission and breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Hotel is minimalist, but still stylish. Rooms are a bit boxy but comfortable and very clean. Towels were a slight bit worn but clean. Rooms were quiet, as I could not hear outside traffic even though I was only 1 floor up.

I was here for business, but it was quite a touristy hotel. Convenient to Radhusplaset, main shopping street (Stroget), and a short walk (15 min) to Nyhavn for touristy restaurant area. Also, Tivoli was just around the corner and across the street.

Elevators are tiny. The price was very reasonable, so it was definitely worth the value. Service was extremely friendly and helpful. Internet connection available in room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TcarlGren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSquare, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear ‘TcarlGren’
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you found your room to be suitably quiet on the 1st floor and that you found a rate that suited you for your stay.
We appreciate your positive comments on the room comfort and cleanliness as well as your very positive comment on our staff. Due to your comment on the towels, our Housekeeping Manager will be doing additional check ups on the towel distributor company.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Square.

Yours Sincerely, Jens Wittendorff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Square Hotel in Copenhagen is an ideal location for a brief holiday. We arrived by train and found the hotel a short walk from the station, were able to check-in early and were given a very pleasant room. The window opened - a pleasant surprise these days. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom a good size with a lot of ledge space for all my make-up (oh, and a razor and shaving cream!) and there were enough reasonably sized towels.

Reception staff were excellent, efficient and pleasant.

I would love it if all hotels had tea and coffee as a matter of course. Unfortunately this one, like so many, did not.

However, there are plenty of eating places nearby, as well as many of the attractions. Canal rides are reasonably close, a pleasant walk through the shopping area; and the "jump/hop on jump/hop off" buses are close by. The information centre is within easy distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSquare, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear ‘cindylou45’
Thank you for taking your time to comments on your stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate an early check in and that you found the room pleasant. I am also pleased to hear that you appreciated the bathroom size and amenities as well as the bed comfort. At the moment we offer coffee/tea making facilities in our Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Junior Suites Deluxe.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Square in the future.

Yours Sincerely, Jens Wittendorff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#20 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,117 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,280 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#7 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
916 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Copenhagen
Scandic Copenhagen
#39 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,172 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#47 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Property: The Square Copenhagen
Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 6:30am-10am and weekends 7am -11:00am. On our sixed floor you will also find our exclusive Executive lounge where you can enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee with snacks if you need to work in our silence and warm atmosphere. You have our lounge included in our price if you book our executive rooms or our junior suties. If these categories are not booked, you can of course always buy access to our lounge for DKK 190,- per person per day. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing