We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Square Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #33 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at The Square. Location is quite convenient being next to Tivoli, near the center city streets and only a block and a half from an S-train stop. Rooms are tight but efficient as you would expect for the price range, but clean, up to date and quite adequate for a few nights stay. Pretty cool lobby and seems on the trendy side geared to business travelers maybe more than tourists. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jzimmer499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    1,061
    488
    175
    75
See reviews for
433
781
145
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed staying here; staff couldn't be more helpful; free iPad use in the lobby extremely useful for checking in our return flight online. Only downside for me was the lifts (heavy door to open and key card-operated). Tak!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

As everyone else has mentioned, this hotel is key for its location. 3 minutes from Tivoli, 10 minutes from shopping, and a 20 min walk to Nyhavn area which isn't bad as you pass through the shopping on the way. Steps from the hotel there are restaurants, fast food outlets and convenience stores. Yes the rooms are tiny, so if you're of western culture you might find it cramped - but remember you're in Europe and that's to be expected. The quaint rooms are very nicely decorated, with next to new bathrooms. It is a very clean hotel and the staff are wonderfully helpful.

All in all, this hotel for it's price and location is literally the only one in the area. If you are looking to stay in this location, I would highly suggest it.

We brought our dog, as they are dog friendly. There was no fee and they even included some dog dishes and treats upon our arrival.

The only thing I would critique was the breakfast. Things are expensive in Copenhagen, food especially and therefore we felt that the breakfast was over prices for being mostly "Scandinavian". It consisted of all cold items - bread, cheese, cold cuts, cereal, yogurt and fruit. Although what was out was good, we felt it was overpriced for what we received. You can get breakfast buffet at most cafes near by for the same price or better. If your breakfast isn't included in your hotel rate, I suggest trying something else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jheonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The location is really good! For a business trip it's perfect.

Check in was smooth and they indeed try to sell more expensive rooms. If I wanted that I would have booked it.


Room is very small which is ok for a business trip but the beds are way too soft! As a result I didn't sleep well at all. As such it didn't really fulfill its main purpose as a hotel.


Summary: good location but beds ensure I would not return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a short walk to the central train station, Tivoli, Stroget and many other sites in the city.

The rooms were small but not tiny. They were furnished nicely. Plenty of outlets were available for recharging electronics. And, the bathrooms were clean.

The breakfast was quite expensive (about 145 DKK). But, there is a coffee shop, right on the street outside the door. And, there is a bakery/coffee shop two blocks a way in the tourist information office near the train station. There is no need to spend that much for a meal to start the day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Booked this Hotel for a two night business trip to Copenhagen having previously stayed at the premium chains in the city.
Location is great, near the central station and shopping areas. Room was compact but fit for the trip, nicely designed and comfortable. Lacked coffee making facilities but there is a coffee shop next door. Lot's of street noise, particularly around 2am - but it is a city centre location. On checking in I was told I only had a small room but could upgrade, I declined but was offered upgrade twice more. I had been pick-pocketed in Prague en-route to Copenhagen, losing my credit cards, reception insisted on taking what cash I had as deposit despite the fact I had prepaid my room and replacement cards were being couriered to me. (Apparently I could order room service then) The check in experience does not sit well with the Hotel branding. I'll go back to Marriott next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank StephenHart66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Went with some friends for a weekend away. Ideally situated near to train station and main centre. Near to other attractions such as Tivoli. Great hotel to use as a base for centre and due to location hotel was busy. Not somewhere for peaceful getaway! However, ideal for what was intended for this trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#63 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Property: The Square Copenhagen
Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 7am-10am and weekends 7am -10:30am. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing