We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay, without hesitation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Square Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #35 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, without hesitation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We chose The Square hotel for a 3-night city break and enjoyed our time there without any hesitation. First visit to Copenhagen. Overall, the hotel occupies a good location - certainly from our perspective and needs, being very close to the top of Stroget (main shopping area), and reasonably close to canals, palaces, museums and the central rail station. Others may prefer hotels in different locations in the city such as further down in pretty Nyhavn, for example. We flew into the city and used the great train service from the airport to Copenhagen Central rail station(10 mins stroll from hotel). Also handy for a day trip on the train across 'The Bridge' to Malmo, in Sweden and on to pretty Lund. Raadhudspladsen is, as you'd imagine, a busy central point in Copenhagen with major works going on. That said, it is enjoyable and in no way a negative point in our view. It is what it is - lively and a mix of fine architecture and touristy shopping and eating places. We had anticipated that the hotel was not particularly 'pretty' from the outside. Inside, however, it was modern, calm, clean and stylish. The bedroom though small to medium in size was very clean, with a lovely functional bathroom.Though you can enter Stroget within 5 minutes from the hotel, the stroll down to Nyhavn (pretty, touristy canalside) is another 20 minutes. No problem though as the walk is enjoyable, with plenty of distractions in way of shops, squares, cafes, bars and so on. Hotel staff pleasant, efficient and no waiting at check in or out. Hotel wifi worked easily and well. Breakfast buffet (included in our deal) was better than average in our view, with good selection and taken in a light, airy room on sixth floor. There is a view across the city rooftops which is a pleasant change, though in our experience this does not compare with similar arrangements in cities such as Rome. Understandably, buffet gets busy between 0900-1000.

Room Tip: We opted for as courtyard (rather than street) view and a 2nd floor room. Though the courtyard was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    1,060
    488
    175
    75
See reviews for
432
781
145
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Square three nights in may. The staff was friendly and we upgraded to a minisuite for DKK 150,- pr night. The room was nice and clean, but the price per night was very high. The location was just perfect! Close to Tivoli, Strøget and about 1 km from Nyhavn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tiwarssilvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of the main railway station (Hovedbanegaard) which connects directly to the airport at Kastrup, main lines to all of Denmark and to Sweden via Malmö, so it's a great location. My experience of Copenhagen taxi drivers over many years is that they complain more than most, and on a world league where ten is bad, they score close to ten. I have even known them try to circumnavigate the city to increase the fares for Danish visitors from out of town. Walk if you can, and use the Jernbanegade (Railway Street) entrance which has automatic doors, unlike the entrance from Rådhuspladsen. (Town Hall Square).

It is reasonably priced (for Denmark) has a full Danish breakfast buffet with staff, which you don't always find in Danish hotel restaurants, and good views across the city from the higher floors.

The reception area has seating, a bar, and the staff are charming but busy, especially at check in time in the early evening.

The rooms are well appointed (unaccountably the shower in my last room had no shelf for soap), and the beds are comfortable.

It's a short walk to the main pedestrian streets, and there are many small restaurants nearby in all directions. Avoid those very close to Tivoli, although the restaurants in the gardens are fine, and also those at the beginning of Strøget which are very tourist oriented.

There will be building works for the new Metro line on the Rådhuspladsen side of the hotel until 2018. If you are worried about this ask for a room on Jernbanegade, but it's not a big problem. Double glazing in Denmark is usually good. I have had no problems getting a good night's sleep.

I like this hotel and it's where I have stayed the most in central Copenhagen. Just one more thing, note the resistance memorial opposite the lifts on the ground floor.

Room Tip: High rooms are good. The sixth floor has rooms with balconies, but the Jernbanegade rooms might be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4RBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a moderately priced modern hotel near Tivoli and the train station. We were glad to have rooms that connected, and it was clean and convenient, with good value for money and a nice breakfast spread. That said, I would probably try its sister hotel in Nyhaven next time, which looks like it has a bit more character and is in a much prettier spot on the water.... Also, with much of central Copenhagen being dug up for the new Metro line, there was a good deal of drilling noise. Ask for a room away from the construction.

Room Tip: A massive building project is going on next door -- ask for a room away from the construction (we ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. Close to the central station, most of the shopping, Tivoli and away from the red light district (not like a lot of the other hotels close by). The lobby and the room I had was very cool and well designed and it overlooked the large square "Rådhuspladsen". Despite being in the middle of the city there was not a lot of traffic noise.
My only minus was the breakfast buffet which was not exactly what I expected for a hotel at this price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mvanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from the central station close to the main square. The rooms are spacious, I upgraded for a few euro to a larger room on the 6th floor with a balcony at check in. The breakfast is amazing, service was of the highest quality.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in a nice single room, facing the street, in 5th floor. Everything in the room. Excellent service in the reception. A very nice place to stay! Close to everything you want to visit in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Egil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#8 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#46 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Twentyseven
First Hotel Twentyseven
#51 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#62 of 114 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Property: The Square Copenhagen
Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 7am-10am and weekends 7am -10:30am. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing