We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #34 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not that pleased”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had high expectations based on the reviews i read, however i was displeased. The bathroom was dirty the towels didn't smell so fresh and room service was also disappointing.
PROS____
Close to all the tourist places, 7 eleven, Tivoli, and Stroget
Bed was comfortable

CONS____
Bathroom was dirty
you feel that it's a business hotel
The bar is beside the reception desk
The breakfast is overpriced

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodanlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    1,078
    497
    176
    76
See reviews for
440
799
147
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The best thing about the hotel is its location.
Here you are smack in the middle of the Danish capital.

The hotel itself is okay, nothing special. The room is clean, and the bathroom in good standard. Service an approved and it is not particularly expensive.

Breakfast was disappointing with only dry goods, and extremely many people. No omelet, no bacon, sausage, no nothing! Drop the breakfast and find either one of the good cafes in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localPatronOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed three days in this hotel and is certaintly not worth its money. I found hairs on the ground not belonging to me. No plugs next to the bed for charging mobil. The rooms very small. The curtains do not close well, and you also have to close each of the three windows separtely. I was there in June and it gets light at 4:30.
Also strongly advise not to take breakfast. Chemical fruit juice, Nothing warm (eggs, a sausage). Bread, cheese and ham. Fruit and cereals.
The hotel also does not have any extras such as a simple bar, a swimming pool, gym or terrace. When you arrive you will be stuck in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robcampenhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSquare, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear ’Robcambenhout’
Thank you for your review on your stay at The Square.
I regret to hear that the cleaning did not live up to our usual standards and that you did not find the curtains in the room to close well. Please always contact the front desk at any time during your stay in order to solve any issue there and then. Our continental breakfast buffet offers a typical Danish breakfast with a variety of bread, rolls, cheeses, hams, pastry, muesli, yoghurts, boiled eggs etc. I regret to hear that it was not to your liking. At the breakfast restaurant we have a roof top terrace, our lobby bar is located next to the front desk and just outside the entrance you have Copenhagen city at your feet. It would be a shame to be stuck in the room with these opportunities and I hope you will have the options to travel here again and experience all the possibilities the city has to offer.
Yours sincerely
Jens Wittendorff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location, next to Tivoli, close to station and all main attractions of t the city. Extremly easy to find. Stayed 3 nights for bussiness. Hotel is modern, clean, big rooms, good furnished, room service is great, guys at the reception are very helpful too. Beds are extremly comfortable. After a long day and walk exploring the city you really need comfortable bed and soft pillow. This is rear case.
Breakfast is good: bread, sweets, cheese, sausages, youghurt, juices. Though i missed hot dishes, only boiled eggs are offered. Unfortunately there is no bar in the lobby where you can enjoy the drink in the evening. However hotel located very close to the main attractions so you can go for drinks there or just near by Italian restaurant or other bars.
All in all - highly recommend. Will stay here again during my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with windows not to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is situated well between busy streets and is across from the City Hall and Tivoli. The tourist center is also around the corner. It is a few blocks from the S train station.The rooms are clean and modern but the showers a bit too tiny. Beds are comfortable. We got recommendations for dinner at the Reef and Beef Australian restaurant close by and it was good! We did not get breakfast here so could not say, but, overall the stay was comfortable. Would recommend to stay here if you are here for sight-seeing.

Room Tip: choose the rooms to the back as they are quieter. There are several bars on the lower level so the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Summary:

We stayed at The Square Copenhagen for 2 nights in June 2014. We found the hotel was in the ideal location for exploring Copenhagen on a city break with all the main attractions within close proximity, especially Tivoli Gardens. The rooms are comfortable and ideal for a short stay. Our main criticism is the hotel is overpriced for what it is but this may be due to the weekend we stayed was during the Science festival and start of high season (However, in comparison to other hotels of similar star ratings and above during the same period this hotel was still higher).

Location:

The hotel is situated in a great location of Copenhagen being one block from Tivoli Gardens and the train station. The hotel looks onto the Town Hall square with the main shopping street leading to Nyhavn on the other side of the square (15 minute walk to Nyhavn). When arriving from the airport the best, quickest and cheapest way to the hotel is by train. The train from the airport only costs 34DKK (£3.74) one way and takes 20 minutes with a train departing to the central station ever 12 minutes. A taxi costs in the region of 350DKK (£38.50) from airport to hotel and takes about 25 minutes.

Hotel & Rooms:

The hotel lobby is open, bright, well decorated and modern with a bar and seating areas with chess, checkers and other games to enjoy while sitting back relaxing with a drink. The hotel is not the most attractive from the outside.

The rooms are a reasonable size, modern with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar and air conditioning. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The beds are very soft and would be better with larger pillows. The rooms do not have a safe which is a bit of an issue when you are out all day. The curtains in the room do not provide the best coverage of the windows resulting in light entering into the room in the mornings. However, the rooms do provide a comfortable stay for a short trip.

Hotel Staff:

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful throughout are stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Markw2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Square hotel is ideally situated, many restaurants, shops and Tivoli very close by. The hotel is modern and clean. Breakfast cold buffet ok. Train station is 5 mins away. We booked directly with the hotel and got a very good deal. Food and drink can we costly in Copenhagen but there are some reasonably priced restaurants. Recommend the canal trips very cheap and you get to see all the tourist areas of interest. Travel in Denmark is cheap and easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#9 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
Copenhagen Plaza Hotel
#47 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
First Hotel Kong Frederik
First Hotel Kong Frederik
#59 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#45 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Property: The Square Copenhagen
Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 7am-10am and weekends 7am -10:30am. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotelopia, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing