We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok location but that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in a superior room and was quite small. Arrived by car which is a no no as you have to park next door and no direct access from park. All parking was double parking and so we had to take all our luggage out and drag it up two floors of the parking garage. We had three sets of golf clubs and 3 pieces of luggage and was highly irritated when checking in. There are no porter services and no luggage trolleys so all in all not a good start.
Air on did not work and room smelt of curry....which is odd!
Breakfast is standard continental but nothing special.
Overall the website over sells the actual hotel and experience!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 2,574 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Rooms were not ready which was no problem but all the "upgrade" rooms were available. We upgraded so we could get in a room then and our room was exactly the same size as our friends room who did not up grade. When I checked at the desk I was told my up grade was two nice cotton robes and two pairs of slippers....
Very very small rooms and not much else. It is fairly centrally located and close to Tivoli Garden. It was clean and staff was pretty helpful. Bad taste in the mouth about the pushing of the upgrade. Have no problem with small rooms but felt very deceived on the "upgrade".

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Perfect location for Tivoli Gardens and the main train station. We had a family room which was sufficient for us, a family of 4. We had a double and sofa bed. The sofa bed was not the most comfortable and the sheet was too small for the mattress so the children woke up on bare mattress which was not very nice.
The double bed was comfortable. Room was air-conditioned but only just...it was still warm especially with winter grade duvets on the bed in the height of summer!
The room and en-suite were clean (and I am very fussy! - I even checked under the beds!) The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the housekeeping staff.
Our biggest complaint was the open window in our 3rd floor family room (room 332). One window opens on to the street, which is fine and nice to be able to ventilate the room. However it's a large window which opens fully and is situated right next to the open sofa bed for children. An adult would have no problem being able to jump out of this window so you can imagine our fear at what the children could do. It could not lock and therefore makes us unable to recommend this as a safe option for a family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NatashaWoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Objectively this is a great location in Copenhagen, shot walk away from majors attractions in the city. Certainly the real plus point of this property! Room are small, cluttered with oversized furniture! Mattresses are too soft, so quality of sleep not at all commensurate with rates charged!
Service is friendly though. There must be better alternative in this wonderful city!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived at our hotel around 2pm. Our room was ready, so we went straight up and dropped our luggage. The room was clean and very welcoming! The staff was wonderful and the location was perfect! We took the HoHo bus around the city, then got off at the canal tour and walked back up to Tivoli Garden, which was just around the corner from our hotel. Very convenient! The breakfast was the best! Very European and very tasty! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were on the street side of the hotel and had no problem with the noise. I don't think you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joyy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived at 10.30 am and were told our room was not ready before 3pm.
Too late, we think.
We upraded to a superior room, but got only a small sofa to sit on and 2 very narrow beds.
We are thin and small people, nevertheless the beds were bad and the madrasses very soft.
Service at the front desk was not good. Too long to wait for help, and a few times we were given the wrong information, like the wrong bus stop.

Breakfast was good, so was the breakfast room, clean and tidy most of the time. The service there, especially the young hard workers, were very good.
But Square Hotel needs more people at work.
Especially at the front desk.
Some was in a bad mood too and seemed not to like their jobs.
Shame on you Arp Hansen. We love and come very often to Copenhagen and have stayed in most of your hotels.
We never come back to Square.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back yard is quiet. Always Upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AKTC190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSquare, Direktør at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear ’AKTC190479’
Thank you for your review of your stay.
As many hotels in Scandinavia and in Europe in general, our check out time is 12 noon and check in time is 3pm. If we have available rooms upon our guests’ arrival we of course are happy to check you in, otherwise we offer luggage storage until your room is ready, in order for you to go out and explore Copenhagen. This of course goes for all of our 12 hotels, as I can see that you have visited others you might have come upon this information before.
Our Superior rooms are available with either twin beds or one double bed. Please never hesitate to contact the front desk with any preferences and/or requests of bed type etc., even after having checked in, as we of course want to accommodate your preferences.
I regret to hear that you found the waiting time too long at the front desk. We try our best to keep up with our many guests and answer their questions correctly. I apologize if you did not find the bus stop where we pointed you to.
I am happy to hear that you have tried most of our hotels and hope that you have found your favourite.
Yours Sincerely
Jens Wittendorff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel, before a Baltic cruise. We booked a Triple room and an Executive Room. The triple room was quite small with uncomfortable beds but the executive rime was spacious, with comfortable beds and nice views. The bathrooms were nice. The breakfast was typical for a 4 star European hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent, right into the centre and within walking distance from and some beautiful streets in Copenhagen. I would stay in this hotel again, as long as I had an Executive room. The price (194 euros per room) was very good, considering how expensive Copenhagen is.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room. It worths the extra money. Executive rooms are more spacious, with more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,287 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,350 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#53 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,137 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#28 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £107 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Square Hotel- a cool and trendy oasis in the heart of Copenhagen Hotel The Square is a central located hotel, just in front of the City Hall Square, with all attractions within easy reach and with Copenhagen Central Station just around the corner. The Hotel's minimalist style invites to a warm and quiet atmosphere and the hotel staff is known for friendly and welcoming service around the clock. There are a total of 268 rooms, spread over several room categories in which everyone has; aircoolingsystem, free Internet/WiFi, coffee/the set, minibar and more. There is the option of room service all week 7am-10am and 6pm-22pm. On the sixed floor in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the town, you can enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet. Open weekdays 6:30am-10am and weekends 7am -11:00am. On our sixed floor you will also find our exclusive Executive lounge where you can enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee with snacks if you need to work in our silence and warm atmosphere. You have our lounge included in our price if you book our executive rooms or our junior suties. If these categories are not booked, you can of course always buy access to our lounge for DKK 190,- per person per day. There are 4 meeting- and conference rooms at the hotel which has various application possibilities, depending on the purpose. As a guest of the hotel, you have the opportunity, at cost, to use parking facilities around the hotel. Check-in can be made from 3pm and check-out time 12 noon. If you are in a hurry you can take advantage of our express check-out service. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing