We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average in every way!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Skt. Petri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skt. Petri
Ranked #30 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Göteborg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average in every way!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had quite high expectations for my stay here and unfortunately it didn’t meet them in anyway, now here’s the thing, nothing is bad! But at the same time nothing is wow or special which I have come to expect in 5 star hotels.

The rooms are clean and spacious but rather dull and the same goes pretty much for the whole hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful but I can’t say we had much interaction as we spent little time in the hotel.

No real idea how it became a 5 star, but ok business hotel/no frills if you get a cheap deal

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, Gæsteansvarlig at Skt. Petri, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing SKT. PETRI during your visit to Copenhagen.

I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations but I am glad to hear that you where happy with the service of our wonderful staff, the cleanliness and spacious rooms.

Hope to welcome you back another time.

Kind regards,

Michael Andersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    723
    405
    165
    113
See reviews for
257
823
78
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Well, I absolutely share the views of others in just how this place managed to get 5 Stars. I stay in a lot of hotels and this place is nowhere near 5 stars. There are so many reasons why this place is either 4 stars or less it would take me for ever to list but here is a sample. Diffident check in staff, no attempt to help us with luggage, Novatel breakfast, rooms are not that special [comfy beds though] bathroom looked a bit tired in our case [404].
On the plus side the bar is excellent and so is the café by the entrance. Its central location is also a great bonus but for me I will be staying elsewhere on my next visit. The building is a converted department store and it looks like it. The owner goes on a lot about being environmentally sensitive but in my view he is using the environmental bandwagon to justify providing a decidedly quirky hotel with dodgy facilities and average service. I think it is probably cynical manipulation of people who might be really concerned about the environment.
As a final swipe, the barn like areas which contains the reception and dining area is acoustically very noisy and when we arrived, there was a party going on which was incredibly noisy and could be heard throughout the hotel.
My advice is to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumpole70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, Gæsteansvarlig at Skt. Petri, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing SKT. PETRI during your visit to Copenhagen.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointments that you experienced during your stay with us. It was never our intention to cause that much disruption upon arrival. We do from time to time host fashion and charity events etc. in the lobby.

We are expecting to start a bigger renovation later this year, so I truly hope we will be able to present a new, modern and even more environmental SKT. PETRI, next time you are in Copenhagen.

We do strive to be a green Hotel and are certified by The Green Key.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Andersen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Well, spent there 2 nights (14 and 15/03) all payed by an agency but then charged of 1300€ two days after checkout on my credit card; wrote to the hotel sever emails, result 0 answers and still 1300€ debit on my card! When calling the answer is always "we will take care of it sir!" But then nothing! Is this a 5 stars hotel or what?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A good stay in a solid but no frills hotel. The balcony in the room was a really nice touch, with good views form the top floor. The design is fairly minimalist but the breakfast, location and staff were all good. Recommended.

Room Tip: Higher room with a balcony had good views and is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkyb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent one night here on business and quite liked the place. Had a decent room which was warm clean and comfortable - only arrived to check in at midnight and staff were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was very satisfying and I also had a late afternoon meal in the adjacent cafe which I thought was great. Company paid so can't really comment on value for money but I would stay there again if in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricaToWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'm staying now for 3 nights in this hotel. And booked this hotel because I was looking for 5* hotel. I spend 20 days a moth in hotels and I've been in many hotels in Europe. Usually I book very good hotels and I have enough experience to tell difference between 4* and 5*.

This is not 5* by far. It is bit upgraded standard Scandinavian hotel. There are no so called "Design" things they advertise themselves with. Or I'm blind to scandinavian "design".

Biggest problem is that I've booked superior room but got the smallest room on the floor - 417 - it is easy to check this in fire evacuation plan.

It has nothing real 5* hotel should have. Ok it has poor minibar of overpriced drinks. But what else?

Breakfast is very simple, same you will get in Scandic for the half of price. Food and service should be exceptional in 5 star hotel. Waiters are only taking dished off the tables, but not serving people.

Restaurant is around the same price level as in the center of Copenhagen. But they don't have
tablecloths and tables are not prepared for guests. Menu is ultra simple. And food is average for this kind of restaurant. Prices are 30-40 euro for main course. Waitresses are young and not very experienced. They try to be very engaging but talk more than do. You can see them running around but you have to wait for 10 min at least to get some attention. Either there are not enough of them, or they don't work efficiently.

Rooms are simple and scandinavian style. They don't have carpets inside - it is so annoying and not cozy. However rooms are not weary and there is no mold in bathroom.

Showers don't have any curtains. That's unbelievable - after taking shower whole bathroom is wet and you can't do anything else before it dries.

There is no real closet. only some sort of open rack.

They have only one advantage - location. Location is perfect.


My final tip - if you are looking for something special and you are use to real luxury of real 5 star hotel - this is not hotel for you.

But if you want to pay extra (I mean double) for very good location and get decent scandinavian hotel. Then it is ok.

Generally speaking It's rip off - you'd better look for decent hotels in Vesterbo, you will get same for much better price.

Maybe I'm spoiled by extremely good luxurious hotels from Budapest to Singapore. Or I just don't want to participate in this scandinavian or should i say spartan self-deception by calling casual and primitive things luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a better room. Don't go to 417 if you booked superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antanas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've just spent one night here. It is in a very good location to visit everything by foot. The staff are very friendly and helpful. As it was a flying visit I didn't use any of the facilities so I can't comment apart from breakfast which was ok.
The negative sides I found were that they use very soft pillows only, that's great if you prefer them but if you prefer a firm pillow you don't have the option, I rang reception to ask but they said they don't have any. Not good enough for a 5 star hotel.
There are also no tea & coffee making facilities in the room, little comforts that go along way and should always be made available in a 5star hotel. If I was going back for a longer period, it's not a hotel I would choose.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 427, it has a pillar through the middle of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Manager at Skt. Petri, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Greetings from Copenhagen and thank you for choosing to stay at Skt Petri while visiting Copenhagen.
Your feedback and friendly comments about our staff is highly appreciated.

I regret to learn that that we were not able to provide you with a pillow of your satisfaction. I will make sure that an alternative pillow options is made available.

Tea and coffee is available from Room Service 24 hours, but we will consider to have in room tea and coffee facilities as an add on in the room.

I hope to welcome you back to Skt. Petri another time.

Kind regards,

Louise
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel SP34
Hotel SP34
#24 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skt. Petri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skt. Petri

Property: Skt. Petri
Address: Krystalgade 22, Copenhagen 1172, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#30 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Skt. Petri 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skt. Petri is your key to Copenhagen. The elegant hotel is situated in the middle of the vibrant Latin Quarter in central Copenhagen, close to shopping and with easy access to the airport. With 268 luxury rooms, some of which have a balcony or terrace, Skt. Petri truly puts the city towers at your feet. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi, to cool down and stay connected. The unique hotel creates the perfect frame for a contemporary lifestyle, accompanied by the hotel's excellent service and gastronomy. In the panoramic grand room at the heart of Skt. Petri, the Central Kitchen restaurant is perfect for modern-day diners seeking high quality and an easy-going environment. The legendary Bar Rouge continues to light up the late hours in the Latin Quarter with its winning combination of perfectly-served cocktails and guests from around the world. Skt. Petri is a proud member of Design Hotels, and a truly inspirational hotel - the Danish mindset at the service of discerning global travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skt. Petri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Skt Petri
Skt Petri Hotel
Skt Petri Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing