We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #38 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend at the end of August. The hotel is in a good location and was closer to the city centre than we had first thought - about a 10 minute walk.

Check in was very easy and staff were friendly, and offered a free drink on arrival which was a nice touch. The room was okay, not very new or modern but had some character. The bed was huge but they had to single mattresses and duvets on a double bed - I'm not sure if this is normal in Denmark, looking at some photos it seems all rooms were like this...we had a balcony which was nice too, although the weather was not great so couldn't really make use of it. The bathrooms was not very nice and needs a shower curtain - other than that was a very pleasant stay,

On check out noticed that there is a card charge for all cards which was not mentioned before hand (we paid cash anyway but thought I would point this out). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as seemed expensive and for the price you can go to come very nice cafe's etc in the city centre.

Overall a good hotel and a good stay, although if I went back I would rush back to this place and would have a look around to see if there is anything better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is fairly close to the central train station (10-15 min walk) and while it is the 'wrong' way for most sights and the central part of the city it is still a good location. The hotel is however on Vesterbrogade which is a rather lively street with noise from both traffic and people so if staying at a low floor facing the street it may be disturbing.

The entrance to the hotel is difficult to find and it requires entering through a gate,then finding the door (need either code or press button for front desk). Staff were friendly and check-in was pretty fast. Welcome drink is offered - nice little touch to make one feel welcome.

The room was neither big nor small and had a certain charm. It was however apparent that it was not new and it would not really hurt to make an effort to modernize it. The negative things were that the safe was very small (possible to fit my ipad in there but my small netbook did not fit) and the shower did not have a shower curtain and most importantly the wifi was not working (complained but never worked -tried 4 different computers/mobile devices):

Otherwise a decent option for a night in Copenhagen. Rooms are good enough and price is also decent to be Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

opened 24 hours? What a joke a guaranteed booking was made and their booking stated open 24 hours. Sttod infronmt of the main iron gate had to use my mobile phone to dial a number late at night. Got a code that allowed me to enter the iron gate and the main door. Had to go to a "secret" place to find my key for the room. I would expect service for check-in if it says open 24 hours, especially if you are tiered and arrived late.

Shower without shower curtain, I did want toi take a shower but i did not expect to swim in the bathroom!

Carpet with a hole! May be good to go for a partial revamp.

No sound prrof windoes to the street. And Vesperbrogade is busy at night as well!
Not easy to find to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoBuJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Charming and tiny hotel with good location (it’s about 10-15 minutes walk to the heart of city-center). Staff was very friendly. Room itself has interesting design. The only thing negatively surprised was the shower cubicle, which has no curtain and all the water came out on the floor… it’s interesting why they didn’t put it ;)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natia_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The best thing about this hotel - is the location, being fairly close to the Central Station and Tivoli as well.
On the other hand, the room I got, a double-bedroom, was not that impressive: old and extensively used furniture, a very small window, no air conditioning. Also, the cleanliness was not impecable. Small bathroom also, but nice and comfortable.
I was a bit disappointed that the WiFi is charged a daily fee, and also... the breakfast was not included in the price (quite expensive breakfast there).
All in all, not a bad hotel - but a bit disappointing for those 3* (or even 4* on some websites).

Room Tip: the street side building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

the internet hardly works and hair conditioner was not provided by the hotel. also, breakfast was not included (and very expensive), despite the review in the rick steves book saying it was included.

I do like the location though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottsjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuldsmedenHotel, Public Relations Manager at 66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear Mr/Ms Scottsjackson,

we are sorry that you did not appreciate you stay with us. Our internet solution is normally very well-functioning and efficient, so this is surprising - we will look into it, and see if we can improve on it.
We don´t understand your comment about the hair conditioner - it is, of course, always included, along with the full range of organic signature Guldsmeden products in all bathrooms. If, for some reason, your room didn´t have conditioner, you could simply have mentioned it at reception.
Regarding the breakfast, we are not familiar with Rick Steves or his books - but breakfast has not been included for several years now, and there´s a good reason for this: we have made breakfast an extra, instead of raising the room rates and including the meal - in this manner our guests are free to choose to have breakfast at one of the many cafés in the neighborhood instead.
Our breakfast is not pricy compared to the cost of having brunch in a traditional café, and we differ in that the food available to our guests is 100% organic, and our suppliers are hand-picked for their excellent products. We put a lot of effort and care into making our signature brunch a healthy, delicious and different experience, which is highly appreciated by most of our guests.
We hope this helps you to understand our position on breakfast - best from all of us at the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed two nights at Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden in June and really enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent, beds comfy and rooms reasonably clean. The hotel is only a 10 min walk from the central station and there are many nice restaurants nearby, for example Paté Paté in the nearby Meatpacking district.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VasvasStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#53 of 118 in Copenhagen
479 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,193 reviews
Frederiksberg
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
Avenue Hotel Copenhagen
#1 of 6 in Frederiksberg
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £90 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your 66 Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing