We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hippie vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hippie vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were accommodating with our late arrival and left a nice note for us with helpful info. Our room had a balcony which was nice. The rooms were adequately sized by European standards. I liked the organic/hippie theme in the rooms and common areas and the use of organic soaps etc. We did have some issues. I would agree with other reviewers that lack of air conditioning is an issue and it was for us even in autumn. Also our safe did not appear to be working. On value for money, I felt the charge of approximately 150 DKK each per day for the buffet was steep and seemed like a way to get more money from you. It added almost 20% to the cost of our stay. Why not reward hotel guests having breakfast the option to pay with your room at a reduced cost? Breakfast inclusion is pretty much industry standard and the breakfast didn't reflect a standard above a normal buffet to me. For this price it should be a la carte, proper espresso coffee, etc. The walk from central station to the hotel is fine provided you are used to cobbled european streets. With some AC and a better breakfast deal this hotel would get 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Ninja_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    258
    102
    35
    16
See reviews for
77
265
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

our usual hotel in Copenhagen was full, so we took this instead.... location good , only 5 mins walk to main railway station and lots of nice small pubs/restaurants/bars in the neighborhood..
Very enthusiastic personnel... they love their job , the only hotel with e green organic badge.... 100^% organeic breakfast ++++. If you ask for a regular beer (like Carlsberg), they look strange at you, they have organic beer, that's ok.. Their organic snaps is more like rocket fuel mixed with nuclear waste, however are you in a lethal mood, this may be the thing that suits...
Standard is ok, rooms lovely decorated with personal style, cow hides etc on the four poster bed... Food a bit pricey, however all in all worth a try

Room Tip: 110 facing street however no noise and nicely decorated, see picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Bloodaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not the usual typical chain type hotel. Much more individual and good decor.Good location and comfortable clean and quiet room. Staff super helpful when I presented a concern. US travelers take note these are European rooms and are not as large as in the USA but are quite adequate . The showers are small and the bathroom but who cares you are not going to be in there all day. Overall I would rate this as above average. Note no AC but large opening windows. Also although close to central station walking is only good if you have one small case. Get a taxi for more luggage and also finding the place.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel in the new section are quieter but maybe not as big as the older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaC120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My rating for this hotel would be better if the weather had not been so warm in Copenhagen the week I was there. The hotel is situated on a main street but is set back with the entrance off the street. It is convenient to restaurants in the vicinity, stores and supermarkets. The hotel itself appears very clean with wood floors and nice furnishings.The room is a reasonable size but the bathroom has a lack of storage. The main problem really concerns one's ability to get a good night's sleep. First the room was exceedingly warm. I encountered one of the staff putting together some fans and commented that I could really use one for my room and he just laughed. I understand some people got fans so am not sure why I did not. The one window was not sufficient to cool off the room and one would have had to leave the door open in order to generate a breeze. Compounding the problem was the fact that for odd-numbered rooms there was a bar about 30 yards from the hotel and the noise was extremely loud and continued until early morning. One had to choose between no sleep due to the noise or no sleep due to the heat! As well, the amount of light that would come into the room at sunrise was pretty intense.
There is an eating area, although I didn't have breakfast there but they do have coffee and tea available most of the day. There are also a few seating areas both indoors and outdoors although they were usually used by smokers. I would go back in cooler weather but never in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESVancouver_B_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you like to travel and experience something different from a sterile (albeit consistent) big-box chain hotel then this is the place for you. The Carlton Guldsmelden is in the trendy Vesterbero section of the city surrounded by many cool restaurants (check out Organic around the corner for great lunch or dinner) and boutiques. We are a family of five who booked two adjoining rooms and stayed before and after a Baltic Sea cruise in July. The hotel is eco-friendly, very green (note: the bath towels are "different" - I loved them, my husband did not). The bathrooms are a tad small but efficient. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are immaculate and peaceful. We did not indulge in the breakfast buffet, but it looked fantastic. The BEST part about this hotel is that they rent bikes - they are located in their back garden. We spent the entire last day biking around all of Copenhagen. It was magical. You must do this if you have the chance-how many major cities exist in the world where you can do this? We biked to Tivoli Gardens, spent the evening, and biked back. This hotel was a very good value and again provides a unique experience within a wonderful and also unique city.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back facing the garden. We had one in front on the street and one in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinB843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel was OK. Don't expect much, as other reviewers have pointed out, there is no aircon, the rooms are quite small, they are expensive for what you get and the bathrooms are definitely below par, both in size and in facilities.

There was a very small shower, with an old, damp smelling shower curtain which was too small to cover the opening. The towels aren't actually towels - they feel more like flanneled and cheap tea towels, made from 'organic' products. There's also no extractor fan, so the bathroom gets very steamy, and no storage in the bathroom (no shelves, room around the sink, no room in the shower to put your toiletries).

The double bed isn't a double bed, it's two single beds, with two single duvets. The pillows are bad quality and small. The rooms are so small there's only one functioning bedside table, the other is turned on its side so you cannot open the drawers.

There's a large desk in the room, with a very large chair that doesn't fit under it, which takes up a lot of room. Some rooms also look out to a carpark some buildings, I think there's a bar or something in this area as it can get very noisy in the early hours.

Strangely, there is a very big, fancy smart TV in the room. Doesn't really go with the whole 'balinese' ambiance they're trying to create, but it's good.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, and we had a nice terrace. The location is good. The outside space near the reception area is good. The WIFI is reliable and speedy. There are a few nice restaurants and bakeries nearby.

Overall, I probably would not stay again. It felt far too cramped, too hot, the bathroom was pretty bad. The whole experience was not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis mo
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here based on a review in a travel book and it turned out to be a lovely place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable and clean. There is no AC, so if you are expecting very hot weather you want to take that into consideration. On our stay in August it was not a problem for us. The location is very convenient; walking distance from Tivoli, train station, many sights, etc. Very nice breakfast offered at a nominal price each morning. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#41 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#21 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing