We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #34 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This place is just wonderful and superb value. We had a superior double which was beautifully done out with a pleasant outlook to the court yard and roof tops. The bath room wasn't very big, but the bath was fantastic. We could both fit in very comfortably and there was no tap end!
The staff were extremely helpful and just the right level of friendly. Everything was clean and fresh and stylishly set out. When we go back to Copenhagen we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and if we go to a place that has a Guldsmeden we will definitely look at staying there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank moffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    268
    103
    36
    16
See reviews for
78
275
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed at the Carlton Guldsmeden for two nights in family room #227 and was generally very pleased.

I've tried the other Guldsmeden hotels in Copenhagen (Axel and Bertrand) before. The Carlton property has the same beautiful style and relaxed atmosphere, and is also within easy walking distance from the railway station. Both the room (with ample space to sit and lie down) and the cantina/lobby area were perfect for just chilling out. The Guldsmeden group makes the organic concept work nicely without being preachy.

The one bit I didn't care for was the bathroom, which was too small, had little storage space around the sink and no shelves in the shower.

I would highly recommend the Carlton Guldsmeden for anyone looking for a down-to-earth boutique hotel experience in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Guldsmeden is a nice small hotel, but nothing really special. The location is OK, about 1 km from Tivoli -but to the direction away from the main attractions. So, be prepared to walk a bit if you want to see the attractions. There are some good restaurants nearby and the hotel also offers good food. The breakfast room is rather small and during the busy season got quite crowded and the staff had trouble keeping up with the flow (resulting in food running out at times). All food is biodynamic. Rooms are quite small. We had two adults and two children under 10, and we ended up taking two double rooms. The staff is very friendly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank samiiarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is clean, cosy and in a central location. We were on the top floor which was lovely for New Years eve - seeing all the amazing fireworks over the city. The staff went out of their way to help us and give us advice on what to see and where to go. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Seems to be in a private wonderful house. Really warm and pleasant. Rooms comfortable and very stilish.
Only 5 mins by walk from central city station. 15 mins from really city center.

Absolutely recommended for visiting city and have a good time in a familiar place

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very organic with clean rooms and a nice bar area. You can rent bikes but it is quite expensive. The breakfasts are very good. Lots of organic food and you can make your own tea. The bathrooms in the room contain free organic shampoo and the hotel has a shop where you can buy all their organic products. The rooms are well furnished but quite small this hotel is perfect for a short stay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank maurink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice rooms, but terrible noise. Our room was located directly next to the bar's smoking area... hearing middle aged drunken conversations all night was not what we hoped for.

Add to that a slamming main door audible to all rooms on the first floor, and you can expect a better night's sleep on the aeroplane home.

We live on a main road in central London, I'm used to noise, but the din from the front door and smoking area was just unbearable.

Wish we had gone for any of the (many) other options in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Don't allow them to put you on the first floor if you plan to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BittK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuldsmedenHotel, Front Office Manager at Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear BittK,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Carlton Guldsmeden Hotel. We fully understand that you were bothered by the noise, and would like to explain a little bit about what happened during your stay at the Hotel.

We had a very large group of guests from the creative and cultural "industry" staying with us during your stay. They decided to gather in our common area after their working hours ended – which unfortunately was past most people´s bedtime…

We were a bit unprepared for this improvised party, and we are very sorry that they have disturbed your sleep. We will of course inform future guests to be more considerate in their use of the balconies after midnight to ensure that our other guests can get a good nights´ sleep when staying with us.

Kind regards,
Carlton Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,884 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#43 of 116 in Copenhagen
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,348 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,279 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#23 of 116 in Copenhagen
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing