We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #36 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A unique hotel experience”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This is a fun place to stay - the recycle/organic/'let's look after this planet of ours' approach was subtle yet apparent with the non toweling towels being a big discussion point prior to the first shower - post shower, we understood and I would highly recommend. The hotel is located in a busy little part of the city, close enough to walk to the central station and in close proximity to supermarkets, cafe's and excitingly a laundromat. As others have mentioned the rooms (we were on the top floor) did heat up during the day and took a long time to cool down in the evenings which meant the window had to be opened - this would have been fine had the whole of Copenhagen not been drunkenly partying in the surrounding bars until the wee hours - an electric fan perhaps would have solved the problem,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingewnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    262
    103
    36
    16
See reviews for
78
267
37
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel has to be the amazingly comfortable beds (we both now want to buy the same duvet!). Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. They were very well equipped with fridge, safe, large tv and four poster bed. Shower gets top marks, even though the slow draining nearly led to a slight flood.

Restaurant area was beautifully furnished in a quirky style with outdoor terraces to sit and relax including our favourite the wicker pod chair.

Breakfast looked lovely but we decided to give it a miss due to the price... Nearby there is a supermarkets and a delicious bakery/ coffee shop for an alternative breakfast.

Despite requesting to check in early due to our early flight from England, we were unable to do this which was a shame. However, the staff were always very friendly and helpful with local advice.

A good location about 6-10 minutes walk from the station/ tivoli gardens and nightlife at Gammel strand (20 mins walk). There was also a great row of restaurants a few doors down from hotel.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPEPHRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This place is great. The staff friendly, the location amazing (very close to train station) with quick access to transportation, restaurants, and pretty much everything in the city. We stayed on the top floor in one of the attic type rooms and it was cozy and comfortable and really well appointed.

Rooms were clean, bathrooms well appointed and comfortably sized.

Add the breakfast buffet - it was cozy and the selection of vittles was interesting and tasty.

We will be staying here again on our next trip for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor attic type rooms...if you are super tall this won't work because ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jd74ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Clean, Friendly, Definitely NOT cookie cutter and fantastic! Rooms are cozy and food is good, but the best is the people! They are fantastic, Unfortunately, I couldn't get a room for my trip next April.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oubookgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

First time to Copenhagen and the stay was acceptable. Checked in late at night and stayed in room 114 with a balcony that neighboured the bar. Initially I'd hoped we might be on a higher floor as you tend to get pretty intimate with guests using the bar balcony but the night staff told us the hotel was fully booked and to inquire in the morning which we didn't bother to do - amazing what a good sleep will do for your tolerance. In hindsight I'd have asked to be moved since the smoke from the bar drifts right into your room while you're trying to sleep. We ended up closing the balcony door on a few occasions but the rooms get warm in the summer so you just have to suck it up and remember its Europe - everyone smokes. The location is pretty good for sightseeing, central station and restaurants so no problems there. We rented the hotels bikes for two days and toured the entire city (highly recommended). Took a short time to figure out the bike etiquette but we managed.

The room is quaint and hospitable but was tough to manage two large suitcases with its size/layout. The complaints you'll read about the towels are accurate if you're hoping for a hilton/Sheraton type experience - this place is not trying to be that type of hotel and it's very evident. I'd suggest they put hand soap in the bathroom since you keep having to move the container of body shampoo between the sink and shower but I presume it's due to their sustainability effort.

I would stay here again if I came through Copenhagen. I'd recommend that anyone travelling to Denmark for the first time keep in mind that the hotel culture is different and there's a big focus on minimalism, reduction of waste and sustainability. This hotel embraces those values and doesn't try to be an American hotel chain.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On our first day at the hotel, we went out site seeing and when we came back our electronics were stolen (laptop computer, 2 iPads, and iPhone). Hotel not helpful and denied responsibility and claimed intruders from the outside broke in. Will write a review every day to ensure no one stays in this hotel -- our stay here ruined our two week European vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 14traveler1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuldsmedenHotel, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 14Traveler1414,

this situation has taken up a great deal of time and effort on our part, and we feel compelled to tell the whole story as seen from our point of view. Firstly, in the 15-year history of the Carlton Guldsmeden, we have never experienced a similar situation, and we believe that we could not have handled it any better – we have of course supported you every step of the way.

What we know happened is this: When you arrived at the hotel in the morning around 10:00, our receptionist at Carlton Guldsmeden Hotel did her best to accommodate you, and gave you a room ready immediately, although our normal check-in time is from 14:00. You then spent several hours at the hotel, before leaving to explore the city. You came back in the late evening. During that time, it is your claim that your room was broken into and robbed of all electronics. No other rooms have been disturbed in any way during this time.
The first thing to do in a situation like this is, of course, to contact the police and file a report, which we immediately helped you with. The police investigated the premises together with you and a staff member, and established that there was no obvious signs of forced entry, which is not to say that it was impossible for professional thieves to have gained access. Only thing is, why would only your room be impacted?

There was only a handful of well-established, trusted employees present at hotel during the hours you were absent from the hotel. We have, of course, performed a thorough internal investigation, and have not come to the conclusion that any employees should be suspected of wrongdoing. And, as mentioned above, we have had no other reports of items missing from rooms at any point.

We are, quite simply, at a loss to come up with a reasonable explanation, but we do feel that we acted as correctly and supportively of you as we possibly could – we bent over backwards to help and comfort you. We helped you with the police, who explained to you – as did we – that it is your own personal insurance that covers any losses from hotel rooms. This is not singular to us, but completely normal procedure in all hotels, as the opportunity to commit fraud would be overwhelming, if the hotels should cover the expenses for thefts in hotel rooms.

As you did not wish to remain at the Carlton Guldsmeden, we moved you to our sister hotel, the Babette Guldsmeden, put you up for 4 days free of charge, and gave you all the time, help, sympathy and attention that you asked for. We understand that you requested being moved back to the area of Vesterbro, at our other hotel Axel Guldsmeden. However the Axel Guldsmeden was fully booked on all double rooms that weekend, and your request of being moved to the penthouse suite, was not possible for us to comply with, but other than that, we could not have done any more for you!
Just to recap: we are completely assured that our team at the Carlton Guldsmeden are trustworthy, and not a threat to us or our guests. We have gone through our property and identified any possible means of entry, no matter how far-fetched, and secured them extensively. We are therefore sure that we can offer our future guests as safe and secure a stay as it is humanly possible to do.
Finally, we do hope that your review was written in a state of emotion, as it would of course not be legal for you to write multiple reviews of one experience, with the sole aim of harassing us and our livelihood.
We wish you happy traveling in the future! Best from the Guldsmeden Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I don't understand how can a hotel charge you above 100 Euros and still no air conditioning available (although bugs are), no breakfast included (another 25 Euros), and finally a poor lobby.
The hotel front desk staff is nice, but room service is quite deficient (missed cleaning our room one day when we left early in the morning).
The front desk resembles the 70's in Copenhagen.
The front desk is in the second floor, and elevator doesn't go there. Either way you must use the stairs (up or down), with no alternative for impaired people.
And finally the pearl.... you have to carry a metal key with you for the whole day.
Guys, wake up! Competition is there and you need to catch up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuldsmedenHotel, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mr. Roberto324,
in response to your review of our hotel, we have a few observations to make: first of all, 100 euros for a hotel room is a really good price in Copenhagen, and if you got a room with us at this rate, you have received a lot of value for your money!
In regards to the airconditioning, the Guldsmeden Hotels operate according to strictly sustainable guidelines, and airconditioning is not compatible with this. In Denmark, the weather is very rarely hot enough to justify airconditioning. We of course provide fans for all rooms.
As for the breakfast: Our breakfast is 100% organic and very plentiful - and in accordance with our sustainability programme, we work very hard to minimize food waste. Having breakfast included in the rate is a sure way to throwing out lots of wonderful food, as we are forced to prepare for the eventuality of all guests coming to breakfast. Also, not including breakfast in the rate makes it possible for us to sell our stays at a lower price, and Copenhagen is expensive enough as it is.
We find it strange, if our housekeeping staff should have forgotten your room - the hotel is not that big, and oversights are not common. Did you perhaps forget to take off the Do Not Disturb sign, while you were out? The front desk - hmmm, have you been to Denmark in the 70´s? That was completely different from what we look like ;-).. But when all´s said and done, we do understand that for guests who are used to a more generic hotel experience, the Guldsmeden Hotels are different - we pride ourselves on our good hostmanship and informal atmosphere, good organic food and Balinese/Nordic decor - and we can only encourage all travellers to really research their hotels before booking! Look at their website, check out their values and then decide. This makes for happy campers everywhere :-). Best from all of us at the Carlton Guldsmeden
P.S. You just leave the key at the reception, when you´re out - no need for you to carry it around all day..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#43 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing