We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a very good location”
Review of Gentofte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gentofte Hotel
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewed 8 August 2013

It was a very nice hotel in a lovely setting. Very easy to get to Copenhagen but also near a park and lake for an evening stroll. The staff was very friendly and keen to make your stay a nice experience. As an example, after I had checked out I went to the gym and they still let me borrow their towels and offered me toiletries. I stayed there because of work 3 times over three weeks and they made it feel like home away from home. The rooms were pleasant decorated and had all the amenities your need. The breakfast was good and the restaurant had great food. All together a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: I would go for rooms on the second floor and not the "upgrade" rooms. The second floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteenEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

It is a small hotel with nice and clean but small rooms (3 rd floor). No air conditioner so in summer you have to sleep with the windows opened and some bugs may get in. The surroundings are VERY quiet, not much to do or see but the train station is near (7 mins walking) from where you can take the train to downtown or airport. The food is good, not so expensive, the breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenatoCortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

+ good value
+ free parking
+ free wifi
+ good breakfast (free)
+ pleasant staff
+ rooms were fairly spacious
+ fairly quiet rooms, you could hear the toilet flushing upstairs and TV very slightly from next door but that was it.
+ pleasant leafy suburb

- rooms were a bit worn down. Fixtures and fittings missing in the bathroom, limescale, but generally an ok standard. This is the only thing that really let the hotel down. I had ordered a standard room and chose to upgrade to a superior room on a higher floor for 100kr when we arrived. Was glad I did once I saw the room as I think I would have been disappointed with a room of a lower standard.
- it feels like a bit of a trek into central copenhagen. The train station is only 10 mins walk away and it takes just 20 mins so it's not a huge deal, but the transport is so expensive in CPH (70-80kr return train ticket)... On the plus side at least you feel safe walking home at night, not sure I would have if I had stayed closer to the central station. And the free parking is a huge bonus.
- the rooms were pretty hot at night, no ventilation or AC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Perfect place to stay especially for business and when visiting family in the area. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bath was modern and very clean, and overall, the hotel is very quiet. Breakfast was fantastic. Only thing missing I could have used is a clock.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobBrammer, General Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words which is a great motivation for our daily work. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had lived in the Copenhagen area for many years and were back to visit family and friends. We were looking for a good, quiet, reasonably priced hotel with car parking. Our room was clean, modern and quiet. The breakfast buffet was simple but adequate, with a selection of cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, breads and rolls and - on the morning we were there - soft-boiled eggs and Scandinavian pancakes. Good coffee. The staff was polite and helpful. The train station is a 5-10 minute walk away, and the train to Copenhagen centre takes about 15 minutes. The hotel has (free) parking, a rare amenity for the Copenhagen area. For exercise, Gentofte Lake, circled by a walking/jogging/cycling path, is nearly next door. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECP135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobBrammer, General Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, this is what we strive for every day. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This was our 4th stay here. Price has not increase significantly and by booking on their own web-site we had 10 % discount on the dinners. Hotel semed to be fully booked so it can be quite busy at breakfast. The staff was paying attention and filled up the buffet alln the time.
The dinner menu is limited, but what is there is good. Also the house-red-wine was good value.
THis hotel has free parking in the backyard and free WiFI Internet.
For people coming by car this is close to a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ragnarotterstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacobBrammer, General Manager at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks for the warm feedback. This is a great motivation for our daily work. We look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th stay;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The hotel was clean, and well presented etc.
The food was very nice, although the menu limited (I had room service)
Breakfast was rather confusing, so staff on hand to help you (Perhaps this is because I am an englishman)
Prices (Expensive, but assume this is the norm for Copenhagen)
Location (Ideal for me, close to the office that I needed to visit on business)
Staff (Not many on hand and the one I did encounter on the front desk - appeared rude and abrupt)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Osterport
Hotel Osterport
#72 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,105 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#70 of 117 in Copenhagen
514 reviews
Hotel Lautrup Park
#60 of 117 in Copenhagen
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Sluseholmen
#33 of 117 in Copenhagen
822 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
ProfilHotels Mercur Hotel
#59 of 117 in Copenhagen
958 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
Good Morning Copenhagen Star
#66 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentofte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentofte Hotel

Address: Gentoftegade 29, Copenhagen 2820, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: £90 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gentofte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the summer of 2008 all 98 rooms, meeting and banquet facilities, restaurant and public areas of the hotel has been given a fresh and modern design - without touching the unique charm, the popular kitchen or the friendly staff of the hotel. The hotel offers 12 unique conference and meeting rooms with room for up to 100 people. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel and private parking at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gentofte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gentofte Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing