We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Cabinn City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cabinn City Hotel
Ranked #45 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

For those looking for a cheap place to stay in Copenhagen this is great.
Rooms are literally like ship cabins and they ate basic but have what you need.
Great hotel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterTerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    747
    591
    145
    84
See reviews for
283
545
269
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very small room, with all necessary you need. I had standard room, (3 people could fit in, one bed up on the top). You could make down bed to double bed if needed. There were no AC, but in May it was ok, not too hot. Good breakfast and very quick booking and checking out. WIth breakfast it was some 83 eur. Situated close to Tivoli and not too far from the shopping street. I walked through Royal Stables (beside the parlament) on the way to to city from the hotel, and you could get in to the stables and take photos.

Room Tip: I had second floor, I did not have problems with noice from the street, though in the morning I hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIPFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was in Copenhagen for two days conference at the Bella Center (a one night stay). I choose this hotel because it was near the Bella Center. It's cheap, comfortable, clean and the personnel is very warm. The room is like a "cabin" and there was space enough. I didn't like only the shower that is a part of the bathroom (even using the curtain i cannot avoid to inundate the small bathroom).
There's free internet everywhere, and a good breakfast (not included in the basic rate).
It's near the airport (3 metro stops from Orestad Station)
I'll definitely advise to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

What you see is what you get.

My review below is from staying at the sister Cabinn, Cabinn Express, in Frederiksberg, but the hotel and room concepts are the same across this chain, which is why I have posted my review here.

Some guests mistake this place for a hotel, and get disappointed, but it is not, and it is a youth hostel neither. Cabinn is based on the concept of taking a cabin from an overnight ferry crossing and put in onshore. The result is a hotel/hostel in which all available corner is used and space is scarce. So yes, the rooms are small, again cabin sized, and yes the bathroom is tiny, and when taking a shower, water splashes almost everywhere (so prepare!). And yes, the beds are narrow, bunker sleep, but if you opt for the Commodore class sized rooms, you get a double bed and a bit more space. Each room has a small TV. There is a waterboiler (envelope coffee and tea provided), no safety box. The colors in the hotel are mostly held in greyish, blue and green, giving the place a maritime look and making you believe you are indeed on a ferryboat!

So, if being prepared for all of the above, I definitely find this pace a great vaue in an otherwise expensive city to spend a few nights, but probably not more than so. Rooms are clean (mine was), very quiet (I wondered if soundproofed), service is friendly at check-in, and the hotel has free wifi in both public places and the rooms. This hotel is located in a quiet residential area, only 5-8 mins walk from the metro station of Forum, which suited me perfectly well for an early morning flight out of Copenhagen Airport (ca. 20 min metro ride). The location also serves as an ideal place for a great jogging around the nearby inner lakes of Copenhagen, or just to get into town, 5 mins. Metro ride (1or 2 stations only) to the Kings Square (Kongens Nytorv). Finally, the Cabinn Express is not big, compared to some other Cabinns in town, giving it an overall peacefull and quiet feel. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordic_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

When looking at Copenhagen found most hotels to be very expensive or you have to share a bathroom. If like me that was not something you were looking forward to then Cabinn City is for you. Yes rooms are small but they are clean and the location is excellent if you travel in by train as we did. Also did not stay in my room all day so fitted with what we wanted, somewhere to sleep. Bed was very comfy but could have done with another pillow, probably my own fault as did not ask for another.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelBzh, UK
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

this hotel is a very good value for money, and it is walking distance from the train station and bus stops. Tivoli and Glypothek museum are also very close. Ok the room is tiny but offers all the amenities. it feels like being in a boat. However when in Copenhagen, you don't want to spend too much time in your room anyway so the place does the job. I found it quiet as well compared to some place I stayed where the cleaner had no respect for the customers. Breakfast could be improved in choices but it still gives you a good start for the day. I will stay there again based on location and value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NelBzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hotel, as it has been said, has very small rooms. This said, it's clean, centrally located (behind Tivoli and close to the central station) and cheap for the location. So, why not? The room itself I cannot complain about, though small and minimal, the quality of sleep was good. I don't know how it works with people sharing a room, I would say it would be more appropriate for students. The shower is the tricky part, it's a tiny all-in-one, and if you are not careful you may get all wet from it - you must make sure the faucet is turned the right way and not leave anything (clothes, toiletry) inside while you shower. If the wc were a bit bigger, I would rate the hotel higher, considering the cost which for the location is quite cheap. The rest is OK: common areas nice, breakfast nothing special but quite decent, free wifi, and it has car parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Inner Vesterbro
Hotel Nebo
Hotel Nebo
#52 of 117 in Copenhagen
995 reviews
Amager
CABINN Metro
CABINN Metro
#82 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#72 of 117 in Copenhagen
494 reviews
Frederiksberg
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
Hotel CABINN Scandinavia
#4 of 6 in Frederiksberg
656 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
#33 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinn City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinn City Hotel

Property: Cabinn City Hotel
Address: Mitchellsgade 14, Copenhagen 1568, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinn City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabinn City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinn City Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing