We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!”
Review of Woodah-Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodah-Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hostel rather last minute but extremely happy with what the hostel has to offer for the price. With breakfast included and also free yoga (which was really fun although I had never done it before) you can go wrong. The beds are made so you feel totally private, although you are sharing with a room full of people and come with your own plug sockets and lamp. It has a great location near the train station and centre. There is a lovely atmosphere and I would highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Florence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Woodah Hostel was a home away from home...homemade breakfast, wonderful music and free (donation based) yoga included! The atmosphere was just what the doctor ordered and the staff was so wonderful. I loved the privacy that the beds offered also. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Copenhagen!

There were only two kinks. The first is the wifi only worked in the cafe which makes it very challenging to Skype or anything since the cafe is usually filled with both guests and outsiders coming in for a drink. Second, the staff leaves at 10pm every night leaving the guests alone. This is okay but it is very uncomfortable to have to let newly-arriving guests in and every night I was woken up to the doorbell and pounding on the door of someone who's plane arrived late or had gotten lost. It is a bit uncomfortable to deal with, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed in Woodah-hostel with a friend for the weekend and we just loved it! The rooms (and the rest of the hostel) are really cozy and well-decorated!
The staff is really helpful and friendly, and the yoga class was really relaxing and intresting.
The breakfast was amazing, everything was organic and home-made!
It's really closed to the central station and there are many nice little restaurants all around.
I highly recomend it!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F_nnyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Did extensive research on hostels to stay when traveling Europe. I was pleased to find the woodah, the atmosphere is extremely laid back and such amazingly friendly staff. Noticed a lot of locals were residing here which was the downside being a solo traveler. On site yoga based on donations was fantastic. The beds had duvets, their own plugs, breakfast was a *light spread of jams, toast, yogurt.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainManTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Woodah was such a lovely place to stay! The whole hostel had a cosy, home-made vibe with lots of cute, crafty decor. The location was great - easy walking distance from the train station, Tivoli gardens etc. and in an area with lots of bars and restaurants. And the staff were just lovely, so friendly and helpful!

The dorms were clean and tidy with each bed built into the wall in a kind of cubby with a curtain so there was lots of privacy. Each bed also had a locker underneath. The common area is also a cafe so sometimes you have to share with cafe patrons, although this was never an issue as there's plenty of couches/chairs! It's so nice and cosy, I actually spent a lot of time here using the free wifi! There isn't a kitchen but you can get good-priced coffee, tea and snacks/meals from the cafe (or just get your fix at breakfast!).

Yoga classes are also offered - I did one and it was great! Such a nice way to relax after a long flight.

The included breakfast was AMAZING - by far the best breakfast I've ever had at a hostel. Home-made bread with cheese, jams and houmus, home-made muesli with yoghurt and all the tea and coffee you could want. And organic! Seriously delicious.

So if you're looking for somewhere friendly and homely rather than your run-of-the-mill 'party' hostel, Woodah is definitely the place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lmur1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed in this hostel with a friend for 4 nights during December 2013. The hostel is very clean and secure with private lockers for valuables in the mixed dorms. We stayed in the only private room, there were pipes overhead with occasional noise but they did not cause any issues with sleeping. The room was a good size and the hostel was warm and cosy in the evenings. The shower was always hot even when going in last! An excellent healthy breakfast was provided each morning in a informal cafe area that doubled as the reception. I loved the relaxed feel, cute decor and friendly vibe of the place, which made it easy to settle in and call it home for the 5 days we were there! Location is great as a 10 minute walk from the central station and Tivoli gardens, making it easy to get about and pop back during the day if we needed. It is also opposite a Mikkeller bar, which is definitely worth visiting for its gourmet beer - and I don't even like beer usually!

Only gripe was that the hand towels in the toilet were not changed often enough but that is an incredibly minor point!

Room Tip: Private double room gives you more space if you have a suitcase but does have piped overhead in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amalau09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My friend and I only stayed here a couple of nights but wish we could have stayed longer! Really cosy, homely and relaxed atmosphere. Really close to the Central Station and Tivoli Gardens. Delicious organic breakfast. Nice private beds which are sort of in wooden boxes, with a little curtain. Didn't get to try the yoga unfortunately but the room looked great. Overall, a lovely place to stay, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Indre By (Inner City)
Generator Copenhagen
Generator Copenhagen
#4 of 43 in Copenhagen
2,647 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
#3 of 43 in Copenhagen
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Noerrebro
Sleep in Heaven
Sleep in Heaven
#2 of 43 in Copenhagen
650 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Steel House Copenhagen
Steel House Copenhagen
#10 of 43 in Copenhagen
93 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Annex Copenhagen
Annex Copenhagen
#6 of 43 in Copenhagen
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodah-Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodah-Hostel

Address: Abel Cathrines gade 1-3 | 1654, Copenhagen, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range: £23 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Woodah-Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing