We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chilled out - watch the bill”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Mandela

Cafe Mandela
Ranked #314 of 2,311 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Inner Vesterbro
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“chilled out - watch the bill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We went for drinks on a cold February morning. Nice chilled out atmosphere. Drinks were fine. I think they charged us for a bottle of tap water (alongside our hot drinks) we had not ordered and assumed was complimentary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidL187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
196 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good food, good service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

An enjoyable evening spent at Cafe Mandela, wasn't our first time, we were happy to sample well cooked main dishes (fish, pork, etc.) and tasty desserts. Won't be long before we're back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chilled out and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stopped by here for a drink to meet up with friends before going on to Mother for pizza when we first arrived in the city. Friendly staff, a warm setting and tasty beer persuaded us to book a table for the following night. We were not disappointed. I think we all had burgers and some of us managed pudding. We were not rushed in any way despite the place being packed, mainly with locals which was a good sign. Wasn't too pricey and we left feeling very satisfied after a lovely evening. Would recommend as a place slightly out of the way and therefore not as touristy. A good find.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annieh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Went for drinks only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a great little spot to rest your weary legs after a day of wandering around the city sightseeing. Despite it being September it was warm enough for us to sit at one of the lovely candle-lit tables outside while still being able to hear the band playing inside (I think there's music every Friday and Saturday). The music was great to sing along to the night we were there - the singer was obviously a Kylie fan and did quite a few laid-back, funky covers. It was a really fun, chilled out place to spend some time - and obviously popular with the locals as it was rammed by the time we left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
Level Contributor
194 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice during summer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The café is very nice during the summer, where you can sit outside in the courtyard and enjoy the sun and get a little away from the busy Vesterbro. The food is average and looks like something you would get served on any other café. However, they do try to serve more restaurant-ish dished but they are quite ricey compared to the fact that you are at a café. Go for the ambience, where they often have live music during the weekend and eat somewhere else.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Mandela also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Cafe Mandela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing