We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative menu but not overwhelming”
Review of Host

Host
Ranked #68 of 3,015 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £34 - £90
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Indre By (Inner City)
Description: Høst is the Danish word for harvest. As the name reveals, great Nordic ingredients and seasonal greens sets the agenda at Høst—served with a sense of both the rustic and the elegant, and always with big flavors. Høst is located in a classic Copenhagen building on the corner of Nørre Farimagsgade and Ahlefeldtsgade, and here the exposed brick walls and Danish midcentury furniture design reflect the kitchens’ ability to mix the minimalist and the idyllic. Høst has won several international design awards, among them Worlds’ Best Designed Restaurant at Restaurant & Bar Design Awards and World’s Most Beautiful Restaurant in American travel magazine Travel + Leisure.
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

Service was good, but I struggle to remember anything outstanding in the food, it was good, some imaginative dishes but just didn't stand out. I would recommend ordering the wine menu, we didn't and ended up ordering another bottle of wine as 8 courses takes a while to get through.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Veloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 274 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2019

We came to Host after reading about it serving amazing Nordic food and one of the more affordable restaurants in Copenhagen, and were not disappointed! The place has a nice vibe and very nicely designed with the wooden furniture and plants dotted around. We decided to go for the taster menu as a treat which was super delicious! The presentation was so pretty that it seemed wrong to eat it! All the courses were amazing, and we were even treated to some additional surprise courses. The staff were friendly and attentive and made the evening more enjoyable.
I would happily return to Host if I was back in Copenhagen.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

We found Host from the review and chose their 5 course dinner set. They actually provided additional three dishes during the dinner. The presentation was thoughtful and eye-catching. The food was very fresh and fulfilling. Not as expensive as we expected. The restaurant is very popular so all the tables were full. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank junwu_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2019

Through no fault at all of the restaurant, our dinner reservation was cancelled. This was down to the automatic reservation system emailing/texting us on the day (in Danish - understandably) and asking for our reconfirmation of the booking. As we don't speak Danish we very stupidly just clicked on the Green text that was listed first, thinking this would logically be "Yes, reconfirm" but it was actually the "No, cancel" option. Therefore, when we turned up at 9pm our table had gone as clearly this is a highly popular place. They dealt very well with my disappointed and cross partner, booked us into another good restaurant - not easy on a Saturday night at 9.30pm and ordered us a taxi, as well as offering us a drink whilst we waited. So "mange tak" to the kind staff at Host who saved my birthday evening! We shall come back and shall use Google translate in future!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Service
1  Thank Worcesterlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Its one of the 'trendy' hyped up places but the food was bland. It seemed to me most was pre-cooked in big batches and simply doled out. The place is fully booked and has multiple seatings, I guess this is the way they can pump out the food. The downstairs seating area is dark and claustrophobic, simply not an enjoyable place to eat. We were 'welcomed' at the reception by a guy who was unfriendly and gave us a rather unimpressed look and just dumped the menus on our table, perhaps because I had two children with me (who nonetheless ordered their full menu). All in all an unimpressive experience be it food, service or ambiance.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank NGG-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Host also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.