We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best food I've eaten. ”
Review of 56o

56o
Reserve with
56o is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #251 of 2,427 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$55
Cuisines: Diner, Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Christianshavn
Description: At 56° you can look forward to a very special culinary experience, because the focus is on the good ingredients and to establish proximity between the kitchen and the guest. The chefs take pride in using only the best ingredients, which means that the menu follow the season - and sometimes from day to day. Although the menu is changing, you can be sure of high quality when the traditional Nordic cuisine meets modern and creative chefs art.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably the best food I've eaten. ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Quite a bit off the beaten track, we did a full tour of Christianshavn to get there, but it was certainly worth it. The food was fantastic and, if I was honest, some of the best I have eaten. The staff were very friendly and each course was introduced by the owner/chef, very patiently in English for us. It was not cheap by our normal standards but it was certainly worth it. There is a market menu at 325k and then you add wine etc on top. We added cheese as well, well it would have been rude not too!

Very very good and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone

Helpful?
Thank welshgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spisehuset56, Gæsteansvarlig at 56o, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Mads

We are very pleased that you took the time to give us a review, thank you so much.
And thank you for all the kind words and the description of us, we always try to do our best, to give our guests the best experience, above their expectations.

Thank you again.

All the best
Niklas Boisen & the rest of the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    34
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, MI
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Denmark”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went with friends to celebrate our time together in Denmark and were all blown away by our delicious dinners. There are not enough words to describe them - so unbelievably delicious. The wine selections were perfect as well as the service. Definitely a dining MUST !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spisehuset56, Gæsteansvarlig at 56o, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback. We really appriciate that our guests take the time to do so. Hope to see you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best dinner we ever had”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

To be honest: This really was the best dinner I ever had!

We went to the 56° to celebrate a friends birthday. We wanted to do something special and somehow fancy - and we got it!

That was the menu:
Scallops with green aspargus, herb sauce hollandaise and fresh herbs
Slowly (56°) cooked beef, green lentils with wild garlic, fresh herbs, onions in balsamic acid and herb hollandaise
Rhubarb with baiser, vanilla and rhubarb soup

The scallops and the beef were perfectly cooked / grilled! The boys had awesome dark beer, espacially brewed for 56° and the girls had very good white wine.

Finally, I'd like to thank the chefs and the waiters of the 56°! The atmosphere was relaxed, we felt very comfortable.

We will definitely come back to this wonderful restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mads H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spisehuset56, Gæsteansvarlig at 56o, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us feedback. We really appriciate it and are greatefull for that overwelming review. We will look forward to welcome you again! And we THANK you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a trip out there”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Located in an old navy building, the restaurant certainly boasts character, though it is a bit off the beaten track inless you are visiting the opera, and we only found it on recommendation. Thursday evening and there were plenty of customers so booking is probably wise any time. The staff showed interest in us which is always a good start. We all took the three course menu at dkk325, imaginative creations that benefited from the chef's explanation, but none the worse for that. In appearance they were small but at the end we were all full, so apparently the size was well considered. A very pleasant Chianti was the housewine at dkk325 which seemed reasonable (there were some considerably more expensive bottles on the list if you are more demanding). Trying to think of faults but unable to come up with any.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trevnmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spisehuset56, Gæsteansvarlig at 56o, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback.

Because of our location on the "wrong side" of the Copenhagen habour, we only exists because of our guests recommendation. Thank you - and hope to see you again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Spisehuset 56 grader was a great visit, just a short boat-ride slightly outside the Opera. The Head Waiter was in full control, even remembering my first name from my online reservation. We had the Season menu. All the courses had great trimmings, all in season. Great wine, an additional cheese-platter before the dessert made this evening just fantastic. Best restaurant and food in Copenhagen I've ever had, this is a place I for sure will visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spisehuset56, Ejer at 56o, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Google Translation
Thank you, Erik :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 56o also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to 56o? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing