We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Story That Must Be Told”

Danish Jewish Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.64*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #9 of 110 Shopping in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Danish Jewish Museum tells the story of the Danish Jews through 400 years - including the dramatic rescue of the Danish Jews during World War 2. Experience the unique museum interior by world-renowned architect Daniel Libeskind. Find the perfect gift or souvenir in the museum shop.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Story That Must Be Told”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was torn on my review for this museum. On one hand, I do find the collection to be somewhat limited. However, I find the story of the Danish Resistance and the heroic actions of its people towards their Jewish population in World War II be a story so worth telling, I must give it full marks. I highly recommend getting tickets to both the permanent collection and the temporary exhibit - the latter to be the more emotionally moving in my experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Fferffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    57
    27
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“perfect timing got us a nice English tour”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was our luck to arrive at this museum around 10 minutes before 2PM, to find that English language presentations are offered every day at this time (2PM). The presentation focused on the Jewish community of Denmark during and immediately following WWII. The talk lasted 45 minutes and it offered insight into the Danish response to the Nazi's Jewish solution. The tour guide was very interesting and it made our visit to the museum worthwhile. Given how small the museum is, I think a visit without such a presentation would be a bit of a letdown. Oh, this was also included in our Copenhagen Card (so no fee to pay).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank afinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A remarkable experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First, the museum is located in the Royal Library. The story of the Danish Jews is central not ancillary to the Danish experience. Second, the story of the rescue of the Danish Jews during World War II is remarkable and an extraordinary tribute to the Danish people. Third, the interior of the building itself is quite striking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank flg1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
517 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A surprise in a small city”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This museum has two parts - one about Europe's continued antisemitism, and the other about the incredible goodness of Denmark in saving its Jews during the time when European antisemitism became horrible (versus when it is not horrible?).

The museum interior was designed by Daniel Libeskind, the same architect of Ground Zero in New York City, including the memorial, the museum and the Freedom Tower. He also was the architect of the Berlin Jewish Museum. One could see similarities for all three: he uses something from the "story" linked to the reason for the building in the design of the building itself.

In the case of this museum, he arranged the area to match the Hebrew word "mitzvah", which refers to an act of human kindness - in this case, referring to how the Danish people saved Jews during the Holocaust. Since the rescue involved sending them on boats to Sweden, he made the floors uneven to mimic the sea voyage and the uneasiness Danish Jews had during this time.

If you are in Copenhagen, you should not miss this museum, which is very part of the NAtional Library and close to other museums and monuments.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A true historical treasure”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This museum designed by Daniel Liebskind captures the chaos and tumult of the German occupation during WWII. The slanting, irregular interior signifies the chaotic times. There is also a wonderful collection of Jewish items hidden and saved by the brave Danes. In order to understand the depth of the commitment by the Danes to save the Jews one must visit this excellent museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank heidy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danish Jewish Museum also viewed

 

Been to Danish Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing