We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Location, location, location - that pretty much tells it all.
The rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but this is a bit higher quality budget hotel. The rooms are comfortable though, so no worries there. They're pretty basic, so no minibar :)
Really liked the interior design.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    1,151
    441
    121
    67
See reviews for
251
1,120
205
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
406 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We made an online booking on Sunday morning for the same day - website was easy to use and confirmation sent in seconds. We took a standard room at 500DKK for 2 pax - the hotel is brand new and the room was absolutely fine. Check-in was quick & friendly. Yes, the room is made up for 1, but it was no problem to add the extra bed & bath linen - shower gel and soap included. Bathroom pod works well and really isn't that small - and has opaque windows so privacy is no problem. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking Borgergade and heard no street sounds at all. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 311 was allocated to us and we were very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I just came back from at trip to Copenhagen where we spent two nights in this hotel. We were a party of 3 that stayed in a family room, which is two double rooms devided by a door. Rooms were fairly small, but with a location like that you dont spend much time in your room anyways. The rooms were clean, and had free wi-fi.
The breakfast at the hotel was pretty basic, but the area is crowded with coffeshops,bakerys,resturants and tons of other places where you can buy something to eat.
Location was perfect. Just outside your door is plenty of small shops or places to eat, and only 10 minute walk down to "Strøget" which is the main shopping street. A taxi to the train station (Same area as Tivoli) costs about 90 DKK. Not much at all. I have already recommended this hotel to friends, and will be staying there myself next time i go to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This location is very new. Outside hotel area has construction going on. Location is good and close to city central. There are metro stations Norreport and Kongens Nytorv close by. There is 7-11 store at the corner of hotel street.
Room: is very small. 2 people in the room feel tight. The room is set up for one person, even though when I booked the room for 2 person. One pillow, one blanket and one towel. However, there is an extra set in the drwal, so not a problem. Free wifi so it is good. Hot shower is good.
Not so good part. This hotel,to me, cold and lack of service. The check in staffs are professional. And I do understand this is consider low cost hotel in an expensive city. But print a boarding will cost you 2DKK per page + 50DKK for administrative fee!

I like the location and room is clean. But the size of room is a bit too small. Perhaps next time I will opt for a bigger room. Also need to have no expectations of couetesy service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Air747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A friend of mine and I stayed at Wakeup a week after it opened. The room was clean, small but exactly what we needed. The service was great. I only interacted with the concierge when I first checked in and then shortly after when I could not get the wifi in my room working. I went out for dinner and by the time I was back, the problem was resolved. The location is the best part! For the price I was willing to pay, the location was unbeatable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel had opened a few days before I arrived. The building (still in construction) is quite nice on the outside, and the reception area is very pleasant.
Hotel location is quite good for that part of town. Taxis are extremely expensive in Copenhagen.

There was a queue at reception when I arrived, which appears to be a common feature.

The room was pleasant enough, a mix of the Swedish Comfort hotels with a hint of Citizen M (just the room) design: small but with a nice design. The beds are not particularly comfortable and the pillow is probably the worse I've ever had to sleep on. Really horrible and uncomfortable. Besides that, you can't open the window of the room so it's either super hot and stuffy during the night if you don't want to sleep with the air conditioning on or, if you do, you will wake up cold during the night.
Another thing I really didn't like were the amenities. A 10ml shower gel/shampoo per person is very little indeed. You can get more, but then you need to head to reception, since there is not phone in the room. When you go to reception to ask for more shower gel, they will give it to you.

There seems to be the common thread with reception staff: making sure that the guest knows this is a budget hotel is far more important than making them feel comfortable and welcome. Even paying for late check out seems to be a chore for them. They can come across very abrupt and unpleasant.

Would I stay again in this hotel, or recommend it to my friends? Probably not. However, it is one of the cheapest alternatives in CPH. And reasonably pleasant. Really depends on what you're looking for. Plus, the hotel had just opened, so maybe the machine was not properly oiled yet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel during the first days of Eurovision Song Contest 2014. The hotel is new: when I arrived the construction work continued, they were hanging paintings in the buffet area and were fixing the face front of the building. The hotel's location is excellent, close to Nyhavn and Kongens Nytorv metro (short walk). I was given the room number 613 at first. I tried to turn off the lights there and then heard the clap sound, I knocked electric plugs. I went down to reception and asked to repair electricity as I walk around the city. On my return the electricity worked, but again when I tried to turn off the lights the plugs were knocked again. I was given a room number 615. I moved in with my stuff and found out that there was no electricity at all. I went down to reception again and they gave me the room number 666 (I was laughing) where everything was in order. So, the room has a window overlooking the roofs of the city, a large bed, extra blanket, pillow and towel in a box under the bed, a desk, TV with large screen, four hangers, shower room with toilet.
There is no closet, so all things are better to store in your own suitcase. Breakfast: coffee, fresh pastries, cold cuts and cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt. The hotel room is clean, the hotel is ideal for short trips to Copenhagen. Staff of hotel is super-friendly and helpful. The price is very nice for central Copenhagen. Because the hotel is very new, there are various omissions which I think will be fixed in the nearest future. I would come back.

Room Tip: Since I stayed in 613,615 and 666 - all of them are OK. 613 was the biggest and facing the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OLEG I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Wakeup Copenhagen Carsten Niebuhrs Gade
Indre By (Inner City)
Ibsens Hotel
Ibsens Hotel
#20 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#25 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#31 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade

Property: Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
Address: Borgergade 9, Copenhagen 1300, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade 2*
Number of rooms: 498
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing