We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, lovely staff”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Really enjoyed this place. We just spent two nights in our first visit to Copenhagen and couldn't be happier with our choice. Essentials: great location, clean, decent sized room in a retro Danish furniture style, good bathroom, no street noise and a supremely comfy bed. On to what makes this place very good... the service. Every member of staff, including the manager, made it feel like coming home whenever we stepped foot in the place. From helping us to book restaurants to offering complimentary wine when we got back from a long day sightseeing they were always a pleasure. For the cost you really couldn't expect better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent review with us - we are very happy to hear that you couldn't be happier with your choice - we always strive to provide the best service in town and to make our guests feel at home with us.

We hope that we are able to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

It was a pleasant surprise since I wanted to extend my stay in a not very expensive hotel. Walk to everything Copenhagen city center has to offer and more. The staff is incredibly helpful, proactive, and polite. Building and rooms are squeaky clean and quite with in-room safe. Not much else I can ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My friend and I had travelled from Scotland and Australia respectively and our stay in Copenhagen was made that more pleasurable by stay at Hotel Alexandra. It rother is well located and the availability of bikes to rent at the hotel made it so much easier to explore the city.

Our one hiccup was with the original room we were allocated which was 2 floors above roadworks starting construction at 6am , but after asking Edea at the front desk if there were any other avail rooms, she kindly made arrangements to have us moved which we were v grateful for. They also cheerfully put with my friend's annoying requests in her quest for the ideal bike each time so big brownie points there.

Staff at Lele the vietnamese restaurant next door were v sweet during our stay and we appreciated the hospitality they showed us each time. Oh and the odd drink of complimentary wine in the lobby also added to the warm hospitality.

I wont hesitate to recommend hotel alexandra to mates and I hope to try one of the deluxe rooms next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I chose this hotel for an 8-night stay in Copenhagen based on the reviews here. It was a good choice as it is reasonably priced, very conveniently located and the staff was terrific. Based on comments from previous guests, I requested a room on the courtyard side of the building (away from the street noise of H.C. Andersens Blvd) and they accommodated me with a lovely room (115) with a bay window and a double bed, desk and chair, additional chair and double closet. I had no trouble whatsoever with noise in the room. The bathroom facilities were functional, clean and amenities were replaced each day. The staff was very gracious and helpful. The hotel is connected to a restaurant next door (LeLe) that serves delicious Vietnamese cuisine for lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices (for Copenhagen). With a voucher from the hotel front desk, guests can have breakfast in that same restaurant which serves a traditional selection of Danish breakfast foods from 7 - 10 am.

If you are looking for clean, comfortable, basic accommodations, this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: As for a room on the courtyard side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, 10-15 minutes walk from Central Station and close to the downtown area attractions, as well as being quiet. I stayed in Room 562 and was able to open my windows without any problem with noise. The room was small, with a single bed, desk and plastic chair with arms, and a nightstand. There was a flat screen TV (CNN and 2 other English channels), but no refrigerator in the room, though coffee was provided. The bathroom was OK, but with shower only. I couldn't get wifi on the 5th floor, but it was available in the lobby. You can easily get to the hotel from the airport by taking the train (track 2, the 3rd stop, for 36 DK) and walking, though make sure you have a map or some way of finding it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A very conveniently situated hotel in Central Copenhagen at a reasonable cost. All the normal facilities were provided, but as there was no air conditioning it was difficult to get the room at the temperature you might wish, without opening the windows, which meant you had to endure a lot of noise. The building certainly had character, but also had some inconveniences. Breakfast was average, and the clearing of tables slow, causing some inconvenience on some busier mornings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is located in a very comfortable spot of the city, just in a few minutes walking distance from Tivoli, the central station and the Stroget. The staff are polite and friendly. The rooms have a very unique retro Danish style and are very clean, though not very spacious. If you travel alone and you can afford it, prefer a single superior or a double room for single use instead of a standard single one. Breakfast is good, yet it could be better and richer, considering the price you pay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atpap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,542 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
313 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,862 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
261 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#23 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £117 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing