We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Danish design-central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Danish design-central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

A great hotel right in the city center. We stayed in a room that hadn't been renovated yet-it was very comfortable and quiet (it faced the main road). Comfy beds and a strong, hot shower. Lovely, stylish Danish design throughout the room and the hotel itself. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Only a scenic 15 minutes walk from Central Station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIghtMessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review - we are very happy that we were able to make your stay in Copenhagen enjoyable and that you enjoyed the room, bathroom and our staff.

We hope to see you again in Copenhagen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    582
    170
    42
    19
See reviews for
156
549
139
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Perfekt service, nice and friendly stuff,. We were very satisfied with the breakfast buffet. The room was quiet though location to main road. Good discount with Öresund club card, but garage fee was not included.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Birgittaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review of your stay with us with fellow travellers.

We are very happy to hear that you found our service to be perfect and that our staff was nice and friendly. Our interaction with our guests is and will always be our highest priority and we will always strive to make our guests feel at home with us.

We are sorry that you were not aware of the fact, that parking was not included in your price. On our website you will be able to find information, pricing and location for parking in regards to your stay with us.

We hope to see you again at the Hotel Alexandra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lovely boutique hotel for a short-stay (Friday, Saturday) in Copenhagen. Great location within walking distance to all the famous sites, galleries, shops etc. We asked for a quiet room off the main road and were given one. Nice Danish designed furniture - only problem was the bed base - it had a footboard which was not suitable for tall people and was somewhat dated (it also creaked loudly) but was otherwise comfortable. Nice restaurant for breakfast next door. Loved the hotel's app, which we used to navigate Copenhagen and for dining choices. Hotel has 24 hour check-in which was useful when our flight from London was delayed and we didn't arrive until 2.00am in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your excellent review - we truly appreciate your kind words.

We always strive to be of service to our guests and supply our guests with everything that they would need for their stay with us. Therefore we are very happy to hear that you found our 24-hour reception of use and that you were able to use our own app to our tips and guides to Copenhagen to navigate the city.

We are very sorry that the bed was not satisfactory in regards to your needs. As our passion is mid-modern century Danish design,s ome of our rooms have original beds from the mid-modern century and some of these have footboards, which make them less suitable for guests who have a specific height. In this regard, we would be more than happy to hear from you in advance for any special requests you might have for your stay with us and we will do our utmost to accommodate your requests. You are also more than welcome to contact us after check-in at the reception and we will try to find you a different room, if at all possible.

The beds are maintained often, but we do apologize if the bed in your room creaked a lot - we will follow up with our head of maintenance, so that the issue receives extra attention in the future.

We hope to welcome you again in Copenhagen and the Hotel Alexandra in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Hotel Alexandra has it all:
A great location near the central train station, great service and simple, but stylish danish modern decor. The buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious. I fully recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stellar review and for taking the time to share the experience you had with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet - an area that we constantly try to improve, to offer our guests a wide selection of organic and fresh breakfast options.

If you ever find your way past Copenhagen again, we hope to be able to welcome you to the Hotel Alexandra again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Although it was our first time in Copenhagen, and we only stayed for a night, Hotel Alexandra was the perfect choice! With a location close to the train station and close to the city centre, as well as brilliant service and a beautiful building, we couldn't have felt more welcome!
As I usually hate the standard hotel furniture, I was positively surprised to find it super chic and very scandinavian!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lilly123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your outstanding review - we are very glad to hear that we were able to make your stay such an excellent one.

We are dedicated to making our guests feel welcome and at home - as such, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that we could promote that feeling.

We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our first visit to Copenhagen but definitely not the last: A lovely city and an extraordinary hotel! The furniture is the best of danish design - very tasteful and discreetly decorated. The rooms offer lots of space while being cosy at the same time. The staff is excellent, very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast is a real treat! Thanks a lot for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and for sharing your experience - we really appreciate it.

We are very happy to hear, that we were able to offer you such an unforgettable stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and especially our staff and service - it is always a pleasure to hear, that we could make our guest's stay in Copenhagen a successful one.

We hope to see you at the Hotel Alexandra again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was my second stay at the Alexandra. I have stayed at various hotels in Copenhagen and this one is my favorite. I generally prefer smaller, more "personal" hotels where I can feel at home. The fact that I am a fan of Danish mid century furniture makes staying here a special treat. The owners have a marvelous collection that is spread throughout the hotel making every room different. The lobby is very homey and a nice place to hang out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CESDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other TripAdvisor users.

We are always excited to hear that we are able to provide a personal and "homey" atmosphere - both things are something that we value very highly when it comes to the feel of the hotel.

We thank you for your kind words about our furniture collection and are pleased to hear, that you share our passion for mid-modern century Danish design furniture.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again the next time you are staying in Copenhagen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#5 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing