We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was my second trip to Copenhagen and the first time I had stayed near Nyhavn so wanted something a bit closer to the Rathaus this time. Hotel Alexandra is neat, clean and the designer room we had was lovely. Good sized bathroom, great shower. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Love how you can choose not to have your room cleaned and earn a voucher for the great restaurant next door instead. Only complaint would be that the wifi was very patchy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing towards the Rathaus (although we had one of these and it wasn't actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassowary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Dear Cassowary,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about us.

We are sorry to hear that you found the WiFi to be very patchy. We have taken measures to improve both range and stability for our WiFi and it has been much improved.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our environmental policy here at the hotel and thank you for helping to protect the environment.

Hopefully we are able to welcome you again at the Alexandra in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a warm welcome, could enjoy some coffee in the designer chairs when we arrived, rented some bikes for a trip around town in the afternoon and had a carefully assembled room. The staff was also very helpful and directed us to nice bars and restaurants. I would come back here any day.

Room Tip: Ask to see different rooms upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kern206 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Dear kern206 .

Thank you for your great review and kind words - we are very happy to hear that we were able to make your stay a good one and hope to see you again in Copenhagen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Hotel was adequate for our needs, which we booked with a RatesToGo discount. As we all know, Copenhagen is quite expensive. The 24-hour reception was appreciated, as we didn't arrive until late in the evening & had a few late nights. The bathroom was a little small, however the room itself was sufficient for a couple (but no bar fridge). The location is good (easy walking distance from the main train station) and we recommend hiring the Hotel's bikes, as this is the 'native' way of exploring Copenhagen. A canal cruise is a must when visiting Copenhagen.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Dear Peta G,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had with us.

Copenhagen can indeed be an expensive city and we are glad that you found our rates to be competitive.

We are quite aware that our bathrooms in some rooms can be on the smaller side, but this is mainly due to the fact that we are located in a historic building, and we would not dare to change the ambience and feeling of the original halls and placements of the walls.

Good to hear that you decide to explore Copenhagen on our bikes - it is really one of the best ways to see and get around in the city.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a small charming hotel in a good location, very close to Tivoli Gardens and the main train station. Although it is on a busy road we did not hear traffic noise. The hotel is interesting with the focus on furniture by well known Danish Designers. The room was small but well laid out and very clean. I found the staff generous with their advice, as well as very welcoming as are the Danish people in general. You can walk to many locations of interest. There is also a small restaurant next door for breakfast as well as other meals and coffee. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Lesley
Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: Ask for larger room if important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Dear Lesley,

Thank you for your stellar review - it is much appreciated.

Being located in the city centre most certainly has its benefits - we are happy to hear that you took to the streets on foot and explored the city, as many Danes also choose to do. The noise is of course unavoidable in some instances, as we are in the city centre, but it is good to hear that our double-glazed windows were able to cancel out the traffic noise.

If you ever find yourself back in Copenhagen, we would of course be more than happy to welcome you to the Alexandra again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Alexandra for 2 night, and where really happy with the experience. My husband and myself traveled with our 8 month old son. And even the hotel wasn't necessary a family hotel (areas for kids to kick about) with worked out perfectly. We requested a cot and a quite area in the hotel and everything was there on arrival.
As the location was close to train station arriving and depart was no problems.
We would defiantly stay again and recommend to family and friends. And i do love that the hotel wasn't a large one (60 ish rooms) you just feel like you get a more personal experience.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel are on a busy street, but we where staying in a room on the side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Dear caroline l,

Thank you for your kind words - we appreciate that you took the time to write them.

As a smaller hotel, which you also mention, we do not have that many rooms that can hold many persons at once for families, but everyone is welcome at the Alexandra. As you experienced, we really try to take good care of our guests and want to instill a cozy and homey atmosphere.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I love this hotel. I was worried that it might feel a bit fusty with the old furniture but everything is perfectly restored and good as new. I loved the room. I loved the taps. The staff were friendly. And even better, the profits go to a charitable organisation. It's on quite a busy road but the windows are pretty well sound proofed, I was on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Seb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Dear Seb L,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of our hotel - we appreciate your kind words.

The notion that mid-modern century Danish Design furniture is fusty and perhaps ill-maintained is a notion that we have had the pleasure of proving wrong in many aspects and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our furniture - we take good care of our small hotel and the furniture - after all, it is our passion to share these wonderful pieces with our guests!

Hopefully we get to welcome you to the Alexandra again in the future, if you ever find yourself in Copenhagen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our first time in Copenhagen. We picked the hotel because of our love for mid century design and we were not dissapointed. The hotel is small, quaint, and full of the Danish "hygge" cozy vibe. The hotel is well run, staff is great and it's very centrally located. Our room is very well laid out and clean however it's of compact proportion. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Dear Tanya N,

Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy that you found our Danish design furniture as well as concept to your liking - it is always great to share our passion with like-minded people.

The word "hygge" is deeply rooted in Danish culture, and it is good to hear that you feel our hotel has a "hygge" vibe.

Hopefully we will see you back in Copenhagen and at the Alexandra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,550 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
318 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,872 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
264 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#22 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £115 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing