We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, if you know what to expect”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Coleshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, if you know what to expect”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked this hotel to give us extra time in Copenhagen after the end of a cruise and overall were pleased. It's location is convenient - a 5 or 10 minute walk from most of the attractions in the city and the staff were excellent. They all spoke perfect English and couldn't have been more helpful. It makes a feature of showcasing some design pieces which won't be to everyone's taste and the room we were in comfortable but not large. We had a specifically asked for a bath and there was one, but it was tiny (as some continental baths are) and the reception staff took a while to find a plug that fitted. There was some noise at nights from the main road and the club a few doors down, but it didn't spoil our stay. Overall we were pleased with our stay and I am happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear GeoffStokes,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about us - we appreciate your kind words.

We are of course aware of some the things you mention and it is a good idea to be informed and that expectations are clear.

As a hotel located in the vibrant city centre of Copenhagen, some noise from the streets or venues will sometimes be present, but as we have double-glazed windows in all of our rooms, most of the noise should be cancelled in many situations, when the windows are completely closed. Some of our rooms have smaller bathrooms, as the historic building that we are located in has to be preserved in both interior and exterior as much as possible and as such we are not able to extend the size of the bathrooms in some of our rooms. Our larger category rooms have larger bathrooms, of course.

We hope to see you again in Copenhagen and are thankful that you would recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    597
    171
    43
    19
See reviews for
157
564
140
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel receptionists were always helpful and accomodating. Starting with having a room available for early check in after an early flight arrival so able to get a few hours sleep. Luggage storage for later departure. Room was lovely and the location was ideal for atrractions and transportation. Buses stop across street and close by we also took advantage of their voucher for restaurant instead of daily housekeeping. Our wi fi worked better in lobby then in room but was fine even enjoying complimentary glass of wine. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TOM0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear TOM0505,

Our thanks for your kind words and for your excellent review.

We are very happy that we could make your stay a pleasant one and that you were able to check-in early after a long journey - we know how important it is and always try our best to get our rooms ready as soon as possible.

Since the WiFi worked better in the lobby, we assume that it was a little unstable in your room, and we have already invested and installed extenders for the WiFi and the stability as well as range has been improved.

We hope to welcome you again at the Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent 4 days at Hotel Alexandra in Copehagen recently and really enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel is excellent and within walking distance central station and Tivoli with lots of restaurants and attractions within easy walking distance. Our room was one of the least expensive as by the time we booked the rest were sold out but it was of a good size and decorated with vintage furniture (one of the main reasons we chose this hotel). Bed was comfortable. No air-conditioning but the windows opened and we enjoyed the fresh air although it was fairly noisy, overlooking the street. The staff were friendly and helpful and they had a great program were you could skip getting your room serviced and get a voucher to use in the restaurant. We took advantage of this twice during our say and earned enough for 2 mains at the fantastic street food restaurant LeLe which is part of the hotel. The only reason we have not rated this excellent is the bathroom which was old and tiny. We still had a lovely stay and I would recommend this hotel for anyone with an interest in Danish design.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiwaxBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear HeidiwaxBrisbane,

Thank you for your great review - we are thankful that you took the time to write about your experience with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your 4 days at our hotel and that you share our passion for Danish mid-modern century design. We are also glad to hear that you took advantage of our environmental policy, where you can choose not to have your room cleaned and eat in the restaurant instead - it is a great way to conserve energy in all forms and protect the environment - and it benefits our guests as well.

We do understand, that the bathrooms in some of our smaller rooms are not that large. This is mainly due to the fact that the building we are located in is a historic building, and we want to preserve the original structure and interior as much as possible. Our larger rooms offer larger bathrooms, if you decide to return to the Alexandra in the future.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As a late arrival I was greeted with a friendly introduction by name and a much appreciated complimentary glass of wine. My single room was wonderful and surprisingly spacious, clean and well appointed. The place just had a wonderful comfortable atmosphere. My only regret is that I didn't get to spend enough time there as I was off to the airport to head home the following morning. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, Anne M.

We are very happy that, even though you had a very short stay with us, we were able to make you feel welcome and that you enjoyed your room. We strive continously to make the hotel a "home away from home" for our guests, and a comfortable and homey atmosphere is what we try to convey - so thank you for the kind words.

We hope to see you the next time that you are in Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Alexandra hotel wasn't my option, but I don't regret that some one else choose it for me. Central, close enough to central station, Tivoli, Stroget, City Hall, lot of museums and a very useful touristic information point near by. The rooms are different, ours was small, but with a reasonable bath room (I ask to be with tub!!). Very clean (but depending of the cleaning lady!), coffee maker, small wardrobe, small sink, tows changing every day, not enough illumination in the bath room.
Break fast diverse and fresh, but after 3-4 days became boring (we stay 7 days!). Andersens Bld. is very noisy, but makes a real spectacle, day and night. Absence of a fridge and acclimatization diminish the quality of comfort, especially when you stay longer. Staff friendly and helpful. If you stay more then 3 days, Copenhagen Card is very useful for transport and access to a lot of attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with tub, on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mihaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Mihaela R,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.

We do understand that the breakfast buffet can become a little one-sided, if you stay with us for a whole week, but luckily there are very good options for breakfast within walking distance from the hotel - after all, we are located in the city centre with many good alternatives right around the corner, if you would like something else. We of course try to vary our breakfast sortiment, but some options will remain the same, as many guests seem to enjoy them.

As we are a green and environmentally friendly hotel, we have opted not to have any acclimatization (air-conditioning) or mini-fridges in our rooms. We have two very spacious refridgerators in our reception area, that you would have been more than welcome to use to store any items that would have needed cooling.

We will of course follow up on your comment in regards to the illumination in the bathroom.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you at the Alexandra again, even though it was not your first option and was booked on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel room was hospital clean. Exceptional. Large great room area (living room and bedroom combined) and the bath room was over sized. Fantastic location in the downtown area with access to just about anything you would want to do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gpharmer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear gpharmer42,

Thank you for your excellent review - it is a pleasure for us to hear, that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay.

We hope to see you again in Copenhagen and at the Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western colorado
Level Contributor
263 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved this hotel. It is centrally located, the rooms are decorated beautifully. Our room was like a little apartment, with an entry way with closets, a large bathroom with heated floors, and a very big bedroom/livingroom. There was ample room for the sofa and easy chair with tea table, desk and chair, and even a little balcony. The view was spectacular, right onto Han Christian Andersen Blvd. The best part was the location. Very close to Tivoli and restaurants. Downstairs there is a Vietnamese restaurant where breakfast was served. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear gentinasybil,

Thank you for your kind words and comments - they are much appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed what the Hotel Alexandra had to offer - especially the room with the balcony, which does provide a great view of the boulevard and some of the inner city.

Hopefully we can welcome you to the Alexandra again, so that we can show you our other rooms as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing