We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a brilliant location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a brilliant location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is only 5 minutes away from Central station and the main shopping district. The cafe attached to the hotel does a great coffee. The rooms are really clean and minimalist design - it's very funky.

The only downsides of the hotel:
1. It was very hot (there is no air conditioning) - we had a brilliant 4 days of great weather, but this meant the room was very hot

2. We didn't get a bath mat everyday, so we had to keep asking for a bath mat for the 4 days of our stay

3. The shower is very small....and the show curtain is very annoying

Other then these minor issues...it is a awesome hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the Main Street....it is very noisy and hot in the summer
See more room tips
Green Features: This is one of Denmark's most environmentally friendly hotels. There are no fridges or air conditioning in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitnat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Dear Nitnat_9,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the restaurant.

We know that our rooms can get hot, especially during the summer. It is a good idea to keep the windows open and pull the curtains to keep some of the heat out as well as ventilate the room. The reason we have no aircondition is that we are a green and environmentally friendly hotel. All of our rooms have fans that can help to reduce the heat during the warmest of days.

We have of course taken note your comments and we are sorry, if any of the downsides that you mention, were of any inconvenience to you.

We hope to be able to welcome you to the Alexandra again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    583
    170
    42
    19
See reviews for
157
549
139
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our 3-night stay at Hotel Alexandra. It really met our expectations: welcoming and helpful staff, giving your the rights tips for places to eat (Royal Smuchi for lunch is a must). Our standard double room was perfect, we enjoyed the Danish retro style. It was hot in CPH, so during the day we left the window open and drew the curtains. We had breakfast at the hotel, it was nice. And also enjoyed a dinner at Lele Street Kitchen: delicious, don't hesitate! We were travelling by car, and used the car park facilities provided by hotel Alexandra: that's a price, but really helpful. It's valet parking, but the you can trust the guy. We rented a bike in the shop, opposite the hotel, really nice way to discover the city, riding along the canals. So, yes, we would definitely recommend hotel Alexandra! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Dear Leticia2010,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and for your kind words. We are happy that we were able to make your stay in Copenhagen such a pleasant one. It is important to have a good base from where to explore the city and we hope that we will be able to be that again in the future, if you ever decide to come back to Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Alexandra.

As a first good impression, the lobby is cozy and welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful.

Our room was small but homey, with a wonderful touch of Danish Design (we stayed in a "Small Danish retro superior" room). A neat feature of the room was that the bed was designed with room under it for stowing your suitcases. Our only complaints were really about the bathroom: Water pressure in the shower was very low, making showering a bit cumbersome, and for some reason there was a constant humming sound from the ventilation shaft in the ceiling (this could not be heard in the main room, though!) Apart from this, the room was great, with plenty of power plugs for your devices, water cooker for tea and coffee and anything else you might expect from a room in its' price range.

One of the first things you will notice when arriving at Alexandra is also the option for bike rental - great option if you want to explore Copenhagen by bike and don't want the hassle of finding a decent rental place in town.

A great little detail that really had us sold to this hotel, was coming back to the hotel late one evening, and being offered a glass of wine in the lobby - on the house. That particular gesture was great - made you feel extremely welcome, and gave you a great reason to sit in the beautiful furniture that is on display in the lobby!

Bonus Tip: at the lobby is a small display with Danish design objects that you can buy as a memory of your stay (they advertise to have the lowest prices for these objects and this is really true!)

Room Tip: HC Andersens Boulevard is a busy street, also at night. We weren't bothered by it, but you CAN h...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Green! From separate bins for paper/other waste in the room, to the fact that they handed out 100,- DKK vouchers for the restaurant, if you opted to skip one day of cleaning of your room. They also encouraged you to drink from the tap instead of buying bottled water. All good initiatives!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Dear Stefan A,

Thank you for a fantastic review - it is a pleasure to read that you had such a good stay with us and that you felt welcome. We try our best at conveying a homey and relaxed atmosphere and it is always a pleasure to see that we could impart that feeling and share it with our guests.

We are sorry that the automatic ventilation did not stop during the night - we will of course make sure to intensify our maintenance procedure to be better aware of these things in advance.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you to the Alexandra again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was one of several recommended by the conference I was attending. As advertised, the furniture is mid-century furniture which was one of the draws for me. The lobby is also mid-century with a nice, homey feel about it. Unfortunately, the rooms and baths also feel like they are mid-century -- need a bit of TLC. The staff were very cordial and the connection with LeLe Kitchen for breakfast meals was a plus. For the price (and everything in Copenhagen is expensive) I feel like the place could have had better rooms. (A last note which the hotel has little control over, there is a bar/music venue across the street that was very loud my final night there -- while the band stopped at 9:30 some music continued until the wee hours.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkeley_Architect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Dear Berkeley_Architect,

Thank you for your review and for your input - we value it greatly.

We of course have smaller rooms as well as larger and more luxurious rooms - without knowing in which category you stayed, it is of course difficult to comment, but our room size is on par with European standards.

We are glad to hear you thought well of our staff and our location.

In regards to the venue, we have been in close contact with the venue and the problem with the loud music has been dealt with. We apologize for any inconvenience the loud music caused.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Copenhagen - perhaps we can show you some of our larger rooms at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to a Baltic cruise. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was small but well-appointed with Danish Modern accents. There were problems with the plumbing during our stay, so the manager gave us free breakfast for the inconvenience. (I appreciate management that find ways to compensate for the unexpected.) The staff also gave us many good recommendations for restaurants and sites. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the corner of 2 busy streets. We had a room in the back that faced a courtyard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiphf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Dear philiphf,

We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very sorry that you experiences problems with the plumbing during your stay, but luckily we were able to make up for the inconvenience. It is indeed important to be able to handle the unexpected and we appreciate that you were so overbearing, even though it was an inconvenience.

If you ever come back to Copenhagen, we would of course be more than happy to welcome you back to the Alexandra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great location and pleasant staff. Trendy boutique hotel let down by a Superior Danish room on upper floor which was unbearably hot on a summers day ( outside temperature 20degrees C so not exceptionally hot day). You have two choices open the windows and hear the traffic or stifle inside the room with small rotating fan. I was informed in the morning ( not very constructively) that I should have complained earlier and they would have put us in a better room. I emailed the hotel after my stay and received no reply. This is know issue for them which needs to be fixed. if they do it would be a 5 star review. Design is put ahead of comfort.

Room Tip: Make sure you check your room temperature and be prepared to demand a better one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCosby_Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel Alexandra is located very central near Tivoli, central station, town hall and the shopping mile Strøget. You can walk to a lot of place of interest or use the public transportation like we did.

Our room was very small and looked more old than retro but everything was clean and ok. That was ok for us, we used the room for sleeping only. We had luck that it wasn't too hot in Denmark because it's impossible to sleep with open windows due to the big street in front of the hotel and there is no air conditioning. Maybe you can get a room at the side facing Studiestræde and the Pumpehuset, a music venue with an open air stage.

We booked without breakfast (was not possible at expedia curiously) and bought vouchers for the breakfast buffet at the reception. It was ok for a three star hotel but expensive. Remember you are in Copenhagen. I think the most expensive small town in the world. Everything ist expensive in Copenhagen, you should not compare to the normal world. So don't think about the price of the breakfast.

The hotel is offering a voucher for the restaurant if you dispense with a cleaning of the room. But not for breakfast, of course. You should look at the towels first, it's hard to use them twice for showering. Curiously we only had 3 towels (2 big, 1 small) for 2 people.

The receptionists are very nice and except of the elevator and stairs we didn't use anything else in the hotel so there's nothing else to report.

It was a nice journey with a nice hotel. If we would return to copenhagen for a short trip, we would book again at hotel alexandra.

At the ende a note on Copenhagen: At the moment they are building a new metro line so you have a lot of building slots in the city, ruining a lot of lovely places. If you can wait some years it would be a much better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard-bausn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Dear Richard-bausn,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to explore Copenhagen on foot - it is always a nice experience.

At the Alexandra we have different room categories, some smaller and some larger than others and the furniture we have in our rooms are primarily from the mid-modern century, as we are very passionate about Danish design furniture from that period. We do care for the furniture and maintain it, but of course it is not for everyone. We are glad that you found the room to be clean and ok at the least.

As we are a located so centrally in Copenhagen, som noise from the vibrant city life has to be expected. All of our rooms have double glazed windows that, when closed properly, provide a good amount of noise dampening. You are quite correct that we do not have any airconditioning at the hotel, as we are a green and environmentally friendly hotel. For the same reason, we also do not have any minibars or minifridges in our rooms. These devices use a lot of energy and are not beneficial to the environment in our opinion.

The most important thing for us is, that you had a nice journey and that you, overall, enjoyed your stay with us. We will of course take your comments into consideration, as we value the feedback we receive from our guests.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again at the Alexandra in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#14 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing