We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Perfect situation in the heart of Copenhagen, close to shopping area, Tivoli and most sights.
Our rooms were fairly small, but the ameneties were OK.
The concept of furnishing the lobby and rooms with furniture from the golden age of Danish design is great and makes staying at the Alexandra a different experience.
We have stayed at the Alexdra before and will come again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lawman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2008

An excellent hotel very centrally located. Charming rooms with flat screen tv and english speaking channels. Lovely breakfast with healthy alternatives, home made bread and great variations. Friendly and accommodating staff. I definately want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buddha13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I'm a customer of Alexandra for many year ago, more than 8 years, I travel very often to Copenhagen so I know more than this, for me it's close to perfect the only question ti be improve is the service cleanin of the rooms, specially in the bathroom your need to improve in this question and put more attention to push on the service of the rooms that cleaning much better.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blakbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Tiny but Cosy and Stylish. Cleanliness is at the highest. Serviced staffs couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Short-walking distance to the most famous shopping street. Well-known Tivoli is around the corner.
Breakfast is one of the best services of this hotel.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank GBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My wife and I stayed 9 nights in September and enjoyed every minute. The location is excellent, the staff are quite helpful, the breakfast good, and the room adequate. The room was small by comparison to what we generally find in Australia but we knew what to expect and once we organised ourselves had plenty of space to move around. The bathroom was again small but quite adequate.

We did not have a laptop with us but were able to access internet / emails free at the desk near reception. I went down early each morning before breakfast and had the computer to myself for 15 minutes or so each morning (although it was out of action over the weekend, but it was repaired first thing Monday).

It is only 2 /3 star standard - but we can highly recommend this hotel if that is what you are after.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank helenandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

We stayed here for one night at the end of a business trip. We booked the hotel for our love of the furniture and to see if we should stay there again next year. We stayed in a superior Finn Juhl room. The furniture and location were great.

Now the problems we found. The location is very noisy. The bathroom was very small and falling apart. We then went to check emails. After paying the extra for one of their better rooms we then had to pay extra for internet...wow... The internet is not wireless. You have to connect to a short cable near the bathroom.

I would not stay here again. We stayed here because the furniture looked amazing and it was. Save your money and visit one of the great stores in Copenhagen instead.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MelSydney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2008

Dear Sir,
We have read your review on TripAdvisor, and we are very sad to hear about your experience.

You write that there was a lot of noise. I do believe that in the center of all major cities in the world you may expect noise from the traffic. We have of-course been very aware of this and have installed sound-insulated windows, which has reduced the sound with more than 30%. And the Boulevard has just been renovated with sound reduced asphalt. So in our opinion we find that the noise in the rooms are much less than in many other cities of the world.

You write that the bathroom is small and falling apart. The hotel is from 1890 and the bathrooms have been renovated just a few years ago and it is certainly not our impression that the bathrooms are falling apart. All our bathrooms are fitted with famous Danish design fittings and the floor and walls are decorated with black granite and white tiles of high quality. The size of the bathrooms are corresponding to a 3-star hotel in Denmark.

You write that there is no wireless internet. It is incorrect, as there in the lobby area and in the restaurant are free wireless internet access. And in the lobby area we even have a computer and printer, which is free of charge for all our guests. It is correct that the internet connection in all the rooms are - for the safety of our guests - wired. But the cable in all the rooms are about 4 meter long so the guest can connect to the internet by the desk, the bed or in a relaxing Danish designed chair.

Kind regards,
Hotel Alexandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Good location and flat screen tv. No toiletries provided in bathroom. Breakfast ok, dinner menu minimal therefore I failed to see this as a viable option. Reception helpful. If you are really interested in Danish furniture this is the place to say to see it, otherwise I see little reason to pay upwards of 1200Dkr for a single room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Winklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2008

Dear Sir,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.

You are right, we do not have many toiletries in the bathroom. As one of the few environmentally certified and very environmentally conscious hotels in Copenhagen, we have decided only to have the most appropriate as hand soap and hair and body shampoo in all the standard rooms.

I am sorry to hear you find us overpriced. Hotel Alexandra is one of the most central located hotels in Copenhagen and with a very high score on satisfied guest reviews. The hotel is priced on the same level as other hotels in the same class and with the same location.

Kind regards,
Hotel Alexandra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,624 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
319 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,077 reviews
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#12 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £101 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing