We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one staff(Eden) is unfriendly and rude.”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

As I write this, I am still staying at the hotel. Pleasant and comfortable hotel, all staffs we have interacted with except one and I think her name is Eden. And I interacted with her on two mornings and I can confirmed she is unfriendly and rude on both days.

I waited for my turn to ask her questions on which museum to go and before my questions was completed, she turn her attention to another person and left me standing there, wondering if she will revert and attend to me. I decided to walk away and even then, it doesn't bother her at all.

Such a dampener from just one bad egg.

Stayed: September 2014
3  Thank rogchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

We do not want to have our Staff name mentioned. Please remove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The warm, friendly welcome from the staff at the Hotel Alexandra was a comforting start to our three-week Scandinavian trip in July 2014. The friendly, ever-efficient staff, the comfortable and interesting decor, the well-appointed rooms, and the always fresh and complete breakfast buffet in the adjoining LeLe Street Kitchen combine to make this hotel a truly pleasant base for daily adventures in Copenhagen. I have only praise for this hotel, and hope to some day return to enjoy it and wonderful Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear J1K5L2,

Thank you for your excellent review and your kind words. The words with which you describe your stay with us and the hotel are much appreciated and we are very happy that we were able to be such a great base for your daily adventures in Copenhagen.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Alexandra again in the future, should you ever return to Copenhagen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Alexandra in May 2014 for three days post-cruise. We loved the Scandinavian furnishings highlighting renowned designers, the welcoming and friendly staff and great location - close to Tivoli and downtown Copenhagen. It was so nice to be welcomed with a glass of wine on our return to the hotel in the evening. Bikes are available for your use. A great city and charming boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank happywanderer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear happywanderer12,

We are very glad that you enjoyed our furniture and Danish design elements and that our staff made you feel welcome.

You are right that we are very close to many of the things that make Copenhagen such a great city, and we are happy to hear that you were able to explore the city with us as your base.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, and the room was really nice, small but had everything you need. The location is fantastic, near the central station and main points of attractions, and the wifi works fine.
Staff could be more friendly though and more interactive with the guests, breakfast was not included.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear Carlos D,

Thank you for your review - we are glad that you took the time to write it.

We are glad to hear that we were able to offer you a great location for exploring the city and that the room as well as WiFi were to your satisfaction.

We are of course very sorry to hear that you found our staff not to be friendly enough and not interactive. Our top priority is to be interactive as well as attentive to each individual guest and their needs and it is something that we value very highly, which can also be read on many of the reviews here on TripAdvisor, where many guests share their positive feedback in regards to our staff and service.

We will of course take your comments into consideration and thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Copenhagen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Mrs Cook and I stayed here for two nights at the end of July it was warm (about 25C) but not really hot.

The best thing was the style of the room (why we chose it, a design classic room) and the restaurant (we had breakfast there and also had lunch on our final day, all great).

The room is on the small side but big enough for two. The shower room was ok but the shower curtain was really not capable of retaining the water in the shower meaning the tiled floor got soaked and therefore slippery.

We had to use the fan and keep the windows open all day to keep the room at a bearable temperature at night - being on the third floor overlooking Hans Christian Andersen Bvld it was too noisy to leave them open at night much as we would have loved too. I suspect only the rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet enough to have windows open at night, making this hotel much less desirable in hot summer weather.

They have a good (but not exhaustive) selection of Kay Bojesen wooden animals / soldiers for sale at very good prices (best we saw, and we visited 20+ design shops!)

All in all good but would have been much better in cooler weather!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear Tim C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - we appreciate it immensely.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your room and our design elements in the room - it is a passion that is very close to us and that we try to share with our guests as much as possible. We are of course very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced due to the hot weather - as we are a green and enironmentally friendly hotel, we do not have any airconditioning in our rooms and it can get quite warm in the rooms during the hottest of summer days. Each room is equipped with a fan, that would be able to alleviate some of the heat and we are always ready to issue more fans, as long as we are asked.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Alexandra - perhaps in a colder climate than during the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We drove down to københavn all the way from norway, when we got to hotel alexandra the staff was really helpful with giving us room and parking space for the car. really nice room, 4th floor.
great service, good bed, nice bathroom, really quiet room with good soundproofing.

no doubt that i will return for a future stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Even S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear Even S,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad to hear that we were able to give you a good experience with us and that you thought so well of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Alexandra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Alexandra in June2014 in a Deluxe room fitted with furniture designed by Finn Juhl. The room was excellent with a lovelyview overlooking H. C. Andersens Boulevard. The hotel is handy to just about everything you might need in Copenhagen, including plenty of nce little bars and restaurants and of course Tivoli Gardens and shopping. Considering accommodation prices in Copenhagen the Hotel Alexandra offers great value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GJMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeppemuhlhausen, Direktør at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear GJMPerth,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Deluxe room dedicated to one of the greats of Danish mid-modern century design, Finn Juhl. We are also glad to read that you found the many good bars, restaurants and other noteworthy sights close by - it has its benefits to be so centrally located.

We hope to see you again, if you ever return to Copenhagen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,552 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
318 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,872 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 118 in Copenhagen
265 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#22 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £115 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing