We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and central”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #10 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stylish and central”
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I recently had the opportunity of staying at Hotel Alexandra - 3 times in 2 weeks. Its a lovely and stylish hotel that's bright and very livable. The staff were courteous and on our 3rd visit we were treated to free drinks in recognition of our loyalty. On top of this, its so centrally located and is very close to both the central railway station, palaces and the Tivoli. My only negative (as with many European hotels during summer) is that the rooms were a veritable 'hotbox' during the recent heatwave. Luckily, portable fans are in each room and helped. All-in-all, its good value and probably a little better than the 3 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    607
    175
    45
    19
See reviews for
161
577
141
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I decided to book Hotel Alexandra through its reviews on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed, we had a great stay. Other reviews mentioned noise from the highway so I requested a courtyard room which was fine. As an architect I enjoyed the theme of the hotel, the location is perfect for a short city break. We rented the hotels bikes and explored the city, Copenhagen is an enjoyable place for cyclists! The best part of the stay was the friendliness of the well spoken and informed staff who made our stay most enjoyable with their recommendations and knowledge of the city. I would stay here again, probably in the Jacobsen room if affordable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Stayed 4 nights in July. The location is excellent with the City Circle public bus stopping nearby. When your feets get tired or if rain surprises you, the public City Circle bus is a very good option. The hotel is located centrally and with the location comes some traffic noise in the rooms facing the main street, but it is greatly reduced if you keep the windows closed. The rooms were fitted with a fan, but there is no airconditioning. The hotel is well maintained and with a cosy and interesting interior. The staff was very helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. I will stay at this place again, but will ask for a room away from the main street. There are some resturants in the square behind the hotel. Can recommend the italian and the Jensen Steak house, but stay away from the bistro in the middle

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBretton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We got married in Copenhagen and we chose to stay in the Hotel Alexandra because it typifies everything Copenhagen is famous for - service, style, comfort, great food, relaxation, bicycles. Our booking was pretty complicated - several people with varying requirements - but the staff could not have been more freindly and helpful. The breakfasts are to die for, the beds super-comfy, the artwork and furniture is just gorgeous. We have never been able to fault this hotel. We often stay here and will continue to doso in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Hotel is well sited and furntiure is a interesting collection of danish furniture. Rooms are tidy and neat. Also quiet if judged by ours on inner rear courtyard. Breakfast could be a bit more interesting. Staff very friendly and helpful.
As mentioned the hotel is in a central position for station, Tivoli (don't miss) and Stroget.
Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Alexandra again. Nice and friendly staff, atmosphere cozy and casual. And we finally tried the hotel restaurant, which turn out to be a positive surprise. Good, elegant food that was definately worth the money.

Breakfast could do some rethinking. Some of it is ecologically produced, so in my opinion the breakfast should go all the way. Lift up the quality and raise the price a bit, so the breakfast would be an experience as well. Now it feels and tastes a bit half-hearted. Definately adequate to get you ready for the day, but not worthy of a design hotel.

All and all, the best hotel experience we've had in Denmark. And there's been a few.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woerthsee, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Great design, cozy rooms, extremely friendly staff, very good brakfast!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedilii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 116 in Copenhagen
231 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
1,883 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 116 in Copenhagen
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Outer Vesterbro
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: 8 H. C. Andersens Boulevard | DK-1553 Copenhagen V, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the only spot on Earth where you can sit in, rest in, sleep in and admire so many pieces of Danish mid-century vintage furniture. Hotel Alexandra is a small, authentic, boutique hotel in Copenhagen - just around the corner of the City Hall Square, the Latin Quarter, the main shopping area and Tivoli Garden. Hotel Alexandra has over the past years collected a large collection of the world famous Danish mid-century vintage furniture and decorated the rooms with them. The rooms also have textiles, wallpapers and other gems that take you back in time to experience living like the design loving Danes did it in the 50’s and 60’s. As soon as you step into the Hotel Alexandra, you step into a time bubble – you can relax in the lobby, where during evening hours you can put on your favourite vinyl record from our selection, enjoy a free glass of wine and take a moment to take a closer look at one of our many designer books from our lobby library, all the while being surrounded by the finest Danish designer furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing