We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel with warm people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Strasbourg, France
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel with warm people”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We were there for a business trip only for one night and everything went very good, the people at the reception very nice and helpful, the rooms are simple but nice (bathrooms are very small tough). The breakfast buffet was very complete and good, globally a very good experience, especially for the price level.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jclinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear jclinder

I am pleased to read that despite travelling on business you have taken time to write a review of your stay with us. Knowing the busy schedules business travelers have this is greatly appreciated.

You comments solidify what has also been mentioned by other reviewers, and strengthens our belief in continuing along the path of good old fashioned hospitality.

Once again - thank you - and my staff and I would like to take the opportunity to wish you a pleasant summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    323
    93
    28
    9
See reviews for
56
482
55
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Review for Bertram's Guldmenden

This is a terrific little hotel.  My wife and I stayed for three nights and enjoyed it.  The facilities are great and the staff go out of their way to be helpful.  

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the train station.  The neighborhood is diverse with many small ethnic restaurants and stores.  It is quite safe.

I try to avoid the "plastic palace" chains.  This is the type of hotel I enjoy most.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear DoctorPaul

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that we managed to meet your expectations, in terms of ambience, service, location & security.

In a very competitive market it is always useful to distinguish oneself, and have what many describe as a niché product.

Again thank you, and I hope that you are able share memories of Copenhagen - your wife took many photos - with family & friends.

Have a great summer

Nikolas HALL - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Bertram is an elegant property and Nick the owner can rightfully be proud of his " child"

The care taken comes in doing up the hotel comes out from the minute you step in and look at the common sitting area which reminds you of an upmarket family living room rather than a hotel lobby. It makes you welcome by it's warmth. Step out in the back garden which doubles up as a back yard, smokers corner, a nice pace to relax with a beer after walking the streets of Copenhagen.

The rooms are very tastefully done, though small in size have all eminities that a guest would need. The only missing item was the tea / coffee maker but this they make up with some very good teas served in the common area downstairs.

We stayed here for two days, did not have breakfast as were late coming in the first day and were leaving early for the airport on the day of our check out. However there are many choices on the streets of Copenhagen espicaly the railway station where you can have good Danish, coffee, fruits etc for breakfast.

Nick and his younger brother will advice you well on what to do at Copenhagen if you have not planned the day

In all a very good property we enjoyed the two nights we spend here.

A word of caution the hotel is a 15-20 minute walk from Tivoli Gardens, we did mind this but be prepared

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyKochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear SunnyKochhar

Thank you for investing your precious time in posting a review of your recent stay with us.

You, and many others before you understand the warmth and friendliness we set out to achieve with our property. The secret is all about focusing on the small things that really make a difference.

You rightly mention our distance to the Tivoli Gardens, which some find a challenge. Although this is one of the highlights of Copenhagen - it should by no manner be a measuring stock. Our location in residential Copenhagen offers a multitude of other choices.

I am really happy that your European tour ended in Copenhagen, and that we were in a position to ensure that it ended on a positive note.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Based upon other trip advisr reviews we booked this one. While we liked the Bali inspired decor, all looks a bit tired. Frayed fabrics, poorly layer out bathrooms, dingy grouted tiles.

On the other hand, by Copenhagen standards the price was reasonable, management very helpful. Breakfast was nice, though not included, and there's a wonderful pastry shop just a short walk away.

Good location only about a 15-20 minute walk to the Tivoli and the tour office and about a 15 minute taxi ride to the airport.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Lcquinn

I really appreciate the time that you have taken to write a review of your recent stay with us.

You review highlights a number of positive aspects of your stay with us, and Copenhagen in general.

You do however point out that we are, quote - needing an update. I would like to point out that myself and my staff pride ourselves on maintaining the property at a high level.

You mentioned frayed fabrics, which surprises me as the only fabrics used in the room are towels and bed linnen, which are all in good standing. I would have appreciated if you could have drawn this matter to my attention while staying with us allowing for clarification.

You also mention poorly layer out bathrooms, dingy grouted tiles - both descriptions are ones that I would challenge - but your viewpoint may stand.

Our strong belief in sustainability, entails that the current layout of rooms and bathrooms is based on the buildings original construction and structure.

I am sure that you also appreciate that the current financial climate sets limitations on investments, and having to fund all investments our selves limits the ability to tear down the interior and remodel.

I strongly dislike having to be defensive about my property, but at the same time do respect that other viewpoints do exist.

Wishing you all the best with your on going travels.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

What a great hotel! We took advantage of the 3 night discount offered on TripAdvisor and stayed here while visiting Copenhagen.

The hotel is decorated with taste, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is delicious (good bread, fruits, musli, yoghurt, various teas etc).

Percetly located, possibility to rent bikes. Even the rooms on the street side are quiet (and we are rather picky on this).

Bed was comfortable, bathroom had good smelling shower gel/shampoo/body lotion.

We'll stay here when we return to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear J M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Your review utilizes few words to sum up what we are about - good old fashioned hospitality.

I am happy to read that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and that your trip to Copenhagen was enjoyable.

Wishing you a pleasant summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I booked Bertrams hotel because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor but after staying there I have to say I was quite disappointed.
The hotel itself is nice and in a good location, if you don't mind a 20 minute walk into town. The room and bathroom were small, which didn’t surprise me, but if someone was sat at the desk at the end of the bed, they’d have to get up in order for another person to get past. It was nicely furnished.
I booked our stay here three and a half months in advance and therefore took advantage of the early bird rate. A number of the Trip Advisor reviews I'd read mentioned how nice the garden view was, so because it was for a surprise weekend away for my partner, I paid extra for a "Standard Plus Double Room" with "Fountain/Garden view"- this is what is stated on the booking page (see attached). However, the room we stayed in was on the very top floor of the building and the view we had was mainly sky with some derelict buildings in the distance.
When I mentioned to the manager that I wasn't really happy because I had paid for a garden view after the TA reviews, he was quite dismissive and said that actually, I had paid for a garden "side" room, as the road "side" of the building is noisier due to traffic. I said that the booking page of the website had clearly stated "garden view" but the Manager's answer was, "well, you have paid for garden "side" not garden "view" and actually this is what the website says, I guarantee you". He then proceeded to further condescend me the day after, during check out, by smugly informing me that he had personally checked the website and indeed it said "garden facing". His condescension aside, I would be interested to know how rooms are allocated, given that I had booked so far in advance, yet ended up on the top floor with the view that we had.
I would not return to this hotel. In summary, the hotel was expensive (which I appreciate is pretty standard for Copenhagen) and nicely decorated but the room was small and the manager dealt with my complaint very badly, making me feel that actually, booking with the early bird rate (not cheap by any means) had not been to our advantage at all, because we had been given a room with derelict buildings as the view.
I would like to add though that not all members of staff were as rude as the Manager- on the contrary all the other staff we dealt with provided an excellent, friendly service.

Room Tip: If you pay extra because you want a garden view, I would recommend that you check which room you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear SDRJvoy

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

It saddens me to read that your experience varies so widely to what the majority of our other clients experience, but an honest opinion and review reflecting your viewpoint is an integral part of the learning curve and is appreciated.

You clearly indicate that we have a difference of opinion, and this you are of course more than welcome to have and express.

The room type you booked clearly indicated that it was a graden side room, and I took to the opportunity to show you the description information on line. My apologies if you should find that providing you with a clarification is condescending and smug.

Copenhagen is an expensive city, and the rate you chose reflected a discount to the daily rates. We allocate rooms based on the room type booked, and the room types are clearly described in the booking process - as shown to you. We utilize all rooms available including those of the top floor, and do not regard any rooms as being underrated in regards to the description provided.

I am happy to read that you had a pleasant trip to Copenhagen, and would like to wish you the best for the coming summer season.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Very friendly, small yet comfortable quiet and ideal for us was little disappointed roll top bath was small non standard size.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dera Carmel H

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am a little lost with regards to your comment regarding "roll top bath".... However feel free to contact me - my details are available on the website - to elaborate.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
257 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,296 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,403 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Property: Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Outer Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#5 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams is Guldsmeden Hotels' smallest and most intimate Copenhagen hotel, and the fortyseven beautiful rooms and lovely secluded courtyard are an oasis in a quiet area of Vesterbro. Our philosophy is simple: create a home not a hotel. Make our home a place all would want to live in - even if just for a weekend - in the heart of one of Copenhagen's most vibrant boroughs - Vesterbro. Stylish and relaxed, Bertrams Guldsmeden welcomes guests to a whole new Copenhagen experience, combining art and leisure in an intimate residential atmosphere. Built in the late 1800's our design, decor and amenities are steeped in signature Balinese-inspired roots featuring a soothing spirit that is warm, distinctive and inviting. All products, furnishings and services are organic and/or fair-trade. Our only forty seven guest rooms are set in well-appointed, intimate surroundings with details that are discovered in unexpected places. Our spirit is rooted in the true essence of friendly, traditional service. Located within a short distance to the center of Copenhagen, our guests benefit from simple access to outdoor bliss, shopping, dining, sightseeing and nightlife and the ability to return to a warm whimsical oasis. Families with children will be better served at the other Guldsmeden Hotels properties in Copenhagen, where extra beds and appropriate services are offered. We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing