We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hosts and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hosts at this hotel were so gracious and helpful! The location was wonderful - we have stayed closer to the city centre in the past and have not enjoyed it nearly as much, the leisurely stroll to Tivoli was lovely and the neighborhood has loads of treasures for shopping, dining , etc.
We stayed here before our cruise and then, after such a pleasant time, decided to stay there our final night in Copenhagen - not to be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer1497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear Reviewer1497

It was a pleasure to host you not once but twice during you recent visit to Copenhagen. I really appreciate the time you have taken to post a review allowing other TripAdvisor users to gain an insight on our property.

Your review reflects what we are all about - good old fashioned hospitality.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
There are newer reviews for Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was very kind. Our room had a really nice bathtub and garden view.

As far as transportation goes: We rented bikes one day, which is a must to try in Copenhagen. All the other days it was easy to walk or travel by bus or train. The bus stop is literally right in front of the hotel (which has a key fob-activated lobby door, so it's actually way safer than most US hotels I've been in). I'd stay here again for sure.

I liked this location because it's within walking distance of the city center (~20 min max), but it's not in the middle of the tourist mess. I live in San Francisco, so I really didn't want to stay in the equivalent of Union Square. This was perfect :D

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Leigh D

It is always a pleasure to read feedback like yours, and as always I appreciate the time you used to inform others of your "find".

You sum up pretty well, what we believe in - good old fashioned hospitality - yet also inform other readers of the advantages of getting away from the beaten path.

Once again, thank you.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Charming rooms and public areas, lively location in a real neighborhood, fabulous breakfast, and excellent service from hands-on family owner-operators. If you need big hotel amenities, this may not appeal. But if want a home-way-from-home experience, the is the spot.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Heymarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Heymarci

I much appreciate your review of your recent stay with us.

It pleases me to read that you found our hands-on approach to your liking, and that your stay with us contributed to a successful Copenhagen trip.

Looking forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Pro: Good location. There is a bus stop right in front and another one around the corner, so it's easy to get around. The street that the hotel is located on does not have much to offer, although there is a great restaurant or two. Also within walking distance in Meatpacking district there is Fiskebar a great fish place. Kingosgade and Frederiksberg Alle are full of little surprises. I try to avoid staying in places full of tourists, rather try to stay with the locals.
Con: Really didn't like to the room, horrible bathroom. It is not an urban oasis as described. The pictures are very inviting but once you are past the lobby, the rooms are very plain , not much character. There is also an unpleasant scent when you enter the room, probably because of lack of good air circulation. The bathrooms are tiny!!! Only one person could be in at a time. Toilet is basically in front of the tiny sink. You have to put your shampoo etc on top of the toilet since there is no room in a tiny shower. When I was drying my hair I kept hitting the walls , the room is so small and i am an average size person (60kg) Also I was sweating in the bathroom while trying my hair , no ventilation . I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Europe , this was the only one that I would never stay in again :(

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2013Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear 2013Joanna

I much appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your recent stay with us, and I am sure that other readers also will.

Indeed the bathroom facilities are small - however they are functional, meet all health and safety codes, and have all that is needed. You have to consider that we are not in a purpose built hotel, but in a building from the late 1800's, which has been modified a few times, which have also included installation of bathrooms.

I am though pleased that you found our immediate surroundings to be of the beaten tourist path, and this entailed that you enjoyed Copenhagen.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

All in all, our stay was a god one, with a few surprises. The biggest issue is getting luggage to the room. The elevator stops BETWEEN floors, so you either go up 1/2 floor above yours to walk down, or you go down one floor to walk up. Lots of bags makes things hard. The second issue was that the taxi really didn't want to let us off in front of the place due to the way the road is constructed. It is not very convenient to stop right in front.

The room are very adequate and the hosts are very helpful. They serve a full breakfast which is of similar value but better quality then the neighboring restaurants. The location is about 1 mile from the main train station and the jumping off point for the longest walking street in Europe for shopping.

Room Tip: Suggest you try and book directly with the hotel instead of through Hotels.com or Bookings.com. You...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Larry v

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

I much appreciate the feed back, and for highlighting a major challenge we have.

The wonderful city council of Copenhagen decided that it would be great to place a bus stop right at our main door. I strongly believe in utilizing public transportation, and strongly encourage visitors to do so. However the great minds of the city planners some how forgot their own traffic rules, entailing that the are NO STOP zones before and after bus stops. This is a major challenge for taxi's trying to collect or drop off. We are in dialog with the city council, but have very little hope of a solution in our favor being found.... so we will have to adapt, and live with the situation.

I trust that your trip to our city was a good one, and that your subsequent cruise lived up to expectations.

Thanks for staying.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night before heading on a cruise. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and made us feel at home during our stay. It is a beautiful property and we would defintely come back. We had a wonderful room in the courtyard on the first floor - the hotel chose that for us on their own when they found out about my husband's disability, which was an extremely thoughtful gesture that you don't get at the larger hotels.

Room Tip: We loved being in the courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Tami S

I appreciate the time that you have taken to post a review, and the fact that you really appreciated the thoughtfulness from our side.

We call it - good old fashioned hospitality.

We hope that your cruise went well, and that your kids are happy to have you back.

Warmest regards

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hi
We liked your place very much. Your service, kindness and interests for us as customers felt very well.. Yes the breakfast and your interior design in the kitchen/ breakfast room was nice. The hotel is a bit out of the city and still in walking distance to down town or with a bus. Yes it was a nice place. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Owe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Owe L

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that my staff & I contributed to a wonderful stay in Copenhagen.

Other TripAdvisor users will most definitely find your review helpful.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
289 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,476 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#10 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,310 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Outer Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#5 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £115 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams is Guldsmeden Hotels' smallest and most intimate Copenhagen hotel, and the fortyseven beautiful rooms and lovely secluded courtyard are an oasis in a quiet area of Vesterbro. Our philosophy is simple: create a home not a hotel. Make our home a place all would want to live in - even if just for a weekend - in the heart of one of Copenhagen's most vibrant boroughs - Vesterbro. Stylish and relaxed, Bertrams Guldsmeden welcomes guests to a whole new Copenhagen experience, combining art and leisure in an intimate residential atmosphere. Built in the late 1800's our design, decor and amenities are steeped in signature Balinese-inspired roots featuring a soothing spirit that is warm, distinctive and inviting. All products, furnishings and services are organic and/or fair-trade. Our only forty seven guest rooms are set in well-appointed, intimate surroundings with details that are discovered in unexpected places. Our spirit is rooted in the true essence of friendly, traditional service. Located within a short distance to the center of Copenhagen, our guests benefit from simple access to outdoor bliss, shopping, dining, sightseeing and nightlife and the ability to return to a warm whimsical oasis. Families with children will be better served at the other Guldsmeden Hotels properties in Copenhagen, where extra beds and appropriate services are offered. We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing