We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The best part of this hotel is the owner, Nikolas - very friendly & outgoing nature that immediately puts you at ease, and has a vast knowledge of Copenhagen and ready to give you any advice you need - adapts to your needs. After our long travel to get there he hit the mark perfectly by suggesting a pub just around the back from hotel - the meals were exactly as he said - excellent, big, and a homely atmosphere.
Our hotel room was small but very neat and tidy. We overlooked a courtyard, the room has a 4 poster bed (very comfortable), a desk and chair and just enough room to open our suitcases, and there is a cupboard with a few shelves and a bit of hanging space. We also had a safe for our valuables, and had a bar fridge with a few items in it.The bathroom has a claw bath with a hand held shower hose on the side - must say you might find washing your hair a challenge and interesting.
A small breakfast area but had a a fair variety of items including cereals, muesli, fruit salad, yoghurt. Had good quality cheeses and cold meats ( incl. ham off the bone), pate, some excellent breads with home made jams, juices, percolated coffee and various types of tea. There were boiled eggs but nothing else hot, not missed as plenty of variety.
Going out, you can help yourself to fruit , a bus stop is right outside the door or you can walk about 1km to the main shopping area, or in the other direction, thanks to Nikolas, you find a lovely park and also the parks and gardens of the Summer Palace.
Overall we had an enjoyable stay and loved the position.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Leigh C

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. Being a Top Contributor your input is highly valued by others using this site.

I am pleased that our interpretation of Good Old Fashioned Hospitality, was appealing to you.

Once again thank you for staying with us, and for visiting Copenhagen.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a lovely two-night stay. The service was welcoming and very helpful. Our room, which overlooked the garden, was great. It's definately worth getting a superior room, the style and space was very relaxing. We walked everywhere in Copenhagen so the location was great for us. Breakfast was varied and all of it delicious. Would thoroughly recommend this to friends and family and if we are in the city again would book the same hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lov3Hoildays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Lov3Hoildays

I thank you greatly for the time taken to post a review of your recent stay with us.

It pleases me to conclude that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that Copenhagen lived up to it reputation of "Wonderful".

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel! Great location and a hotel with a personal touch. Only problem was the shower, very small and the water ran very slowly. It took a long time to wash my long hair. Nice backyard and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear MarianneSweden

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and the rest of the TripAdvisor community. I am sure that your feed back is greatly appreciated.

The physical layout of the property does entail that we do have some rooms with cubicle sized bathrooms. That said, I would like to point out that they meet all requirements for maintaining personal hygiene. I am investigating which room you stayed in to try to figure out why there was slow drainage, and get that brought in order - I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Ok it was summer. In Copenhagen. Something that happens only every 30 years maybe.
But the conditions for a room under the roof during day and night were simply terrible. Terribly hot. Ordered a room for street view and got a backside room under the roof. Stayed for 2 nights, no change possible even after first night nearly without sleep. Got a ventilator but this gave no change to the better.
Overall condition of the hotel: Needs renovation wherever you look. The elevator is highly experimental.
Terribly desorganized service for the breakfast, organic breakfast without fruits - special.
And is it really neceessary to place a picture of the personalized death in the floor in front of the room?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Markus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Markus T

I thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us.

As you correctly point out, we like all others were effected by the heat wave. Some people managed to tolerate the situation, others were forced to live with it - like myself.

It is obvious that your review varies greatly from the general feedback that we get, and I regret that you have formed this opinion.

I hope that you were able to enjoy Copenhagen despite the heat, and that returning to the cool Alps of Switzerland makes life amicable again.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good standard. Friendly. Professional. Great breakfast. Bohemic, still classy. Close to good restaurants and nightlife activites. Serviceminded personal. No refrigerator in the room. Will defenitely book a stay at Bertrams next time i´m in Copenhagen / Sara

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gunnar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Gunnar H

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and plan to come back. There are many like yourselves who once they discover the Bertrams Guldsmeden, keep coming again and again. This has to do with what we call - good old fashioned hospitality.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotell has the best breakfast.It has a beautiful design in an "home atmospher".
Inspiration and relaxation in one place.You can sit outside in a little backyard and enjoy a glas of wine.Beautiful.
// Stina

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stina195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Stina195

Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that the ambience and atmosphere we have created made you choose the heading for your review.

Enjoy what's left of summer, and hope to host you again.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

An intimate, relaxed hotel with quality decor and breakfast. Pleasant room, but only a bath, no shower, nice balcony. Only down sides were that it was very hot and stuffy, fans or air con would help, the windows would not hook open wide to allow more air circulation. The lift was a bit dodgy, wouldn't go once.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hikerjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear hikerjane

I much appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your recent stay with us.

It pleases me to read that you in general enjoyed your stay despite the sweltering temperatures. As you know, we had a heat wave in July, that entailed that both residents - like myself, and visitors like yourself, suffered day and night with the heat.

We installed fans in all rooms in early July. Unfortunately we have had many guests who found it worthy to take them with them - believe it or not. The high demand for fans also entailed that we are unable to get replacements.

Despite this discomfort, I am pleased that you posted a positive review - thank you.

Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,695 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
2,148 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#4 of 117 in Copenhagen
376 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Skt. Petri
Skt. Petri
#9 of 117 in Copenhagen
400 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#11 of 117 in Copenhagen
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Outer Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#5 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range: £106 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams is Guldsmeden Hotels' smallest and most intimate Copenhagen hotel, and the fortyseven beautiful rooms and lovely secluded courtyard are an oasis in a quiet area of Vesterbro. Our philosophy is simple: create a home not a hotel. Make our home a place all would want to live in - even if just for a weekend - in the heart of one of Copenhagen's most vibrant boroughs - Vesterbro. Stylish and relaxed, Bertrams Guldsmeden welcomes guests to a whole new Copenhagen experience, combining art and leisure in an intimate residential atmosphere. Built in the late 1800's our design, decor and amenities are steeped in signature Balinese-inspired roots featuring a soothing spirit that is warm, distinctive and inviting. All products, furnishings and services are organic and/or fair-trade. Our only forty seven guest rooms are set in well-appointed, intimate surroundings with details that are discovered in unexpected places. Our spirit is rooted in the true essence of friendly, traditional service. Located within a short distance to the center of Copenhagen, our guests benefit from simple access to outdoor bliss, shopping, dining, sightseeing and nightlife and the ability to return to a warm whimsical oasis. Families with children will be better served at the other Guldsmeden Hotels properties in Copenhagen, where extra beds and appropriate services are offered. We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing